We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Heaven”
Review of El Cielo de Canar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Cielo de Canar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canar
Norfolk, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Close to Heaven”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The location of El Cielo is spectacular but matched by the phenomenal way John and Orna look after their guests. Nothing is too much trouble! Orna's food, esp. her tapas, is fantastic. Breakfast included some fresh fruit from John's trees every morning. Try the figs!

Be prepared to walk. The area is crisscrossed with trails for young or old - like me. I particularly enjoyed borrowing Elvis and Eddie, John's Labradors, for a pre-dinner ramble up the hill above El Cielo - gets the juices flowing. There is also a resident horse who likes an apple from the orchard.

Tech note - El Cielo was the only place in Spain we stayed where the Wi-Fi worked perfectly.

We went with daughter and son-in-law and hope to return soon. The area is full of small towns to explore and places to walk.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed identically comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
77
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We spend two days at El Cielo de Canar in may 2013. What a beaufiful place. We were welcomed by the dogs and John and Orna with a cold beer. The room was so beautiful, with a great bed. We really felt at home! Nice breakfast and nothing is too much trouble for John and Orna, they even picked us up from the local bar at night! A perfect place for relaxing we definitely will come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nynke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

With a six-week sabbatical from a work, I decided to do a solo tour of Andalucia, finishing up in Granada province, and the peace and quiet of El Cielo de Canar for 3 nights. What a perfect end to a fantastic experience - John and Orna are excellent hosts; nothing is too much trouble - even providing a full breakfast on my last morning, despite my extremely early (6am!) departure for the airport. I can't recommend this hotel more highly - and words can't do the views and ambience justice. This is a wonderful part of the world, and El Cielo de Canar is a real gem... I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowTraveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a sunny April long weekend in El Cielo de Canar and are already looking into dates/flights for a return trip.

John and Orna are fantastic hosts, offering brilliant tips and local insights, providing a 5 star service, while allowing us the space to experience the high quality comfort of the hotel.

Our days typically began with beautiful fresh coffee and breakfast on the terrace enjoying the sunshine and magnificent views. We enjoyed afternoon adventures around the mountain mule trails, taking in the stunning scenery and hiking to the local waterfall (skilfully guided by the beautiful and charming Labrador brothers Eddie and Elvis).

Back to the hotel in the evening time to unwind on the terrace or in the hammocks (we look forward to a summer visit to relax in the pool), followed by delicious local recipes for dinner (including on-site garden vegetables), cooked to perfection by Orna. At night we thoroughly enjoyed having a beer with the locals in the nearby village of Canar.

In short - I cannot recommend El Cielo de Canar strongly enough!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Weatherwise early April might have been a bit early for the Alpujarras, but we had three wonderful days at a beautiful place thanks to passionate hosts and their Cielo. Both my wife and I can warmly recommend this mountain stay (at about 1200 meters above sea level) with a beautiful view of the valley and a vast terrace.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickAugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

At the end of September 2012 we stayed here for 3 days. It is located in a very nice area and is a very nice place to relax. John is a great host and gave us lots of tips on the area where we did some nice walks. Some evenings you can have dinner or some tapas otherwise you can visit a local bar or restaurant but then you will need your car or ask John to give you a lift. Overall an excellent place to spend your holidays.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Its been over 6 months since my husband and I stayed in this beautiful property and I have meant to review before. Like a good book our experience in El Cielo has remained with me to be savoured long after it is finished. We spent 3 days in June and it truly is a special place. The rooms are beautiful, the view superb, the food lovely and the ambience lovely but what we particularly loved was the subtle attentiveness of the hosts John and Orna. And the not soo subtle attentiveness of the beautiful labradors Elvis and Edie!!! Once we moved on to Granada we were both a bit lost without John to quietly guide us. It was beautiful to spend time in Canar and experience such a true Andalucian village and yet have such luxurious accommodation. As we move to think of this years holiday the memories of this place come back to tease me. I seem to forget all the other places we stayed in which were also lovely but just have not left the same impression. It is hot in June/July up there and although there are very strong manual air con units we did miss integrated air con a little. Having said that there is no way we would have missed the experience and would recommend it to any couple no matter what time of year. Would love to go back this June but looking for a new destination. However it will be very difficult to find another El Cielo!

Therese and Fran, Kilkenny

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canar
3.5 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
317 reviews
4.4 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
237 reviews
2.0 mi away
Puerta Nazari
Puerta Nazari
#2 of 3 in Orgiva
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
3.7 mi away
Hotel Balneario de Lanjaron
4.3 mi away
Meson Poqueira
Meson Poqueira
#2 of 3 in Capileira
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cielo de Canar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cielo de Canar

Property: El Cielo de Canar
Address: Llano de Manzano | Canar, 18418 Canar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Canar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 double bedrooms set in the mountains 1 hour south of Granada with stunning views, country walks and swimming pool. Surrounded by white villages this is a place of tranquility in the Alpujarras. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Cielo De Hotel Canar
Canar El Cielo De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing