We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but average stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crown Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kia's Across from The Beach
Ranked #12 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Booked this through My Tobago website (sites a little out of date). We chose it because it was in our price range and it had the amenities that we were looking for. We paid a deposit through paypal although that was a bit troublesome as the owner sent the wrong address to pay into initially. The owner was good at answering our questions prior to arrival and we were looking forward to our stay.
When we arrived in Tobago, late because of a flight delay, we waited for our pick up from the airport but no-one turned up and we were left to sort ourselves out which was aggravating as we had no local money and all the banks were closed for the next two days.
Upon arrival we were asked for the rest of the payment and little sympathy was shown to the fact that we hadn't got any local money and weren't going to be able to access any until the Monday. We were shown our room (downstairs right) and our spirits dropped lower. The room was old and had a very tired appearance and when we asked for the safe we were told there wasn't a safe 'as the last people left with the key'. As the patio door was secured by a lump of wood, it didn't make us feel that secure. The housekeeper did offer to look after our valuables but luckily we didn't take her up on this. i say luckily as we didn't see her for the first week at all and eventually emailed the owner asking for the room to be cleaned. We stayed for 13 nights and the room was cleaned twice.
The goods- excellently located and quite spacious and has air con, provided towels and hairdryer
The bads- shower was rubbish, loud music from across the road 9am to 9pm, the chickens and parrot wake you up about 3am, wifi works for an hour every two to three days, the exchange rate into £sterling was inflated.
If I were to go again I might book this for the first day as it was the only place we seemed to be able to book from the Uk but there were plenty more places in the vicinity that seemed better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJW1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

My friend and I stayed here from Oct 10 to Oct 15th. What a great little place. The rooms were spacious, the bathrooms were clean, and the staff was very accommodating. The location was great and only a short walk to the bank, grocery, airport and beach, with some being steps away. At night it can get noisy as this seems to be in a central location, so if youre looking for something quiet, ask to stay on the other end (not facing the road) I did not mind the noise as i live in the city and enjoyed the music. I would def stay here again. The price was so right, the A/C was comfortable, and we even had a TV(which we never turned on). Our plane did not leave till a little later in the after noon and we were able to work out an arrangement. We really appreciated the hospitality of Kia's and everyone else we met in Tobago. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlejandraBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed at Kias for a month in the studio apartment at the back.
Jocelyn, who looks after the house, is amazing. Our room was cleaned about every 3 days, with sheets changed and fresh towels provided and if we had any problems she'd usually be easily contactable.
The apartment has a very comfortable double bed, but a less than comfy single bed. There is digital tv, and all essential kitchen equipment.
Unfortunately the wardrobe was a little dusty so we didn't use it.
Store bay and pigeon point (more touristy and pretty beaches) are literally a short walk away and the area is packed with bars and restaurants.
I would definitely stay at Kias again during my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeezee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Want a warm welcome and a comfortable room at an affordable price? You have to book Kia's! Rooms are tastefully decorated, beds are comfortable and kitchen and bathroom facilities are very adequate. Every room has both A/C and fans and most have lovely breeze circulating through room when windows open. The lady who manages the day to day life at Kia's is very professional and most helpful. The garden is well maintained and a lovely place to sit and bird watch or just relax and enjoy the lovely vegetation and company of other guests. The location is first rate, two blocks from the airport and right across the street from one of the best beaches in Tobago and minutes from Pigeon Point a real mecca for water sports enthusiasts. Lively night life all within walking distance. Car rentals available at various locations nearby and tour guides easy to find to escort you around the island or refer you to deep sea fishing guides. Restaurants and shops minutes from Kia's. All in all I highly recommend staying here while in Tobago! Have visited many times over the past several years and always look forward to my stays.

Room Tip: rooms furthest away from main road more quiet and upper floor has very large suite suitable for grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Kia's is at the right location, near the beaches, near the restaurants, near the boarding point to Bucco reef, near the pharmacy, near the mini marts, near the airport and 5 mins drive to the supermarket. We were a group of 16 adults and 3 children, it was difficult and frustrating to get a place that would house such a large group. Then i found Kia's...... Karen made sure we had accommodation. The place was more than we expected, the rooms are spacious, air conditioned, hot and cold water, wifi, full kitchen utensils.... even micro wave and toaster. it's fully equipped even if you want to have a bar b que. check in time is usually 2pm. we got to Tobago about 11am,,,, and Natasha worked diligently to make sure we had at least one room ready, so we could have crashed in there until 2. Overall Kia's is definitely in the right location, it also has the right accommodation. to say the people at Kia's is great is an understatement..... and for those who are wondering "NO mosquitoes"

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SherinaKhairatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My family and I have been staying here every visit to Tobago, and this time it was a bit different..... we came back with friends...10 of them. We had a blast as usual. Joycelyn was very patient and attentive to all our needs.... they kept changing by the hour.
The renovations looked great. See you soon!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Kia's Across from the Beach is located is a great area! My friend and I walked from the airport to Kia's and then the beach, and everywhere! It's very affordable and the owners are very nice. I tried to stay at Kia's a second time this year but had a booking issue. Thankfully they made sure I had accommodations and even paid the difference! If you just need a place to sleep and the end of a long day at the beach.. Kia's is the place! It's nothing fancy but it's nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristianJ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crown Point hotels
0.2 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bananaquit Apartments
Bananaquit Apartments
#6 of 14 in Crown Point
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Native Abode
Native Abode
#1 of 20 in Crown Point
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kia's Across from The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kia's Across from The Beach

Address: 4 Reserve Road, Crown Point, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range: £30 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kias Across From the Beach is located in the heart of Crown Point, between Store Bay and Pigeon Point and within comfortable walking distance to all of the amenities in the area. The house offers a choice of 2 self-contained studio apartments, 2-person guest rooms or a 3-bedroom apartment in an attractive property set in mature tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kia`s Across From The Beach Hotel Crown Point
Kia's Across From The Beach Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing