We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy, but exactly what you need”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crown Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Johnston Apartments
Ranked #4 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have stayed at Johnston Apartments 2 New Years in a row, and am returning this New Years and I can't wait! The apartments are not fancy by any means, but they serve their purpose and have everything you would need.
The location is excellent. It's literally a 5 minute walk from the airport, and the grounds are located right on Store Bay beach. You can walk to the beach, many restaurants and stores easily.
The apartments themselves come with everything you need to cook in the kitchen, a bedroom with 2 beds (I think 2 double beds but could be 1 double and 1 single) as well as 2 single beds in the living room. There is also a balcony/patio with a table if you want to eat or enjoy a morning coffee outside. Housekeeping service is also included 1x a day, which is great.
Each apartment also has air conditioning, which is welcome after spending the day on the beach!
I would recommend Johnston's to anyone looking for a great trip for a reasonable price. It is worth every penny!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

A group of us stayed there from October 10th-13th and all I have to say that this is one of the best places that I've ever stayed in Tobago. The apartments are stocked with everything that you need to cook, they are cosy, clean and very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and willing to help with anything you need. Added to which their housekeeping service is very efficient and the hotel compound is very well kept. It is literally on store bay, you can either walk out through the main entrance or walk through the back gate directly on to the beach. Its also very short walk from the airport and from other shops as well as night life so unless you plan to go exploring the entire island you need not rent a car. My only issue (which isn't too much of an issue) is that they don't have their own pool. They share the pool and restaurant/bar facilities with Crown Point Beach Hotel. Overall is absolutely worth the price and I don't think I'd want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for any of the rooms from 37-44, the view of Store Bay is awesome from these rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blessednelly16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at Johnston Apartments on our first week of 3 week trip to Tobago. We had a very nice time at this place. Its a pretty big place. Its all individual cabana style apartments. So you do get privacy and lots of place to walk around with kids. They have tennis courts, basket ball courts and beautiful view of Store bay. Its very close to market place, eateries, and got a nice cozy beach. It is linked to crown point hotel and you can share amenities with them. The other hotel has a swimming pool and a pool bar to share with you.

We liked the service we received and would recommend to stay here. It is very close to airport. (literally 100m) so dont waste money on cab. Just walk to it by crossing the field.

Room Tip: Try to get one close to the beach and center and detached cabana of johnston apartments. You get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CanadianEngineer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Very nice location, very clean esp for those traveling with kids and friendly staff . I had the garden view which was very private and less noisy than the ocean view and the grounds were beautiful. However the rooms were a bit basic and the couch was old and worn. The ceiling tiles were a bit stained and out of place. Rooms needed a bit of upgrading . if you request a crib expect a play yard and walk with you own crib sheet.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sophia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My family have been going twice a year to this hotel for last several years.
the rates are very good for size of apartment that you get, you get a bedroom with a double bed and a single bed. two bunk bed also located in the living room.
this hotel is very popular and is always booked out especially the holidays, where it is booked out in a year in advance.
the location of the hotel is most convenient, as everything that is needed such as shops, restaurants and supermarket is within walking distances.
the airport you can walk to in 5 minutes!
the grounds are the best part of this trip, you can sit on any of the benches dotted along the coast line, the grounds are one of the best maintained that I have seen and there is 24 hours security.
there are steps that leads you straight down to one of the best beaches in Tobago.
there is also within 20 minutes walking a breakfast place called house of pancakes which has the best pancakes I have ever tasted especially with nutmeg syrup.
this hotel is must for my family when staying in Tobago

Room Tip: sea view apartments are the best,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank verali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed at this guest apartments a few times during the last four years. Ideal location for the beach and local restaurants. Apartment basic but reliable with the bonus use of Crown Point hotel grounds and facility. Excellent for family accommodations with the kids loving the use of the beach and pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Excellent location. Basic, serviceable, self catering amenities for budget hotel. After the first night realised that the bed linen was badly stained, smelled and obviously not changed from previous tenant. Bath mats were grubby looking. No clean smell in bathrooms. All the pillows were considerably stained. The manager corrected the problem, although not for pillows and no apology was offered. On checking out after a second night, the manager insisted that there was no way dirty sheets could have been left on bed. The owner of the property offered a free night another time and would investigate further. Definitely not taking advantage of that offer. I was nauseated by the whole experience.

Room Tip: Take your own pillows, bed linens and towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sailing W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
5 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bananaquit Apartments
Bananaquit Apartments
#6 of 14 in Crown Point
158 reviews
4.4 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnston Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnston Apartments

Address: Store Bay, Crown Point, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 27 spacious one-bedroom apartments that can accommodate 1 to 5 persons and a three-bedroom apartment that can accommodate up to 10 persons comfortably. All rooms have a double and single bed and cribs are available upon request. Our apartments are fully air-conditioned with a kitchenette (stove/oven, refrigerator, toaster and microwave), hot and cold water, cable television, private balcony, daily cleaning service and complimentary Wi-Fi access. We are located right on one of the most beautiful beaches in Tobago - Store Bay - and our guests have access to facilities provided by the Crown Point Beach Hotel which include a swimming pool, restaurant and bar, conference room and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Johnston Apartments Hotel Crown Point
Johnston Apartments Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing