We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Experience.....”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Friendly helpful Staff, very peaceful and i can get coffee any time!!!! Was my second time to Kariwak Village and the place keeps getting better definitely one of my best places to be......loved it and cant wait for my next get away...........

Room Tip: Garden Rooms are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SashaN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kariwak, at Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Kariwak Village for your holiday and for taking the time to post your review.

It is very much appreciated to know that the product and services we offer were satisfactory to you.

Once again, thank you for choosing us and we do hope we do look forward to the opportunity to warmly welcome you in the future again.


Kindest regards
Kinnesha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    83
    15
    8
    11
See reviews for
73
140
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent one night here - Husband, 2 young kids, my mum, my sister & I. It seemed, at first, a bit too rustic but one quickly realizes that though the rooms are basic, the essence of the place is serenity. The quietness of the place, occasionally interrupted by the calling birds, calms and quietens the spirit. The staff were quite friendly - Hey Kinnesha! - and helpful.
The rooms were clean -basic, true - but clean.
We managed to enjoy the use of the pool and wandered over to the Jacuzzi, which by the way, was FREEZING, though that did not deter my 6 year old part fish daughter, Lol!
Only part I did not enjoy was the dinner - I felt the choices were quite limited for a buffet.
Also, it took quite a while for orders to arrive.
On the plus side, the hotel serves fresh and organic food - everything seems homegrown.

I will probably be back next time I go to Tobago.

And, if you don't have much luggage, you can walk to/from the airport - it's about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: If travelling with 1 or 2 young kids, take a Triple room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feyisola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kariwak, Guest relations/ Reservations at Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your short family vacation.

Taking your time to post a review on the product and services offered at the hotel during your stay is very much appreciated.

It's wonderful to hear that we were able to deliver on our promise of good food, cleanliness, friendliness of staff and warmth of service.

However, we are concerned about your thoughts regarding the limited choices at the buffet, this is an issue that will be addressed, because we do pride all our goods and services.

Once again, thank you choosing Kariwak Village and we look forward to extending a warm welcome on you and your family on your next visit.


Kindest regards
Kinnesha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed with my son on a diving holiday. Very well looked after. Food was very special with lovely breakfast and an evening meal that kept us from exploring other restaurants. Relaxed setting in lovely gardens.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kariwak, Guest relations/ Reservations at Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us for your holiday.

We are indeed thankful to you for taking the time to post your review.

It is comforting to hear that our food impact on your stay with us was so positive that you decided to enjoy our array of dishes and exploring our restaurant.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to extending a warm welcome to you in the near future.



Kindest regards
Kinnesha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We arrived very late at night due to plane delays, and in the dark did not realize we were within walking distance to the Kariwak. I was surprised at quite a few things. The first thing was the bathroom. It is quite small, and no shampoo, conditioner, or lotion was provided. The second thing is the location of the pool. It is right next to the restaurant. Somehow it didn't feel as relaxing as I would have liked since there is only a narrow walkway around it. However, I really enjoyed our stay because there was a very laid back atmosphere to the island, and the adjoining gardens were nice to spend time in. The beach is a short walk down the road, and the whole island is one perfect bay after another. I would love to spend more time in Tobago, but would probably try for something cheaper next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macgrej68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I made our annual "pilgrimage" to Kariwak as part of our annual winter vacation. We spent three nights which means that we were able to enjoy three dinners and three breakfasts as we usually have the "meal" plan. As usual, the food prepared by Cynthia and her staff is wonderful. The staff and overall level of service are excellent and it is always good to see familiar faces. We are already planning next year's trip and we would very likely stay a longer time then.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaraindraM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kariwak, Guest relations/ Reservations at Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
It was indeed our pleasure to welcome you on your annual 'pilgrimage'. Thank you for showing such confidence and loyalty to us.

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to review the hotel and it is wonderful to read that we were able to meet your satisfaction.

Your acknowledgement of the effort put in by Cynthia and her staff is very much appreciated and will be conveyed.

Once again, we thank you for the commitment and loyalty and look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future, so we could warmly welcome you again.
Kindest regards


Kindest regards
Kinnesha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We have just returned from a two week holiday staying at Kariwak. We had a really wonderful time at this paradise. The atmosphere is wonderful. Cynthia and the staff are all warmhearted people, attentive, caring, friendly, professional and fun! The food is excellent; tasty and healthy. What made it for me especially was the amazing yoga and qigong classes. The teachers are of a really high standard, and it's great that there are a variety of different styles of yoga. The yoga space is really beautiful and we did our own yoga there over the weekend when there are no classes. It really is a special space.
The massages were wonderful and highly recommended.
Kariwak provides a welcoming and very restful atmosphere. The gardens are a delight with the hummingbirds constantly darting about in their quiet way, visiting the feeders. The hammocks are a wonderful resting place to just laze with a book or favourite music, which I did most days. The jacuzzi is gorgeous - a lovely dip after a spot of sunbathing.
The ozone pool is great too.
The beach is a very short walk away and is really lovely. Quite a small cove, beautiful for swimming, and a lovely spot too for sunbathing/lazing.
We hired a car for a day and drove around the island… easily done in a day if you don't get carried away and stop too long at a beach or bird retreat on your way around! The roads in the north of the island are particularly bendy and narrow. Steep too in places.
A track through the rainforest is a must too. Go with a guide as the guide will find a lot more than you'll find on your own. We went with Peter Cox who was really excellent. And Kariwak do a wonderful picnic/packed lunch if you request the day before!
Overall, we couldn't have asked for more. The perfect holiday for us and we really hope to be back next year - it's the perfect winter tonic!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are more private and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kariwak, Guest relations/ Reservations at Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
It was indeed a pleasure offering our product and services to you, and we would like to say thank you, for choosing us for your holiday.

Thank you for acknowledging our efforts to deliver on our promise, cleanliness, warmth of service, relaxing location and good food.

Once again, thank you and we do look forward to welcoming you on next visit.


Kindest regards
Kinnesha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Terrible experience at this place last week. I travelled to Tobago and returned to my room one day to find my personal items had been sorted by the hotel without my permission and my luggage packed without any reason or apology. The hotel claimed the particular room was booked but that is not borne out by the facts and the hotel was not booked out as can be verified easily.i am shocked, appalled and sickened by this brutal and horrific treatment. To make the situation even more incredulous, I had been in the hotel until 1 pm on Saturday 8th February when this occurred and Cynthia the owner saw me at this time. she asked no question nor did she indicate any need for the room. I returned around 8 pm and was proceeding to the room only to discover this horrific incident. She felt it was fine to say that the luggage had been packed carefully which must be laughable in the extreme. Appalled.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gourmetdelight16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.5 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,511 reviews
4.3 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
64 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel

Property: Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
Address: Store Bay Local Road, Crown Point, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kariwak is an intimate 24 room Tobago hotel with unmistakable Caribbean ambiance. It features wholesome cuisine using its own home-grown herbs in the restaurant, and holistic holiday activities - yoga, massage, Tai Chi. There is an award-winning tropical garden with abundant plants and bird life in addition to the garden jacuzzi, pool, weekend live entertainment. Kariwak enjoys a high percentage of repeat clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven Hotel Crown Point
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven And Hotel Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing