We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Point Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Chaguanas, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT STAY”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Sandy point beach club....the only issue we had i that the rooms are in need of upgrade wih new linens and new cupboards...Although the pool is nice it also needs to be recoated....All and all it is stil the best hotel in Tobago in terms of Value for Money.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kheronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    94
    31
    19
    17
See reviews for
73
68
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I emailed the resort in June inquiring about vacancies for July / August and they responded within 2 days. The cost was just over $100 USD per night for the room, which could hold up to 4 persons, we are a family of three so this was good enough for us. We were offered a studio, I did ask for a one bedroom but all that was available was the studio so I took it. All reservation confirmations were done via email. This was easy enough.
The resort can arrange transport from Crown Point International Airport at a cost of $10 TTD per person, we paid $40 TT from the airport with an airport taxi. It's a 2 minute drive, a 10 minute walk but we had luggage and a 5 year old so we opted for the taxi. The resort was built in the seventies and still has that old charm. I didn't mind at all, we weren't paying for 5 star.
When we arrived, we presented our confirmation letter, and we were given two room keys, a lock box key, three beach towels, and someone helped us to our room which was clean, cool and very comfortable. All necessary kitchen items were available, and there was a full sized murphy bed, two twin beds and trundle bed under one of the twin beds... 4 beds in all. There is a mini mart on site, and others within walking distance. A small on site cafe can provide lunch, and a steakhouse restaurant next door has the best burgers I have tasted in a long time, big sized meaty and tasty, served with fries and much better priced than local Burger king or McDonalds which tastes like crap. This restaurant had great food for dinner too, and the prices were pretty decent for seafood and steak.
We used the free shuttle for Store Bay and Pigeon Point, easy, convenient and on time.
Tobagonians are just not as warm and fuzzy as other tourist economy islands, they aren't mean or anything, it's just the way they are. That being said, everyone was helpful, pleasant, respectful and really accommodating, our son wet the bed twice (too tired from swimming to get up in the night I guess) and they just took care of the sheets no problem.
There were activities during the day for the kids, craft making, story time, baking... gives a mom a break for an hour or two. There is a small tennis/basket ball court. Other activities, some just for adults, free rum punch on some evenings, karaoke, kayaking race, a walk to nearby Robinson Crusoe caves.. all of this included with your stay at the hotel. You could opt for a sitter and pay for this service. The bar at the club house also has cocktails etc at really good prices. A large flat screen TV at the Club house bar provided excellent viewing of the World Cup Soccer Finals. There is also a pool table and table tennis at the Club house.
Tokens are for sale $5TT each, to be used with a washer and a dryer if you have laundry, or the hotel will do it for you for a nominal price. Beach towels can be exchanged as necessary, bath towels, hand towels etc can be changed as necessary, house keeping will make your beds and clean the floors, bathroom, but you need to tidy up and do the dishes. It's ok to tip, they appreciate it.
Complimentary items available on site, footballs, fishing rods, beach toys, floats... there is a small library with 2 computers, you pay for internet access. We opted to have none for the week. The play ground has an innovative see saw, play house, places to climb, swings and a nicely sized lawn for football etc. The sauna, and 3 hot tubs were all very relaxing.
This is a self catering resort, it's not a full fledged hotel, it's meant to be used as a time share for time share owners. The place is old but well maintained, the pool is small but big enough for a small kid, and there was a baby pool. The beach is very beautiful especially at sun set. We were advised not to bathe there and we didn't as there were very rough waters. Easy to catch the free shuttle to Pigeon Point where the water never gets higher than mid thigh and is as calm as a pool. There was security on site and I felt pretty safe, my son ran around on his own.
We had a great week, my son didn't want to go home and neither did I. I am hoping to spend another week before the end of the year.

Room Tip: Ground floor away from the pool, 103 - 107 are good choices. These are near enough to the pool, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TT_Momma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Went here with my family for a week vacation with 3 adults and four children ages 12, 9, 7 and 7 months. The space in the apartment was sufficient for everyone and the unit came with every convenience needed to make our stay very comfortable (washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, baby crib etc.). There were 2 television with cable but wifi came at an extra cost and was only available at certain hotspot locations.
There were so many activities to choose to do at the resort or from the activity list that you did not need to plan separate for anything else. There were complimentary shuttles to and from three beaches everyday. Every night at the resort there were activities such as bingo, limbo dancing, karaoke, traditional calypso singing etc. During the day the options were use of the pool or 3 hot tubs, fishing off the jetty, games available from the club, playground for the children, gym, far away hut with use of hammocks or (for an extra cost) sea / land tours, and scuba dives. The drivers of the shuttles were all very friendly and helpful. Elvira the activities coordinator was great with the children keeping them engaged and entertained.
There is an onsite restaurant and club house so you can order food if you don't feel like cooking. This place was very serene with the only interruption being the airplanes coming in which was more amusing than disturbing. I would definitely recommend this for a family vacation as there were many other families staying at the resort and this helped for great socialization or the apartments are perfect for just staying in and relaxing away from everything.
My advice is to ask about the rentals. There are many things that can be rented but there is no list. The beach is a short walk away but it is better to use the shuttles. There is an onsite groceries which is very convenient if you choose to make your own meals. The customer service is excellent and they will assist in making your stay comfortable.
This was my third stay at this resort and I must say it was the best. There are vast improvements overall in service, the physical buildings, appliances, equipment and items. Improvements need to be done with the WIFI service and check in times. (We waited for approximately 35mins for the room to be ready) . Great stay.

Room Tip: Units are assigned based on occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmy7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I visit Tobago at least once per year. I have stayed at many other places on the island before and decided to try this hotel as an RCI exchange on time share that I own.

This resort is condo/apartment styled. It comprises of majestic white units with red roofs. The grounds comprise a pool, together with a kiddies pool, and several hot tubs. It is beach front and there is a gorgeous jetty on the property. The view of the sea on this property is breath taking. There are daily shuttles to the better beaches of pigeon point and store bay. The hotel is activity based which was very good for my children. They were able to borrow fishing lines to fish on the jetty and get hammocks (swinging cloth beds) to tie unto coconut trees to relax in the afternoon. There is a dive shop located on the premises with very friendly staff. There are also board games and books you can borrow to read. There is also a free computer room.

We must commend the Manager Wesley who was very polite and friendly and was always around the resort making sure the guests needs were attended to. We felt like the staff at this hotel treated us as if we were very important.

The only area of criticism I can point out is as it relates to the mini mart. The opening and closing hours are very inconsistent and you are better off taking the free shuttle to store bay to stock up on items at Jimmy's Grocer which is close by. The bar and restaurant can also do with some improvements but at this time share you can cook your own meals and use barbeque pits
outside. Also, try the local food nearby at store bay or around the general area, it is quite delicious. I will recommend cafe coco and sylvie's food hut on store bay beach.

We thank the Manager and his staff for making our experience truly enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ElianaRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We just spent two weeks at this resort, the only timeshare in Tobago. We had a wonderful time which was mostly due to the staff: kind, gracious, helpful and lovely people. The resort is a bit older and needs some updating, which was taking place when we were there (it did not interfere with our stay at all). The new manager Wesley (who had been there only three weeks) had the employees updating the towels, rooms, pool area, deck and eating area, etc. In two weeks the improvements were very evident and I’m sure the next time we go it will be even more updated. The units were roomy, comfortable and had everything we needed. The activities were fun and the location was perfect for seeing the sites of Tobago. We love to walk a lot, which we were able to do to get to many restaurants, beaches, etc. And they have a shuttle to beaches further away. Story Bay Beach, less than a 10-minute walk away, had the best swimming if you like to do laps. We are scuba divers and did 10 dives with their onsite, independently owned dive shop, Frontier Divers. We had a wonderful time diving with Alvin (big Dougie!), Kim and Kyle. See my separate review on Frontier Divers. Also, don't be afraid that it's right next to the airport. It was not a problem. Most of the planes are propeller, so not too loud, and they are infrequent. Yes, it’s an older, more laid-back resort, but that’s exactly what we wanted and got, and the people especially made our stay a very enjoyable one. We’ll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Walking distance from the airport and store bay beach. ..great customer service. ..fully stocked kitchen. ..entertainment at night was superb. Only negative comment is that the bath towels need a serious upgrade. It's not sanitary for guests to keep using towels that are clearly torn and shredded...In other words aged. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simzaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We found this resort to be really charming. The staff were there to great us at the airport, which was really nice after a long day of travel. They serve you a welcome rum punch while you check in and carry your bags right to your room. They offer great daily and nightly activities. Don't miss the rum punch nights. We were diving while there which was extremely convenient to have the dive site right on property. Big Dougie and Kyle were the best. Big Dougie did a quick refresher dive with us since it had been over 3 years and my boyfriend was just recently certified. He made us feel confident under the water in no time again.
The resort has a great pool and several hot tubs, awesome fishing right off shore, the most amazing sunsets, a great little bar right next to the beach and pool and a quaint little cafe right on property.
The property is the oldest on the Island, although kept up great. Our room was very large 2 story that was clean, with hot showers and great amenities. We were able to cook in the room or have the staff light the grills around the property nightly for us.You could walk to town and back easiy.
They arranged for a rental car to tour the island. Although the first jeep was a bit rough, the second vehicle was brand new and much more comfortable. I highly encourage driving the island, especially Charlottesville at the end, quaint fishing village not to be missed.
Loved every minute of our stay here. Kudos to the staff and the friendly island people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondyblue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.1 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandy Point Village
Sandy Point Village
#15 of 20 in Crown Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
4.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Kariwak Village Holistic Haven and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Point Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Point Beach Club

Property: Sandy Point Beach Club
Address: Crown Point, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Point Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandy Point Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Point Beach Club Hotel Crown Point
Sandy Point Beach Club Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing