We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,627)
Filter reviews
1,627 results
Traveller rating
682
494
263
118
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
682
494
263
118
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beacheric fenietbeach restaurantfishmain restaurantman made lagoonsafe swimmingdress codewelcome drinkthe general managerpalm treesbeach servicefabulous holidaybit datedsea vieweach eveningplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
738 - 743 of 1,627 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

this is a really great place as a local resident I got a very good rate for the weekend on arrival we were greeted with a health drink and relaxed in the foyer until our room was ready ,The staff was very helpful ,breakfast and lunch was very good wide variety the next day we relaxed on the beach and you only had to think about what u wanted and the beach staff will arrive with it right on the beach front the grill chef tested my taste buds with many Caribbean flavours it was exciting.the location is very good right next to the airport 10minute walk .this is my third trip to this hotel so far and will go back soon

Room Tip: it is not possible to choose a bad room
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have just returned from the coco reef with our 2 girls aged 6 and 8 yrs, we had one of our most chilled holidays ever. Tobago is a very laided back & friendly island where everyone says hello. Coco reef itself epitomises this ethos. She is an old Caribbean lady of a hotel were you still wear trousers for dinner, my husband was reluctant but he forgot his misgivings when he tasted the excellent food. The staff all work as a team & give a very personal service where nothing is too much trouble. They learned our girls names and made them feel very special.

The highlight of our week was the round the island tour with Steven from the hotel. He does personal day tours for 150 US dollars & is worth every penny. His enthusiasm for the hotel and his island are infectious. He made sure he had snacks for the girls, drinks and even surprised them with ice cream, & us with lovely flavoured shandy! His driving was very safe & he dropped us at Jemma's for lunch for local food with a great view(extra). Nothing was too much trouble & the water fall was great.

The hotel itself is on a stunning beach & within walking distance of crown point for boats to bucco reef & nylon pool (the boat Miss jo did a good trip) and also pigeon point. We choose all inclusive & were not disappointed. All restaurants & cafe coco had great service & food quality. The rooms themselves are what you see in the photos. In need of a refresh but very clean with old fashioned Kane furnishings. Our room didn't smell and was cleaned sometimes twice a day with refreshed towels as we needed. Our girls loved the pool & we found it clean.
Cocos strengths are its position, beach, food, atmosphere and its staff. If you don't need a pristine room you will have found one of the most relaxing hotels in the Caribbean. We will hopefully be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HelenS36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just returned from the wonderful Coco Reef. Our 6th stay at this wonderful hotel and the third year running.

The hotel is located within a 2 min drive from the airport. No stress with a lengthy transfer

Eric and all the staff as usual went out of their way to make our stay extra special again.

All the staff are friendly and polite and we cannot fault them in any way. Great food, and the cocktails were amazing. If you want a totally relaxing chilled out holiday, then the Coco Reef is the place to go.

You don't even have to leave your sun bed to get a drink, with Trevor and Nichola working hard on the beach everyday bringing water, drinks and fruit.

Too many staff to name personally but special thanks to Patrice, both Alicia's Kerlon, Erlin, Tricia, Melissa Angela and of course Trevor and Nichola, Gary and not forgetting Eric for making a wonderful holiday.

We met lots of friends, some who like us were Coco Repeaters.

Can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deeb912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just returned from lovely Tobago staying at the Coco Reef, and I have to say the customer service from Eric and his team is second to none, nothing was too much trouble from the moment we checked in. The hotel is in a fantastic location, if you want a totally relaxing holiday then I can't recommend this enough, we booked bed and breakfast and for us it was the right choice as there are places to eat not too far away, the hotel even has it's own cafe just up the road, the meals there are amazing, however all inclusive is great value if you want plenty to eat & drink (we did eat in one night) the meal was first class and the cocktails are simply amazing.
Thank you to all at the Coco Reef for making our holiday simply wonderful, we will be back.
Dave & Kylie

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We returned just over a week ago from the Coco Reef. Having travelled extensively in the Caribbean, Far East, America, Canada & Europe I can honestly say I have never experienced such warmth and genuine helpfulness from hotel staff. The hotel is set in beautiful lush gardens. It is old colonial in style and in the rooms are in typical Caribbean decor of pastel peach, wall stencils and floral curtains & bed spreads. The bathrooms are I would say of 3 star standard and could do with a bit of tlc. Don't expect 5 star luxury here, you will be disappointed, the hotel is could do with a bit of an update, but you know that adds to its charm. If you want comfortable, spacious rooms, breathtaking views, a wonderful beach and the most attentive staff you could ever hope to experience, Coco Reef is for you. 5 minutes (literally - you could easily walk it) from the airport, we were there in the rainy season for the first week in October. We experienced 2 short sharp showers which were gone within 30 mins and it was scorching hot again. The room next to ours had an broken fan in the aircon unit one evening and it was really noisy. We reported it and within 30 mins it was sorted. The next day we were amazed to get back to our room to find a box of chocolates with a note offering us a free dinner in the Tamaras restaurant as an apology. Stunned!! We hadn't complained, just let them know we could hear a noise next door and thought they should know in case there was a problem. Now that is service over and above the norm. Eric Feniet, the Manager, really knows how to deliver and that is evident from the way his team work and as long as you are respectful to the staff, they will more than reciprocate and will far exceed your expectations. We did witness some Trinidadian guests being surly and treating the staff with disdain and disrespect and just could not comprehend why. They are truly amazing, from housekeeping, to the bell boys, the gardeners, the reception staff to the waiting staff. Top notch, cannot praise them enough. We went on a B & B package. I'm glad we chose that option. There was no way we could have taken advantage of more than breakfast and an evening meal. This is a cashless hotel in that absolutely everything is charged to your room, so you don't need to take money down on to the beach with you. We were given a cocktail on arrival and every day offered fresh fruit sticks, bottled water and smoothies on the beach. None of this was charged to our room, it is just part of the service. I cannot understand the comments re it not having wi-fi. There is an air conditioned room for guests to use with free wi-fi just next to reception and we. along with a number of others used it. We also used the pool a couple of times anmd saw it being cleaned regularly so again cannot understand the comments elsewhere on other reviews re it being dirty. That was certainly not our experience. We ate in the Tamaras restaurant twice. Presentation of the food was superb, but it is in nouvelle cuisine style so portions are small and often just fish or meat served without vegetables. On other evenings we ventured out and ate locally. The hotel owns another restuaurant called Cafe Coco just 5 mins walk away and we ate there a few times. The service and food was superb. We did a tour of the island - absolutely recommended and also went to Sunday School, (found the latter very disappointing). We also did a trip to the Coral Reef and the Nylon Pool - these are a must. Nothing else, just did not want to leave this wonderful hotel really. If you want a truly relaxing beach holiday, where you can chill out, be treated like royalty and feel genuinely rested afterwards, then go. We got home and within 24 hours we booked to go back next year. Cannot wait!!

Room Tip: Room 220 overlooks the pool, the gardens and has a sea view too so you get the best of all views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HEFTIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews