We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Friendly Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent one night here - Husband, 2 young kids, my mum, my sister & I. It seemed, at first, a bit too rustic but one quickly realizes that though the rooms are basic, the essence of the place is serenity. The quietness of the place, occasionally interrupted by the calling birds, calms and quietens the spirit. The staff were quite friendly - Hey Kinnesha! - and helpful.
The rooms were clean -basic, true - but clean.
We managed to enjoy the use of the pool and wandered over to the Jacuzzi, which by the way, was FREEZING, though that did not deter my 6 year old part fish daughter, Lol!
Only part I did not enjoy was the dinner - I felt the choices were quite limited for a buffet.
Also, it took quite a while for orders to arrive.
On the plus side, the hotel serves fresh and organic food - everything seems homegrown.

I will probably be back next time I go to Tobago.

And, if you don't have much luggage, you can walk to/from the airport - it's about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: If travelling with 1 or 2 young kids, take a Triple room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feyisola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kariwak, Guest relations/ Reservations at Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for choosing us for your short family vacation.

Taking your time to post a review on the product and services offered at the hotel during your stay is very much appreciated.

It's wonderful to hear that we were able to deliver on our promise of good food, cleanliness, friendliness of staff and warmth of service.

However, we are concerned about your thoughts regarding the limited choices at the buffet, this is an issue that will be addressed, because we do pride all our goods and services.

Once again, thank you choosing Kariwak Village and we look forward to extending a warm welcome on you and your family on your next visit.


Kindest regards
Kinnesha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed with my son on a diving holiday. Very well looked after. Food was very special with lovely breakfast and an evening meal that kept us from exploring other restaurants. Relaxed setting in lovely gardens.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kariwak, Guest relations/ Reservations at Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us for your holiday.

We are indeed thankful to you for taking the time to post your review.

It is comforting to hear that our food impact on your stay with us was so positive that you decided to enjoy our array of dishes and exploring our restaurant.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to extending a warm welcome to you in the near future.



Kindest regards
Kinnesha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We arrived very late at night due to plane delays, and in the dark did not realize we were within walking distance to the Kariwak. I was surprised at quite a few things. The first thing was the bathroom. It is quite small, and no shampoo, conditioner, or lotion was provided. The second thing is the location of the pool. It is right next to the restaurant. Somehow it didn't feel as relaxing as I would have liked since there is only a narrow walkway around it. However, I really enjoyed our stay because there was a very laid back atmosphere to the island, and the adjoining gardens were nice to spend time in. The beach is a short walk down the road, and the whole island is one perfect bay after another. I would love to spend more time in Tobago, but would probably try for something cheaper next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macgrej68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I made our annual "pilgrimage" to Kariwak as part of our annual winter vacation. We spent three nights which means that we were able to enjoy three dinners and three breakfasts as we usually have the "meal" plan. As usual, the food prepared by Cynthia and her staff is wonderful. The staff and overall level of service are excellent and it is always good to see familiar faces. We are already planning next year's trip and we would very likely stay a longer time then.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaraindraM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kariwak, Guest relations/ Reservations at Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

It was indeed our pleasure to welcome you on your annual 'pilgrimage'. Thank you for showing such confidence and loyalty to us.

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to review the hotel and it is wonderful to read that we were able to meet your satisfaction.

Your acknowledgement of the effort put in by Cynthia and her staff is very much appreciated and will be conveyed.

Once again, we thank you for the commitment and loyalty and look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future, so we could warmly welcome you again.
Kindest regards


Kindest regards
Kinnesha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We have just returned from a two week holiday staying at Kariwak. We had a really wonderful time at this paradise. The atmosphere is wonderful. Cynthia and the staff are all warmhearted people, attentive, caring, friendly, professional and fun! The food is excellent; tasty and healthy. What made it for me especially was the amazing yoga and qigong classes. The teachers are of a really high standard, and it's great that there are a variety of different styles of yoga. The yoga space is really beautiful and we did our own yoga there over the weekend when there are no classes. It really is a special space.
The massages were wonderful and highly recommended.
Kariwak provides a welcoming and very restful atmosphere. The gardens are a delight with the hummingbirds constantly darting about in their quiet way, visiting the feeders. The hammocks are a wonderful resting place to just laze with a book or favourite music, which I did most days. The jacuzzi is gorgeous - a lovely dip after a spot of sunbathing.
The ozone pool is great too.
The beach is a very short walk away and is really lovely. Quite a small cove, beautiful for swimming, and a lovely spot too for sunbathing/lazing.
We hired a car for a day and drove around the island… easily done in a day if you don't get carried away and stop too long at a beach or bird retreat on your way around! The roads in the north of the island are particularly bendy and narrow. Steep too in places.
A track through the rainforest is a must too. Go with a guide as the guide will find a lot more than you'll find on your own. We went with Peter Cox who was really excellent. And Kariwak do a wonderful picnic/packed lunch if you request the day before!
Overall, we couldn't have asked for more. The perfect holiday for us and we really hope to be back next year - it's the perfect winter tonic!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are more private and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kariwak, Guest relations/ Reservations at Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

It was indeed a pleasure offering our product and services to you, and we would like to say thank you, for choosing us for your holiday.

Thank you for acknowledging our efforts to deliver on our promise, cleanliness, warmth of service, relaxing location and good food.

Once again, thank you and we do look forward to welcoming you on next visit.


Kindest regards
Kinnesha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Terrible experience at this place last week. I travelled to Tobago and returned to my room one day to find my personal items had been sorted by the hotel without my permission and my luggage packed without any reason or apology. The hotel claimed the particular room was booked but that is not borne out by the facts and the hotel was not booked out as can be verified easily.i am shocked, appalled and sickened by this brutal and horrific treatment. To make the situation even more incredulous, I had been in the hotel until 1 pm on Saturday 8th February when this occurred and Cynthia the owner saw me at this time. she asked no question nor did she indicate any need for the room. I returned around 8 pm and was proceeding to the room only to discover this horrific incident. She felt it was fine to say that the luggage had been packed carefully which must be laughable in the extreme. Appalled.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank gourmetdelight16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at The Kariwak for a week just before Christmas 2013. It was our fourth visit in fifteen years. We can't think why we haven't been more often.
Alan and Cynthia have created a small Eden, the most serene place we know.
The gardens are beautiful, the food is ultra fresh and delicious. All the Kariwak team are delightful.
We bought Cynthia's cook book (get the hardback - you'll use it a lot and it's worth the extra) and have been nostalgically attempting to recreate Kariwak meals since we got back. Lovely - but not the same as being there,
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are a bit away from the pool but in beautiful gardens and are slightly larger with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kariwak, Guest relations/ Reservations at Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Many thanks for choosing Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel for your holiday destination and for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay.

We are pleased to know that we delivered to your satisfaction on our promise to offer warm and consistent service, good food, clean comfortable rooms and environment.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you on your fifth visit.

Kindest regards,
Kinnesha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.5 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
4.2 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
84 reviews
5.9 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel

Address: Store Bay Local Road, Crown Point, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Crown Point
Price Range: £138 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kariwak is an intimate 24 room Tobago hotel with unmistakable Caribbean ambiance. It features wholesome cuisine using its own home-grown herbs in the restaurant, and holistic holiday activities - yoga, massage, Tai Chi. There is an award-winning tropical garden with abundant plants and bird life in addition to the garden jacuzzi, pool, weekend live entertainment. Kariwak enjoys a high percentage of repeat clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven Hotel Crown Point
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven And Hotel Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing