We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing and affordable!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
point fortin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and affordable!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I arrived at the airport earlier than expected and I decided to call Kariwak at about lunch time. I asked if a room would be available because I knew check in is at 3pm and to my relief I got a room earlier than 3pm. When I entered kariwak with my lady we were greeted by a friendly Host who made us fill out relevant info and she took us to our room immediately. The location is a very convenient one because of how close to the airport it is situated and also various food places..We didn't eat too much at the kariwak restaurant though because they are a bit pricey..Take a walk one evening to la cantina not too far..drink some wine and you won't regret it. Kariwak's breakfast was tasty but a little repetitive..still tasty no complaints...The surroundings were well kept with alot of birds..fishes..trees..a very secluded Jacuzzi with artificial waterfall..Beautiful place to relax by the hammocks as well and take a little stroll. Enjoyed it!!!

Room Tip: Take a pool room..It's near everything...the pool of course..the restaurant..a little walk to Ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    77
    14
    8
    11
See reviews for
71
133
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Myself, my sister and mum visited Kariwak for 1 night and couldn't be happier with it. It truly is holistic heaven! We stayed in one of the pool rooms and found it very cosy and clean. The garden with its hammocks is excellent, a perfect place to relax. The pool and the hidden Jacuzzi is brilliant, we had the whole Jacuzzi for ourself and could not feel more private. We had to wait for our breakfast more than 30 min but it was worth the wait - the food was amazing, so fresh and tasty. The staff was very friendly especially the manager Anna who was always there to help/advise. Shuttle buses to Pigeon Point and to the airport are great advantage although you could easily walk to both (airport 5 min, Pigeon Point 15 min). The only criticisms I could think of is that some of the ladies at reception were not able to provide us with some basic information about Kariwak's holistic treatments and the island in general and were referring us to Anna at all times. It would be nice to see them taking more interest and being more knowledgeable about the services available in the hotel + tourist information re Tobago. But overall, it was a fantastic stay, I would definitely recommend Kariwak and I would love to come back soon :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReasonWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is the third time at this place. I have no regrets. The only drawback to this place is that it is not on the beach,but there are shuttles for pigeon point and store bay is not far. Great for just chilling, liming and some r&r.

Room Tip: Take the rooms by the pool. If you want more privacy, ask for rooms at the back. And do not miss out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saads12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here in January and we cannot fault it on anything. We are not into Yoga etc. but the gardens are just wonderful, so many beautiful flowers to be enjoyed and they attract a good range of birds including humming birds. Food is excellent, although there are several restaurants within walking distance. We have stayed at several hotels in Tobago over the years, but this one is the best and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wooHaywardsHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed here for one night last month with my two girlfriends. While the room was a bit on the smaller side, the property itself was very well kept and perfect for relaxation. We ended up being very pleased with our choice.

We were mostly impressed with the service and staff. After our arrival at noon, we realized that we had missed the shuttle service to Pigeon Point which departs at 11am. However, the management were happy to accommodate us and arranged with the driver to take us. On check out we were informed that our meals and drinks from the previous day would be complementary and did not have to pay any additional charges. And if that wasn't enough the management arranged an airport drop of for us as well and at no additional cost!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Telepath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed for 8 nights in february 2012 and are so pleased. The rooms/bungalows are of ok standard, cozy and clean. The food is excellent! Its not far to walk to the beach. There are different classes of yoga in the mornings, try it! The breakfast is the best. The best of all; the service and the people working in the hotell are so nice. We can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 916Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Had a wonderfully peaceful, relaxing week at the Kariwak in February 2013 before going to Port of Spain for Carnival. For us, not having a TV in the room is a plus point and ice and water are available 24/7 in reception, so a fridge is not essential.

We've have eaten at the restaurant on previous Tobago holidays but this was our first stay at the hotel. It was good to find that despite being close to the airport there is virtually no noise disturbance, even when outside enjoying the beautiful, immaculate gardens, pool, hammocks and jacuzzi.

The food is outstanding; every single mouthful of every meal was delicious! Breakfast consisted of fresh juice, fresh fruit platter, homemade granola, homemade yoghurt, Kariwak honey and jam, freshly made breads and bakes, eggs any way you like, buljol, fried fish and a selection of hot drinks including their own delicious tea blend,

Even if you are a resident, you do need to book a table for dinner each day as the restaurant is very popular. Enjoyed the live band and dancing on Friday. The lunch menu of sandwiches, salads and snacks is available all afternoon - until 7 pm which is ideal if you don't want to be clock-watching when out. The new cookbook is a real bonus and we've enjoyed the recipes we've tried.

Our pool side room was spacious, spotlessly clean, well furnished, had a comfortable bed and was thoughtfully equipped with an iron and ironing board. Sound insulation between the rooms is not brilliant, but only on the first night did we have noisy neighbours. Putting the air-con on helps muffle voices but didn't drown out the relentless, late night bathroom door slamming.

There's a small supermarket within a 50 metre walk, plus other shops, restaurants, bars and banks nearby. Sheppy Car Hire is virtually opposite and we've found them good in the past.

As well as the courtesy bus to the beach each day, the Kariwak helpfully offers an airport drop off service on departure.

Can't wait to go back for another stay!

Room Tip: Next time we will try a garden room - a longer walk to meals but it will burn off some calories!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hibboes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.5 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
7.7 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
3.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel

Property: Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
Address: Store Bay Local Road, Crown Point, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kariwak is an intimate 24 room Tobago hotel with unmistakable Caribbean ambiance. It features wholesome cuisine using its own home-grown herbs in the restaurant, and holistic holiday activities - yoga, massage, Tai Chi. There is an award-winning tropical garden with abundant plants and bird life in addition to the garden jacuzzi, pool, weekend live entertainment. Kariwak enjoys a high percentage of repeat clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven Hotel Crown Point
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven And Hotel Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing