We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is by far the most beautiful and thoroughly wonderful place I have visited. The hidden waterfall pool at the back of the garden (where they grow their own vegetables, herbs, etc.) surrounded by beautiful flowering plants was the most idyllic refuge imaginable. Food wonderful, staff attentive, clean, etc....everything one could hope for. The fact that the Clovis family created this out of virtual wasteland with thought in every detail is a most impressive lifetime achievement. You will be lucky to be in such a very special place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    80
    15
    8
    11
See reviews for
72
135
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

We had a great time here in this superb hotel and superb island.

The room in the garden was huge with a very very large and comfortable bed and lots of hanging and moving about space.

Breakfast was very good and the staff were so lovely, friendly and just good to be with, none of the waitresses could be faulted and AnnA in the office was very helpful and sorted out our trips no problem.

I was very sorry to leave such nice people and we got hugs on departure, Mrs. Clovis has cleverly acquired some very good people to work for her. I wish them all well.

The pool was good and the cocktails to die for! and I did have quite a lot !! evenings spent sitting outside our room with a couple of Caribs after a nice meal, what more can you ask for??

Try to get a trip with Peter Cox to go into the rainforest and find birds, he really knows his stuff and we were lucky enough to see a Hummingbird on her nest, we also went to Arnos Vale and saw lovely jewel bright Hummingbirds inches away from us. Michael also gave us a good island tour, with Ellis tours.

Stay at the Kariwak you will love it.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are a little more remote but a lot bigger and with a great very large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lambkin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sverige
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is definitely one of the best hotels I have ever visited. With an extremely friendly staff and a beautiful garden it was very easy to feel welcome and secure. The restaurant is famous on the island for the delicious food. They grow their own herbs and vegetables and have a different menu every evening. Very nice, but not so cheap.

During our stay we had some problems with the electricity, but it was due to other circumstances in the area, so the hotel staff couldn't do anything about it, except handing out some candles. Even though it wasn't their fault, they gave us some money back on our bill when we checked out and a personal "sorry letter" from the owner. Very much appreciated!

We spend a little bit more than a week at this hotel, including New Years Eve and it was also part of our honeymoon in the Caribbean. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip and I also enjoyed the yoga classes and the massage. In addition, it is nice to know that we stayed at a environment friendly hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the garden rooms, but if you don't want to wake up from the sounds of birds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arima, Trinidad
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

My boyfriend & I won a package to Kariwak as a door prize and we were amazed by this place! It was the best experience we have ever had in Tobago. The service was quick and everyone greeted us with a smile. The owner was extremely welcoming and sought to ensure that we had a great experience.The rooms were cozy, comfortable and relaxing. The entire atmosphere of Kariwak was that of total relaxation and comfort. I would definitely recommend here for couples and other persons that would like to relax and rejuvenate themselves from their hectic day-to-day activities. The full body massages from Anthony that we received was also out of this world! The breakfast we had was both delicious and healthy. The location is also very convenient as there is access to many places of interest. I had no complains and I will definitely visit here very soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stayshac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferney-Voltaire, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

You enter a lush garden, find your way to the reception by the open restaurant and get your key to a little heaven in eden... The rooms are in small bungalows/cabanas, two rooms per bungalow (+ some garden rooms I never stayed in). As we are a family of 5, we take two connecting rooms/a whole bungalow just for us. 24 rooms in all, so this is not the big 'all inclusive'!!!! There are two pools, one in the central area, close to the restaurant, and one jacuzzi-type, small, with a mini waterfall at the back of the hotel. Also hamacs at the back... and on your way to the back you'll see the open air Ajoupa and the organic kitchen garden that serves Cynthia in the kitchen... the food!!!! Fresh, mostly local, with that twist that makes it really good!!!!!!!!! Breakfast included with the room - eggs how you like it, toasts, jam, fresh fruit, home-made yoghurt, home-made granola, fresh pressed juices, cereals, different types of tea...
This is a place to de-connect - no TV in the rooms. There are yoga and tai-chi classes in the Ajoupa at the back and you can get different kinds of massages. Oh, and i almost forgot: the water! If you come from Europe this may seem odd, but when you live in T&T, believe me - to have clear, good tap water that does not have that awfull bleach sent and horrible taste that you have in POS!!!! I believe they ozone their water (++) to purify it, and even the water in the swimming pool has no bleach!
Service is really good - thanks especially to Suzette (even if you remember the blue eyes of my husband...) for her warmth and efficiency and kindness. Remember, you're in the Caribbean, and if you want something good you'll have to wait a little - this is NOT a fast-food! This was our third stay in Tobago and Kariwak, and I am not ready to change next time I go!
Thanks again - did not remember to write in your book, and - most importantly - forgot to buy Cynthia's cookbook :-(

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carib_cricri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We have stayed at the Kariwak before, but this time we were with my elderly mother, and the wonderful owners and staff could not have been more accommodating and welcoming. If you are needing a little human pampering, this is the place for you. The food is outstanding, the staff professional and warm and friendly, the gardens and restaurant enchanting; the pool and the jacuzzi at the far end of the garden made one feel truly surrounded by a tropical paradise, and we felt we got unrivalled help and support for my diabetic mother - we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie_ffrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Very relaxing place to stay. Clean, comfortable rooms, nice grounds, good pool, excellent restaurant, friendly staff, convenient location and all very efficiently run. Had a bit of a mix up over the bill at the end but all sorted out in teh end.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.5 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
4.3 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
5.9 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
0.5 mi away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel

Property: Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
Address: Store Bay Local Road, Crown Point, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kariwak is an intimate 24 room Tobago hotel with unmistakable Caribbean ambiance. It features wholesome cuisine using its own home-grown herbs in the restaurant, and holistic holiday activities - yoga, massage, Tai Chi. There is an award-winning tropical garden with abundant plants and bird life in addition to the garden jacuzzi, pool, weekend live entertainment. Kariwak enjoys a high percentage of repeat clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven Hotel Crown Point
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven And Hotel Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing