We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Getaway”
Review of El Cielo de Canar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Cielo de Canar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canar
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Getaway”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My girlfriend and I were lucky enough to spend 3 nights at El Cielo de Canar and couldn't recommend it enough. John and Orna went out of their way to ensure our stay went as smoothly as possible, nothing was too much for them. The location is incredible, if you want a real taste of rural Spain then this is the place to go.

For any of you keen walkers out there Mulhacén (3,478m), is accessible via the nearby to of Capileira. Park at the top of the road near a small visitor centre, it's a long slog (~9hrs) but the views are worth it. Don't make the same mistake as we made by parking where the road stops on the OS style maps - the road continues through the woods along a dirt track, there's a small car park just before a barrier preventing you from driving any further. It's not a short walk and you should make sure that you're well prepared before attempting it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesy5090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
77
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at El Cielo for 2 nights as part of a 10 day trip around the Andalucia region. We had an incredibly relaxing stay and could not recommend it more highly. John was the perfect host and Orna cooked us a delicious evening meal for the 2 nights we stayed. The honesty bar is a great idea and drinks very very reasonable. There were also many nice touches added to our stay which made it something special. The views are spectacular, the best we had on our entire trip, and we also had a lovely walk with their 2 gorgeous labs. A real touch of heaven in what was a great holiday and we just wished we had booked in for longer. Thanks for a great break.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed for only 2 nights and I already regret not to have reserved for much longer! The locaiton is amazing, the view is breathaking and room was perfect, etc, etc... I am usually quite critical, but in this case I can't really find any flaw. John was super helpful and attentive, perfect host for a perfect location.

I can't wait to go back!

Christian and Wendy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christianSyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We were lucky enough to have stayed for our “mini-moon” at El Cielo de Canar for a few nights in August 2011 and really can’t recommend it highly enough. The location with the breathtaking views is exactly what we needed after the stresses of the wedding! John and Orna were the perfect hosts and just wonderfully nice people! We’re already planning to come back for our anniversary to sample again one of the finest guest houses in not just southern Spain but Europe!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ac112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Booking was very easy, with a quick phone call and confirmation email with detailed directions provided by John. The drive up is not the easiest and not for the faint hearted but you do get used to it. It's definitely worth it though as the location is stunning, and sometimes you are above even the clouds as you are going quite high in the mountains.
I think the previous reviews are spot on, so won't add anything more than that I agree with them fully. Special mention to Eddie and Elvis - adorable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar, except some have shower and others have a bath and shower in the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

What an amazing location and superb accommodation, this hotel has to be one of the best we have stayed in. Set in a stunning part of the Sierra Nevada mountain range it is conveniently located for trips to Granada which we managed to pop into on our way to the hotel. We dined at the hotel the first night of our stay and had a fantastic three course meal. John & Orna are very charming and attentive hosts who really go that extra mile to ensure that your stay is as pleasant as possible.
Matt and Lynds

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattLynds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Sublime location with fabulous mountain views, great hosts, nice food and tastefully designed accommodation.

The only downside was that the rooms were hot at night and without cross ventilation, although the owner said it was extreme weather.

Close enough for a day trip to Granada. Loved the pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twotaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhass1, Owner at El Cielo de Canar, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Thank you for your kind words, we enjoyed having you here. Since your stay we have installed shade sails to keep the sun off the facade of the rooms and we have managed to source some low consumption (we are "off grid") bio-cooling systems for each room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canar
3.5 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
316 reviews
4.4 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
236 reviews
9.0 mi away
El CastaNar Nazari
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
2.0 mi away
Puerta Nazari
Puerta Nazari
#2 of 3 in Orgiva
72 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cielo de Canar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cielo de Canar

Property: El Cielo de Canar
Address: Llano de Manzano | Canar, 18418 Canar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Canar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 double bedrooms set in the mountains 1 hour south of Granada with stunning views, country walks and swimming pool. Surrounded by white villages this is a place of tranquility in the Alpujarras. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Cielo De Hotel Canar
Canar El Cielo De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing