We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place to Stay and Play” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Point Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crown Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandy Point Beach Club
Ranked #4 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay and Play”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I'm giving this an average rating, the furniture looks like something that was home made, there's nothing fancy, old out dated TVs and appliances, but it's clean and roomy. We had room 120 and liked the layout and the hot tub/pool off our patio. Our room slept 2 in each bedroom privately, then there were four bunk beds and even a murphy bed for 2, none of the extra beds were used, just the bedrooms.

All the bedrooms had a A/C unit and they were quiet and worked well. Our bigger unit even had a washer and dryer in it that we used. The kitchen had gas oven and stove, big fridge, microwave, blenders, toasters and all the other things you could ever need.

The bedrooms had lots of closet space, room under the beds to store bags and the upstairs BR had a private bath and shower that never seemed to have hot water, but we managed. There was a another full bath down stairs. Beds OK for comfort. The upstairs B/R had a tiny TV, an old fashioned 13inch TV way up high, so small it was hard to see.

Furniture was pine 2X4's with vinyl cushions, not that comfortable and certainly not classy.

The staff was really pleasant and nice, they do hit you with a hefty "energy surcharge" that is BS though.

The onsite eatery was a last resort move that was only OK. The lady there told us she had mahi-mahi but she brought us King Mackerel instead and insisted it was mahi! I told her I live on the ocean, have fished all my life and teach this stuff to divers and Boy Scouts and then she said "Well, it's what the man who sold it to me said it was....."

"Yeah and did he sell you sea gull and tell you it was chicken?" I asked her. Nothing was done about the whole thing, no other dish offered, but it was tolerable.

About the airport.... NEVER was it a noise problem, don't worry about it.
It is very safe and they have great and friendly security guards.
It's in a great place with grocery stores nearby and a good little store that has most things you need on site.
Lots of great eateries within a short drive.
Rent a car while you're there. Gas is CHEAP on the island.
Nice grills (Gas) and they'll light them and clean them for you....
Some of the entertainment they had for us was good, it was a pleasant surprise.
They have cable TV and a good picture with US networks and ESPN and more.

This is not a fancy or classy place, it's not the nicest place to stay on Tobago, but it's certainly a worthy place to stay if you're interested in doing day trips as we did. Would I go back? No.... In a week if you missed something on that island you were not looking.

Room Tip: Room 120 has an almost private hot tub / pool outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachfiinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    93
    31
    19
    17
See reviews for
72
68
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osoyoos, BC Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Spent two weeks (Sept./Oct. 2013) at Sandy Point Beach Club. Friendliest resort we have been to so far. All the staff from the front desk to the bar were all very accomodating and helpful. The grounds are very well kept but the pools need a bit of fixing!! Rooms were not luxurious but very clean and had everything we needed. Tobago, itself, is a beautiful place to visit. Not at all commercialized. Relax on the many beaches, snorkel, listen to the numerous birds, tour the rain forest and windward side of the island with Leroy, go scuba diving with Big Dougie, watch the gourgeous sunset each evening, or sing songs with Alvira, Usha, Clifton and many of the other guests. Had a great time!

Room Tip: Our one bedroom suite was over looking the pool and ocean (114)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at Sandy point with two older children and we got them a room on their own next to us. This was a good move as it meant that we had two terraces, two bathrooms etc.

The pool was a regular shape but plenty big enough as it was never crowded.

The hotel's own beach wasn't worth using as it was small and unattractive but it was easy enough to walk to Store Bay to the fab beach there. It was also an easy walk at night to visit local bars or to speak to the many stall holders who set out their wares at night.

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking the pool as you won't get any peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spent a week here last week, although the facility was average, the staff seemed always inconvenienced, especially at the front desk. They were too busy talking to each other than wanting to help their guests. We were told towel service was from 8-4:30, but at 8:25 one morning as we were on our way out to dive, they stated towel service was not ready?? So when we returned and I went back down at 4:40 to exchange my towels I was told they were closed already, I complained and walaaaa, she simply reached under the front desk and pulled out 2 clean towels??? SERIOUSLY!!!!?????? We had guests coming for dinner after a night dive, they arrived at 9:03, security would NOT let them up for dinner, guests not allowed after 9pm???? AGAIN SERIOUSLY????!!!!! We had guests that were already in our room, but at midnight, security was calling us telling us they had to leave. We weren't loud, no music was playing, we were finishing up a late dinner?? Security would call us for having a towel lying on the table on our porch?? Food was horrible and overpriced, WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank htibs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our flight landed just after noon so we were a bit early for our reservation of 2 weeks. (Nov. - Dec. 2011). The folks at the front desk were so very accommodating.... they set us up in a better suite right away than we had booked at no extra charge!
The room was next to the beautiful gardens on the 2nd floor overlooking the massive calabash tree and was fully stocked and very comfortable. A/C worked very well and the housekeeping staff were friendly and did a very good job of keeping this clean and tidy..
The pools and hot tubs were awesome...clean and just the right temp. (as it averaged 84 degrees every day we were on the fantastic Island of Tobago) so the water was very welcome. We took a wonderful trip through town with Alvira who showed us where she lives and ...the little pink house she hopes to have one day! I knocked another one off of my bucket list by engaging "BIG DOUGGIE" and his staff at the dive shop to take me through my deep water scuba certification. These guys are amazing! i would recommend them to anyone.... we dove numerous times with folks from Finland and the UK and made many, many friends! Pauline is a lovely Jamaican lady who runs the restaurant and although a bit pricey, the food is amazing and Pauline is a charm.... what a wonderful person and friend!
Nightly entertainment was great and by the end of week 1, we had a dinner party in our suite for 10 including friends we had made at the resort and a couple of local chaps. Dillon is an artist that you MUST get to meet.... paintings he did for us have a place of honour in our home. The second week, we booked the sea-side villa - too big for the 2 of us but what a place! The sea literally washes up under your bedroom and you step out of your front door onto the sand.... it doesn't get any better than this!
We went on may tours and Alvira even took me shopping for a new camera on her way home one day.... shopping is easy.... the place is very safe. We met a couple of great guys from the states who took us around the island in their rented jeep...takes a bit of getting used to driving on the LHS of the road but a super adventure all in all!
If you are looking for 5 star, high-end US style resort life with diamond everything and tons of night life.... don't go to Tobago at all...never mind the Beach Club. However, if you want totally unwind in a non-touristy place where the people's smiles and hearts are as warm as the sunshine.... then this is the place for you. We are booking again this coming year at the same time.....We can't wait!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are best - near the gardens or on the back side of the property. The Villa is by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyandJo-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

My family of six stayed at SPBC , firstly the rooms were too small and of a poor standard . The bathroom shower leaked and caused the entire bathroom to get wet after showering . In the small dining room a dining room table was provided to sit six and no living room seating provided. An improvement in customer service is drastically required also there is a fee for Internet access.Talking loud or playing music is not allowed by security .The beach club facilities however is well kept and the kitchen is well stocked with all utensils that one may need to use.Front desk personel mainly lacked in customer service skill and I will not be staying here again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

AWFUL customer service, worst in Tobago by far.

Among others here are some issues with Sandy Point Beach Club:

The air-conditioning was broken, the room was poorly maintained, the security were jobsworth, the TV was broken, the food was poor and over priced, nothing is complementary, the shower was broken, The list really does goes on.

The one redeeming factor of the hotel is it's close proximity to the airport and the views at sunset from the jetty.

Do not come here expecting pleasant beaches and water you can swim in. Steer clear of this 'resort'.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.1 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandy Point Village
Sandy Point Village
#14 of 20 in Crown Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Point Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Point Beach Club

Property: Sandy Point Beach Club
Address: Crown Point, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Point Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Sandy Point Beach Club Hotel Crown Point
Sandy Point Beach Club Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing