We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,627)
Filter reviews
1,627 results
Traveller rating
682
494
263
118
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
682
494
263
118
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beacheric fenietbeach restaurantfishmain restaurantman made lagoonsafe swimmingdress codewelcome drinkthe general managerpalm treesbeach servicefabulous holidaybit datedsea vieweach eveningplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
731 - 736 of 1,627 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I decided to take the family on a short vacation, and on reviewing the available hotels in Tobago, I decided on Coco Reef.

Pros:

1. Staff was very helpful
2. Buffet breakfast was decent
3. Enclosed beach was fantastic

Cons:

1. Front desk staff was not aware of how to use a Point of Sale machine.
2. The garden view room was very moist and moldy, with no cell or data signals
3. Roaches in room!
4. Got a change of room due to the roaches... it was definitely better, but the Air condition was loud while it was off.
5. No WiFi in the rooms, only in the lobby at a cost; There is an internet room, with only 1 computer working
6. Pool has some loose floor tiles, slightly moss on the surface as well.
7. More than 50% of the Cable tv channels in the room were not working due to poor signals

All in all it was very disappointing and I will not be returning.

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms on second floor only
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nazzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here in March 2013 over the Palm Sunday and Easter Sunday weekends, travelling with Virgin Atlantic. We liked the fact that we were only 5 minutes from the airport yet untroubled by the airport activity. We felt safe to go out on foot to the local supermarkets , something we had not felt able to do in Jamaica the year before. We took a private taxi trip around the island which was well worth it, as we could visit places we particularly wanted to see (historical sites and forts for instance) as well as the beautiful forested areas. It was the goat race weekend so great holiday atmosphere. The Anglican church in Scarborough was very welcoming with Canon Forester taking the services. The Coco Reef breakfast overlooking the ocean was excellent. We had a quiet first floor garden view room which we liked. The TVs in our room were old fashioned (not flat screens) which made the room look dated, but the service from the staff more than made up for that. The evening entertainment was limited but it was easy for those who wanted, to go out for more night life, The sheltered bathing in the artificial reef was excellent, with tropical fish to watch. We had the all inclusive option and particularly enjoyed lunchtimes at the beachside restaurant under the shade of an umbrella with plenty of choice of food. There were plenty of beach beds and umbrellas . This is an ideal spot for a quiet get away on a beautiful island with the shortest transfer time from airport to hotel we have ever had on any of our Caribbean holidays!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were staying on Tobago for a month in September 2010 and had rented a house at Bloody Bay in the north of the island as our holiday location. As it was our 32nd wedding anniversary, while we were on the island, as a surprise break to celebrate our anniversary I booked into Coco Reef hotel. I specifically booked a "Sea View" room, but on arrival was allocated a noisy and dark poolside room. OK, they had decorated the bed with flower petals in the shape of a heart, but it was not the type of room I had booked. I immediately complained at reception and was given key to an alternative room, which again was NOT sea view and was in a worse location than first room. Back to reception and on this occasion I was given the keys to 3 rooms and told to pick whichever one I wanted, so we did end up with a lovely room with splendid sea view.
As always, locked valuables and cash in room safe on arrival in room. Later on, opened safe to take out camera to take pictures of sunset. Most expensive sunset ever, as I forgot to lock the safe and while we were out of room for dinner, we had an uninvited visitor, who stole all cash from safe, about $1,500. Fortunately the thief did not take passports or credit cards, which were also in the safe, just the cash. As security is reasonably tight within the hotel the thief must have been a hotel employee. Reported theft to hotel management and that was a complete waste of time, particularly as had to go to local police station and make a statement to an extremely disinterested and overweight policewoman, who did not even use proper stationary to take statement, just used a random piece of scrap paper.
This incident really took the shine of our stay at Coco Reef hotel, which as others have observed, we noticed was looking tired and in need of refurbishment. The wooden decking floor of the outside lunch buffet restaurant was certainly in a poor state of repair, with loose and splintered boards. In 40 years of worldwide traveling this is the first time I have ever had anything stolen from my accommodation, be it a hotel room, apartment, or villa/chalet.
Tobago is 30 to 40 years behind the times and certainly an interesting experience, but on the whole not particularly good value for money.
N.B. It was September 2010, when we were on Tobago not September 2013, but Tripadvisor website will not allow me to select correct month or leave it blank.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a marvellous view of sunsets are quieter than pool side rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scarypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Friendly, comfortable and very good value. Tobago is very low key, so if it's a beach holiday you are after for a relaxing break this is as good as it gets.
I wouldn't hesitate to return. The dive centre staff are fabulous knowledgeable, passionate and fun

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RLT1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was our third visit to Coco Reef, we last visited 6 years ago. Nothing had changed, the food, beach & service was excellent as we had remembered.

The hotels location is one of the best we have experienced with the private beach and sea being shallow and safe to swim in for all abilities.

The hotel is now approaching 20 years old and it's age is starting to show, it would benefit from new furniture, bedding & bathroom suites to bring it back to its former glory. The hotel is always very clean!

If you want to come to tobago for a great location, good food, safe beach for kids with a house reef filled with tropical fish. This is the place for you. If a modern room and Internet access is more important then I would recommend the magdelana grand.

Looking forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the pool are best, with a sea view, quiet and not too far away from the centre of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Athena270279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews