We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco Reef Tobago
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I visited coco reef with my husband and 14month old toddler to celebrate our anniversary. I was expecting a very updated and perfect hotel since the price was TT$1,785 per night for ocean view which only included breakfast. The rooms are dated and definitely needs updating especially the tiles! We had a balcony but never used it because it was always wet, the roof over it had big spaces so dew and rain kept it wet.
The included breakfast was buffet style which was good, lots of options. Eggs and omelettes cooked to order, wide selection of fruits included watermelon, papaya, pineapple, apples, bananas. There was also yogurt, cereals, breads, bake, cheeses, ham and pork sausages, potatoes.
The pool was very small and dirty.... I never saw anyone use it. However they have a protected private beach so no waves and crystal clear waters.
Overall I liked the hotel but it is too expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms don't matter since there are just 2 floors. But it isn't worth it to pay extra for oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandi3922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    453
    248
    113
    61
See reviews for
338
741
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We were told that the Coco Reef Hotel was the best hotel on Tobago so many times while we were there and from what I saw of the alternatives, they could well have been right.

First impressions of the Coco Reef were fantastic being set well back from the road with a snaking drive and fantastic tropical gardens as you approach. You then enter an open air atrium that makes you feel very relaxed and privileged.

We had contacted Eric, the hotel manager, before we arrived as this was a special holiday for us being a month before my wife’s 50th birthday and only 5 months away from our 30th wedding anniversary. As a result we were upgraded from a garden view room to a junior suite! We were taken up to our room (no 212) and were delighted to find a plaque by the door specially painted for us saying ‘Turner Suite’. What a lovely touch. We also had a complimentary bottle of wine and a fruit basket!

Being a corner room, the balcony was a bit smaller but we had a palatial room with a separate lounge area. The view was over the small pool and through the palm trees to the beach. We had a huge bathroom with two sinks and a low bath with a shower over it.

As we were staying on a B&B basis, we ate in the hotel on the first night. We had one course each, mine a main course only at 129 TT$ (Trinidad & Tobago Dollars). My wife had a starter at 58TT$ as she only wanted a salad. I had a beer for 30TT$. She had a big glass of wine for 38TT$. A bit pricey for us maybe but we were too tired to find an alternative.

We had a VERY well-priced package with Golden Holidays but the upgrade to all-inclusive was nearly 60% more, which we just couldn’t justify spending.

After a superb night’s sleep on the huge and incredibly comfy bed and we were ready to explore!

Breakfast was fab: lots of choice and plenty of it. Staff could have been a bit more cheerful but they weren’t grumpy, just busy. Omelette’s cooked to order, pork sausages and crispy bacon plus fresh fruit and yogurt were all nice but the smoked haddock mixture and eggy breads weren’t.

Probably the biggest advantage that the Coco Reef has over its competitors is the breakwater protecting the beach. Outside it was quite rough but inside it was calm and serene. Some good surf was pounding the nearby beach but it was flat calm on ours. We had plenty of choice of loungers and umbrellas as the end of November isn’t peak time being the tail end of the rainy season but I don’t think you’d have trouble finding loungers even if the hotel was packed. The pool was small and rarely used but that’s because the beach was really good. A sunset swim most nights was something we looked forward to!

Staff brought round non-alcoholic cocktails every morning irrespective of whether you were all-in or not. Inclusive guests had interesting smelling lunchtime barbeques and alcoholic drinks too.

We went to the Managers reception on Monday night and had an interesting chat with Eric the manager and his senior crew. Eric said we could take our personalised room plaque home with us. “Everyone does” he said. The next day we were sent a box of chocolates with his compliments! Thanks Eric.

Excursions:

We booked an ‘alternative’ island tour with Ellis Tours after meeting Ellis near Pidgeon Point. We were the only passengers in Ellis’s 30 year old long wheel base landrover driven by Michael, our guide. He took us on quite an adventure including some serious off-road tracks where we very nearly got stuck in the mud.

When given a choice of the ‘normal tourist restaurant’ or ‘something more local’, I think we chose the wrong one. Michael’s lunchtime allowance was meant to pay for lunch at Jemma’s Treehouse Restaurant at Speyside, which is supposed to be amazing. We ended up with a takeaway from someone in Michael’s own village that he probably knew or was even related to. It was tasty enough but maybe not as good as eating at Jemma’s would have been.

Now for the tricky bit: I’d been really interested in doing a rainforest walk and as we drove through the mountain nature reserve, Michael offered to take us through the forest to see the bird life but for a not-insignificant extra fee of 400TT$. We’d even brought wellies just in case! Returning just to do this would have cost an extra 800 to 1000TT$, so it was a no-brainer really (wasn’t it?). In the end Michael was in his element. His knowledge of the bird life was superb. We spent an hour and a half in the forest and saw Blue Backed Mannekin, Sabre Winged Humming Birds, Green Parrots and a Collared Trogon.

Last stop on the tour was Englishman’s Bay, an unspoiled palm-fringed sandy bay with only one shack café/shop. Idylic to look at but the sea was too rough to swim, so we didn’t stop very long.

Another tour we took with Ellis was to Sunday School in nearby Buccoo but it’s got nothing to do with church as it’s a weekly steel band concert! Street food was great and only 38TT$ each plus a beer & coke only 16TT$ but the highlight was the 20+ strong steel band who were still playing when we left at 11pm. Christmas carols played by a steel band in the heat of the Caribbean was surreal!

Both trips with Ellis Tours cost 1,200TT$ for both of us – that’s about £115 plus £38 for Michael’s ‘extra tour’, which I don’t begrudge in the slightest as he had three month old twins to support.

We walked up to Pidgeon Point on the Sunday but there no-one was taking the 30TT$ entrance fee. Someone said it was because last Sunday of the month was free. It took about half an hour to stroll there. We took a boat trip out to Buccoo Reef and Nylon Pool for 100TT$ each. The snorkelling on the reef was a bit tame but I did see a big green Honeycomb Cowfish. Swimming at Nylon Pool was great. Waist-deep, crystal-clear sea but miles from the shore.

Our last excursion was one we arranged ourselves via a taxi to the Eco Adventure Tropical Gardens & Nature Reserve at Plymouth. It was nowhere near as grand as it sounds but was only 30 TT$ admission and had the most amazing display of humming birds you could wish for. We had spotted a couple around the hotel but we were spoilt for choice here. I added a ‘Tobago Hummingbirds’ video to Vimeo if you want to see more. The taxi was 160TT$.

A few useful bits & pieces:

We had rain almost every day as this was the end of November and still rainy season. They were usually short sharp showers and passed quite quickly so taking an umbrella is a good idea. Borrow them from reception if you need one. Reception is where you get beach towels from as well. We had 28 to 30 degree temperatures, which is fine but the humidity is really high so you sweat profusely! Think tropical greenhouse!

There are plenty of mozzies to bite your ankles so bring anti-histamine cream and insect repellent to apply every evening. A citronella candle is a good idea for the balcony in the morning/evening too and keep the patio doors shut to keep the air conditioned cool air in and the mozzies out. There’s a pharmacy near the ATM/shop where you can buy repellant.

The people on Tobago are friendly. Walking in the street around the hotel may feel a bit edgy but I think it’s pretty safe. As in any social situation, if treat people with respect you get respect in return. Be friendly and you get friendliness in return! Everyone speaks good English and most will make eye contact and say hello.

The transfer from the airport took about 5 minutes. It’s close enough to walk and wheel suitcases but the heat and humidity would make that pretty uncomfortable. We did see two people doing that and it didn’t look like they were enjoying it much! You don’t need a transfer though. A taxi will do. I had wondered if we’d get aircraft noise being close to the airport but we didn’t as very few tour operators use Tobago.

We booked with Golden Holidays, who were great, and flew with Monarch. Their crew spent the whole week with us in the Coco Reef and they were fabulous. Legroom on the plane was OK, the food on-board was excellent and the films were a great way to pass the time as the flights are quite long.

There’s an ATM next to the hotel. Turn left out of the gate.

There are a couple of shops nearby. One to the left and one to the right. Both sell snacks, fruit juice, coke, beer, wine and spirits etc. The wine is all imported and very expensive so drink rum and juice instead. A bottle of rum is about 100TT$. The local beer is Stag or Carib (from the same brewery in Trinidad) It’s about 9TT$ for a small bottle or try the very strong variant of Guinness.

We found a couple of very good restaurants:

La Cantina is to the left immediately after leaving the hotel grounds. Pizzas are authentic and very big (50 -70TT$). Ask them to wrap leftovers for lunch the next day.

The drive-through lane between La Cantina and the ATM takes you to Coco Café, which is owned by the hotel but run completely separately (i.e. you can’t charge meals to your room). The setting is great and the meals considerably cheaper than in the hotel. Pizza’s (the bases were a bit scone-like rather than proper Italian) were 55 – 65TT$. Cocktails were 35TT$.

Opposite Coco Café is a bar called Curve (downstairs) and a Curry House (upstairs). We had a few drinks in the bar, which were good value and a lunchtime meal upstairs. The 30 TT$ Roti was great (a chapatti type wrap with yummy fillings) but whatever you do don’t be tempted by the crab and dumplings for 50TT$, which consisted of several tasteless gealatinous rice pancakes covered in a flavoursome but disgusting looking sauce topped with two halved land crabs that were impossible to break open….

By far the best restaurant was at the Karriwak Resort with a daily-set, fixed-price, four-course menu. We had tasty pigeon pea soup, a delicious grapefruit and cucumber salad, sesame coated fish and cake with ice cream to finish. Diana had a vegetarian bean and couscous alternative for her main course. My meal was 210TT$, the veggie option was 200TT$. A bottle of Pino Grigio was 195TT$. We went there on Wednesday, our last night, but I understand that Friday and Saturday nights are buffet nights with their own band playing. Looks like a good place to stay too but no beach.

Room Tip: If you're celebrating a special trip, let them know before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank turnertactics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanfernando trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My wife and one year old stayed for two nights at the resort. I was honestly expecting better for the price we paid since the hotel is a bit dated. However the staff at this hotel was fantastic, always smiling and willing to assist your needs. Breakfast was great, the pool looks like it's not cleaned to often but that doesn't matter because the private beach is the winner. If your looking for peace an quiet this is the place to be. I think if the hotel floors are tiled over it would make a big difference for now.I would like to return but for a better price.

Room Tip: "It doesn't really matter it's just two floors"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeromie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Arrived at 12:00 PM to be told that they only had a booking for 2 and as their were 3 in my party they would have to charge me an additional $100 (not sure whether this was Expedia's problem or the hotel's). The front desk then said "your room isn't quite ready, please have a seat and we'll call you in a few minutes". Well 2 hours and three visits to the front desk later I eventually managed to talk with a manager who was totally unwilling to accept any responsibility for the fact that her staff had welcomed us to the hotel by charging extra fees and then left us in total limbo for more than 2 hours.

Not a good start to what was meant to be a relaxing vacation at the beach.
As noted in the title of this review the Coco Reef is able to boast a truly beautiful setting. However the rooms are in serious need of refurbishment and are certainly not up to the prices that the establishment charges. Our room was damp and smelled somewhat musty. On the first evening, after returning from the beach, there was no hot water to shower with and the shower was barely a dribble! The towels provided are small, appear to have been purchased in the 1980's and probably would not even be given to prisoners in a maximum security prison. The food in the restaurant was very disappointing especially as the bill for three of us was more than $125 without wine!

All in all a rather disappointing experience I'm afraid. A few of my business associates in Trinidad had recommended the Magdalena Grand when they heard that I was going to be staying in Tobago. Unfortunately I had already made a reservation at Coco Reef - next time I will certainly be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texanscot99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon back in 2007 and this place was like our dream honeymoon it was so nice and hopefully one day we will be able to return the service was awesome and we liked how they have their own private beach the room was very nice and clean we had a view of the swimming pool we could actually hop over the balcony to get to the pool the food was great this place was just so relaxing and I reccomend this place to everybody

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashbabe716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

November 2013 saw us return to the beautiful Coco Reef Resort but this time we were not alone, family joined us and we could not have been more satisfied. We didn't think they could improve on our last visit but they did. The manager was as good as his word and we were given an upgraded room due to our air con issue in 2011. We had a wonderful suite overlooking the lagoon. The staff were so friendly and could not do enough for us, Nichola kept us topped up with drinks on the beach, Angela and Alicia made sure we didnt go hungry and Delsa was at hand in the evening for after dinner drinks. The restaurant staff were wonderful and the food was as good as any top restaurant on the West Coast of Barbados. The lagoon was perfect for us all especially with a family member that was not the best swimmer. During our tour of the island we called into the Newley opened Magdalena Beach Resort and were so happy that we chose to return to Coco Reef, you really can't beat it. A trip out with Peter on his speedboat Zoe is also a must what a beautiful way to see the island, the Nylon Pool mystified us all and the doughnuting in the boat was hilarious. Thanks to everyone that made our holiday one to remember and once again we'll be back

Room Tip: Ask for second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilledin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for the first time and loved it, we went b/b as we like to eat out of an evening.
The hotel its self in need of some tlc but nothing to ruin the holiday, we had room 203 noise for the air con unit outside woke me on the odd nyt but other than that slept well the food we had was good the odd lunch from the hotel beach bar,the beach was lovely my kind of sea not to ruff for a swim.We did a tour of the island with a taxi guy Rubin he took us out a few times,Sundy school was another trip we did with him food there fab music steel bands till 10pm then its loacls time to party we didnt stay as we heard it gets roudy as the nyt gose on.
Went to the coco cafe for a meal,tucan inn, and colures bar/ restrant good meals in all fish was fab.This was the best chill out holiday ive had in a while will go back but not for a while as we did all there was to do there. Big thanks to Nicola head of beach bar you kept us toped up with drinks and smiled every day. Evening entertainment not a lot to to some shows but nothing to stay in for most are in bed by 10am so go out and make use of the bars outside you meet lovely people.

Room Tip: 203 its on 1st floor view of pool and beach wasnt noisy at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GambianDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
7.9 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
248 reviews
4.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
4.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Property: Coco Reef Tobago
Address: Coconut Bay | Bon Accord Village, Crown Point, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite architecture and well manicured grounds warmly welcome you to the enchanting paradise that is Coco Reef Resort. Tranquil turquoise waters caress the white sands of our private beach with magnificent snorkeling just outside the breakwater. Enjoy kayaking, pedalos, diving, tennis, gym, in-house shopping, massages, manicures, pedicures and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing