We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Reef Tobago
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Certificate of Excellence
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at Coco Reef for 10 days over Christmas and had a fantastic time. The location is perfect and the lagoon makes swimming and snorkelling as safe as it can be for children. The trip out in the Cocomotion boat was a real highlight, so many beautiful fish and coral not to mention a turtle. We also had a day trip in a taxi around the island visiting the rainforest, Argyll waterfall, Jemma's treehouse and many beauty spots and places of interest. But most of all we loved our time at Coco Reef, being very well looked after by the friendly staff and enjoying the buffets and cocktails. We found the hotel to be charming and would not have wanted it renovated and supermodern, it's perfect the way it is. Christmas Day was a real highlight, with a supercool Santa arriving by jetski! We loved it.

Room Tip: As a family of 6 we had two adjacent garden rooms. No need to pay extra for a sea view as all you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 179Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    440
    241
    109
    60
See reviews for
330
718
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Stunning location with its own lagoon and water sports centre who are fantastic!

Rooms very dated and in need of a good refurbishment but they are clean

Gym is very clean and has plenty of equipment

Staff are ok but it does depend who you get at reception on the day, some of the staff are very friendly and helpful but others seem as they don't want to be there

Cocktails however are amazing!!!!

If you want a quiet week chilling in nice grounds on a bed and breakfast basis and explore Tobago in the evening then this hotel will suit, but not for all inclusive

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Fly501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knivsta, Sverige
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed a week in this facility, and found it generally acceptable to good. It appears to be rated as a 3½ star facility, which seems fair (so, do not expect five star amenities or performance!). I find the following aspects (neutral, positive and negative) worth mentioning:

o The hotel has its own little park, a nice place.
o There is a small, but adequate, shop for simple stuff (souvenirs, post cards, sun screen etc) in the hotel.
o The room was adequate and daily cleaning good.

+ Generally a nice place and a nice location!

- The service in the bar/lobby area was slow.
- The A/C was slightly broken (the air flow louvers), which should have been noticed by someone.
- The A/C unit was also placed so it blew air directly across the head-end of the beds, so we had to turn it off when going to sleep.
- We never had dinner there, as it appeared pretty over-priced.
- The reception missed to forward a message (about a cancelled sight seeing tour) to us.

Room Tip: We had a room with the balcony facing North, which was excellent, as it did not get unbearably hot a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swesuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Coco Reef with our baby daughter. The staff were polite, friendly and keen to play with our daughter, which we appreciated. Further, the artificial reef and private lagoon made us feel very safe taking the baby into the water.

However, we were disappointed with the standard of accommodation overall. It is certainly not close to 5 star - 3 would be more accurate. The rooms and bathrooms are desperately tired. Moreover, the two restaurants appeared to serve exactly the same food in the evenings. The dishes were small, uninteresting and designed for the all-inclusive market. (I emphasise that I mean no criticism of all-inclusive packages. My point is that holidaymakers on such packages should not have to suffer indifferent food). Finally, the gym and spa are mediocre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarriedtoSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

I have been to many Sunday buffet in the Caribbean and will certainly remember this one for being the worse
Not a Caribbean delight at all a heaven for Brits on holiday home away from home so for them perhaps a gourmet lunch !
Me and my guests are sorry to burst your bubble this place
Is for all of us nothing but an expensive disaster that only the hotel guests seem to enjoy
As for us sorry we don't do hard chicken or cold potatoes wedge and not at all grated carrots for over 50 USD per head
Scandalously bad and expensive and my best recommendation is to stay away from this coco reef restaurant
The view is nice well that's the beach and some sailing boats of course nothing that the hotel has participated in making
Hire a chef and train your staff !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank seasunstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

My wife and I got back from the coco yesterday and miss it already.from day one of our three week stay,we were treated extremely well by all the staff,some of whom we know well as we have been to the hotel many times in the past.I would especially mention Mr.Eric Feneit,the general manager,who was the most helpful and gracious person we have ever met in any hotel in the world.
I would recommend the Coco to anybody if your easy going.If you are up tight and demanding it may not be your cup of tea as the hotel is located on a small island in the Caribbean meaning things can go wrong at times like short power outages.However,if you are layed back and relaxed,you will have a ball like we did.
Cannot wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Speak to ericfeniet prior to booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank honestjohn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
retired expat
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Without doubt the best hotel on the island, and I have visited most of them. Ideal location, perfect beach and sea lagoon, pleasant if small pool, excellent beach with plenty of shade when required.
From the moment you arrive you will find numerous, well trained, helpful staff who seem to go that extra mile to make your holiday a memorable occasion.
Rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. The public areas are almost palatial and also kept in good order. The beach is regularly cleaned and throughout the day is serviced with drinks
by two well worked staff members. The lagoon is gently shelving so ideal for children and adults alike who can snorkel by the man made reef.
The dining areas are likewise well serviced by numerous, well trained staff. The food is well presented and tasteful and drinks are available without hesitation.
This was our first visit here so we were not prejudiced by the "always come here" brigade, but I am sure if we return to Tobago, we shall stay here. If you want a great time snorkling on the main coral reef, sign up with Peter Abrahams who runs the water Jet boat Zoe from the beach.
An absolutely fabulous experience, he will snorkel with you and point out the things you might miss...baracuda and stingray in my case.

Room Tip: Avoid garden rooms if you can afford better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank peter_poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
7.9 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
4.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Property: Coco Reef Tobago
Address: Coconut Bay | Bon Accord Village, Crown Point, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite architecture and well manicured grounds warmly welcome you to the enchanting paradise that is Coco Reef Resort. Tranquil turquoise waters caress the white sands of our private beach with magnificent snorkeling just outside the breakwater. Enjoy kayaking, pedalos, diving, tennis, gym, in-house shopping, massages, manicures, pedicures and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing