We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!!”
Review of El Cielo de Canar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Cielo de Canar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canar
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely perfect!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Can't speak highly enough of this stunning hotel and it's owners! John and Orna went out of their way to make it a memorable break. They even presented us with a lovely bottle of Cava after a successful proposal on the terrace overlooking the glorious countryside!
Orna's tapas were just lovely and I also recommend bar Piqui in the local village for a good quality evening meal.
We shall definitely be returning to this truly beautiful hotel where we have very happy memories of.
Thanks again John and Orna, we shall be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarim1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
77
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived at El Cielo de Canar on a day of dense fog and driving up from Orgiva was an adventure in itself. And as the fog lifted we were delighted by the amazing views. John was charming and kind, with nothing being too much trouble, even the request for an indigestion remedy on Sunday evening! Our room was more comfortable and better appointed than any of the others that we stayed in during our trip. Orla's food was delicious, and, again, the best of the trip. We had a busy itinerary and so, unfortunately, didn't make the most of the terrace with its fantastic views, as it was early spring so by evening it was getting a bit chilly. An easy stroll down a footpath takes you to the local village, which is unspoilt and quite charming. Above the guesthouse was what looked like fantastic walking territory. We could easily have stayed much longer here. We were not at all surprised to see the other very positive reviews.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_and_sarah_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We would go back in a heartbeat! When I read all of the reviews before booking this hotel, I was actually skeptical because they were all SO good. I had heard that some hotels pay people to write good reviews and wondered if that was perhaps true for El Cielo de Canar. But that was not the case. The reviews were all absolutely accurate. John is the perfect host. He made us feel welcome and comfortable -- providing us with a cocktail upon our arrival and a marvelous dinner on our first night. Orna's cooking is fabulous. We had tapas one evening and it was more than enough for dinner. The terrace is a magnificent place. It has a spectacular view and is the perfect place to relax during the day or to share a bottle of wine in the evening. The rooms were very nice -- although a bit warm at night. If you are looking for a peaceful, beautiful, comfortable place to stay, I would highly recommend El Cielo de Canar. The only thing I would have changed is that we drove to other towns too often during our three-day stay. The drive up and down from El Cielo de Canar is quite steep and narrow with room for only one car on the road for much of the way. The hotel is definitely worth the drive, so my advice would be to do any hiking from the hotel itself rather than drive to other towns to hike as we did.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were very nice. My recommendation would be to choose the one on the end because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is just the most fantastic hotel in the world. God I wish I was still there! Everything is amazing, from the food, to the incredibly kind and helpful hosts John and Orna, to the beautiful rooms, to the sensational view, to the abundant orchards, to the lovely pool, to the magical setting of the Alpujarras.

You need to go here. Stay for a week. You'll feel like a different person by the time you leave.

Thank you John and Orna for a blissful, relaxing, joyful week and a much needed rest. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosannathomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The location of El Cielo is spectacular but matched by the phenomenal way John and Orna look after their guests. Nothing is too much trouble! Orna's food, esp. her tapas, is fantastic. Breakfast included some fresh fruit from John's trees every morning. Try the figs!

Be prepared to walk. The area is crisscrossed with trails for young or old - like me. I particularly enjoyed borrowing Elvis and Eddie, John's Labradors, for a pre-dinner ramble up the hill above El Cielo - gets the juices flowing. There is also a resident horse who likes an apple from the orchard.

Tech note - El Cielo was the only place in Spain we stayed where the Wi-Fi worked perfectly.

We went with daughter and son-in-law and hope to return soon. The area is full of small towns to explore and places to walk.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed identically comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We spend two days at El Cielo de Canar in may 2013. What a beaufiful place. We were welcomed by the dogs and John and Orna with a cold beer. The room was so beautiful, with a great bed. We really felt at home! Nice breakfast and nothing is too much trouble for John and Orna, they even picked us up from the local bar at night! A perfect place for relaxing we definitely will come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nynke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

With a six-week sabbatical from a work, I decided to do a solo tour of Andalucia, finishing up in Granada province, and the peace and quiet of El Cielo de Canar for 3 nights. What a perfect end to a fantastic experience - John and Orna are excellent hosts; nothing is too much trouble - even providing a full breakfast on my last morning, despite my extremely early (6am!) departure for the airport. I can't recommend this hotel more highly - and words can't do the views and ambience justice. This is a wonderful part of the world, and El Cielo de Canar is a real gem... I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowTraveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canar
3.5 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
319 reviews
2.0 mi away
Puerta Nazari
Puerta Nazari
#2 of 3 in Orgiva
74 reviews
4.3 mi away
Meson Poqueira
Meson Poqueira
#2 of 3 in Capileira
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
242 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
5.6 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cielo de Canar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cielo de Canar

Property: El Cielo de Canar
Address: Llano de Manzano | Canar, 18418 Canar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Canar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 double bedrooms set in the mountains 1 hour south of Granada with stunning views, country walks and swimming pool. Surrounded by white villages this is a place of tranquility in the Alpujarras. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Cielo De Hotel Canar
Canar El Cielo De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing