We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 2 week visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Just come back from a wonderful Tobago visit and stayed at the Tropikist (2nd visit). There have been some improvements since our last visit and we found the food very good, the rooms spacious and clean but the best part were the very friendly staff, who felt like old friends by the time we left. This is not a 5 star hotel but then the price reflects that so don't expect it to be perfect. For the money, it offers excellent value in a convenient location near the airport (occasional noise but the waves are usually louder!). The bar is a little under stocked but we understand that changes are planned for this along with several other improvements. Rome wasn't built in a day! Hope to go back again next year. N.B. Had to rate Fitness Centre and Room Service but there is no fitness centre and we did not have room service (not sure if they offer it). There didn't seem to be an option to say "n/a".

Room Tip: One block being refurbished after Easter so will be much improved
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
There are newer reviews for Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

My boyfriend and I went on a allinclusive get away for the weekend, the staff were very nice but, the resources they had to work with was terrible for instance the bar ran out of the drinks we were having, we couldnt even get a towel for the pool and we were there two years ago and returned and got the same room where the back door couldnt close etc... please take note of other countries and their allinclusive offers, the ambience was very nice, please look into these minor problems hope to return when improvements are made

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slackers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Was a bit worried about this hotel because of some negative feedback here but had a delightful stay. The place is a bit worn but not uncomfortable or dirty. It felt cleaner than finer hotels I've been to in Europe for example. The sheets and towels had some stains sometimes, which I would usually had found unpleasant, but everything felt clean nonetheless. The staff would always help if something was up (which there mostly wasn't). I would never mind coming back, I heard no one of the other guests complaining. There was mostly laughter and smiles. Wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

just returned to uk after a great time again at tropikist.second time there,room was upgraded on arrival and while it was getting ready we had two complimentary drinks and lunch,special thanks to gary for his friendliness and great cocktails will return soon

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Spent 2 nights at this hotel in January 2014... let me tell you, the pool is the only decent thing about this place. The rooms are in dire need of upgrading, they were clean yes, ..but they are quite beaten. The fittings are damaged, mirrors rusty, televisions out dated, and bed sheets worn. I even wondered if my sheets were washed, they were dingy and seemed to be sprayed with febreeze for a fresh scent. Wireless only available in the lobby... are u people kidding.. this is 2014, guests cannot be inconvenienced like this... utter rubbish.. wireless interned shoul;d be available in every room and not just the small lobby.... come one Tropikist... get it together.... did i mention that the food at dinner was HORRID.... nuff said..........

Room Tip: choose elsewhere...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vlogger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Hi we have just returned from a lovely week at the Tropikist. No frills accommodation, but what really shines through is how friendly and helpful the staff are. Especially Cleve the maintenance guy who lent us his own mobile phone charger when ours malfunctioned.
We were even given a late checkout for free on our last day.
Would definately return and highly recommend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel is so close to the airport I could have rolled my suitcases over from the arrivals hall :) I was disappointed to find there was no accessible beach. The strong current meant the patch of sand was not safe enough ever for swimming or lounging. However there is a small beach 15 mins away called Store Bay. Not my cuppa as it's tiny, crowded and with loads of local hawkers. The pool is a lot smaller than the photos but it's good enough for a dip and it does have a swim up bar. Wifi was only available at the reception and the tv remote did not work. The rooms were large but the floors felt sticky. Call me picky but the waves crashed just a little too loud for a good night's sleep. Great sea view though if you happen to stay in ocean front rooms. The food and service at the hotel was mediocre but you can walk out to the local shops and restaurants which are about 20 mins away. It's an ok hotel for an ok price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scldn2hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
8.2 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
249 reviews
4.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.4 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
5.3 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
5.2 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort

Address: Crown Point, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range: £97 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medium grade hotel facing Store Bay at Crown Point close to the airport and local restaurants. 54 bedrooms - large with twin or king size beds, patio or balcony, cable TV, air-con, mini fridge, en-suite bathroom. Superior and deluxe rooms larger with guaranteed sea views. Bayside restaurant for breakfast, Sunset Bar & Grill for lunches and dinner. Set in tropical gardens with 2 pools, open air jacuzzi overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropikist Beach Hotel Crown Point
Tropikist Beach Hotel And Resort
Hotel Tropikist Beach
Tropikist Hotel Tobago
Tropikist Beach Hotel Tobago
Tropikist Tobago
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing