We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet Another Fantastic Holiday a Coco Reef”
Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco Reef Tobago
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Hereford, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yet Another Fantastic Holiday a Coco Reef”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I returned to Coco Reef for the 6th year running, arrived 18th January to an extremely warm welcome and a delicious cocktail from Janelle, before being shown to our suite. Again as I have mentioned before some reviewers say the rooms are a little faded, but they are clean and thats what matters to us, to be honest, we don't spend too much time in there.

There are so many plus points to this hotel that it is difficult to know where to start. Eric Feniet the General Manager is very visible and can be seen in the hotel day and night. He chats with guests, nothing is too much trouble and he genuinely seems to remember each guest. We stayed "all inclusive" and the food, as ever, was excellent, buffet style breakfast, with eggs cooked to order each morning, Bachanals Beach Bar at lunchtimes with fish, ribs, lamb, chicken, burgers all cooked fresh on the bbq along with salads, vegetables, rice and potatoes. Tamara's a la carte Restaurant in the evening is more formal and the food was always superb, staff are very polite and attentive, it is always piping hot and we have never had a bad meal.

We can both honestly say that all the staff are friendly, approachable and helpful, from the garden and maintenance staff to the managers. We would like to thank ALL the staff for making our holiday special and would particularly like to thank Melissa and Angela for looking after us at breakfast and lunchtimes, Gary, Amanda and Lawson in the evenings.

We sometimes read the reviews of disappointed holiday makers and wonder if they were in the same hotel as us, we can only say again, that if they had a problem with staff, it must be them with the problem - not the staff. Tobagans are lovely warm friendly people and if you treat them with respect and friendship they respond accordingly.

We will hopefully be returning again next January for our 7th visit - can't wait :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nick&AnneHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    453
    248
    113
    61
See reviews for
338
741
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had a great time at Coco Reef , its easy to chill out from the moment you arrive and see the view through the atrium .

It has a small sandy beach and a nice walled calm sea pool (a lot of the other beaches are windy and have some rough waves ) it has sufficient beach chairs and shade ,an OK pool with more sun beds.

Good food and lots of it if you choose all inclusive like we did , we stayed for a week so did not see a repeat of the same menu and there was a good selection of choices at dinner , cocktails were included too, so great to watch the sun go down late afternoon and drinks are served to you on the beach if you wanted , all wine and all drinks are included over dinner as well .

But what really makes this hotel special are the staff , overall , Eric the manager has developed a great team of smiling , happy ,eager to please staff , Its something you really do not come across in many hotels these days , we loved that , I think the Tobagans are naturally "nice "people , but these guys are well trained too !

This is traditional hotel which offers a great service and is we thought offered good value, the rooms are older in style , but are clean and tidy. For us the whole atmosphere around this place was great and reflected the best of Tobago , they made us feel very welcome , we would certainly go back again , it was no surprise to us that we met lots of couples that come back every year !

Its situated 5 mins from the airport , but you are never troubled by plane noise ,as there are so few flights in and out , its a good location for Tobago ,the hotel will organise anything from car hire to road trips around the island or boat trips .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cally109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

You arrive to the hotel you have to fall I love with the view of the ocean straight from the reception desk, the reception staff are nice and attentive, the bedrooms are nice and if you get a sea view even better.

But there is where the good part stops and the bad beginnings, let's start by the 2 restaurants :
Super expensive quality of the food is horrible and if you feel tempted for a buffet at $300 TT per person beware that is full of the remaining food of the other days tht the all inclusive didn't eat or that if you are not there for 7pm then you won't have food.
Now the bar and restaurant staff, if you don't tip them every 5m they are rude and only pay attention to the people that tip. Waiting for 1 hour for a raw burger was of that an example.
The lagoon is awesome but constant in and out of both means you have oil on the shore.
So if you want to stay in a hotel by the beach were you don't get chased by people selling tours it's a nice place but max get the breakfast package as anything belong that is going to result in disapointment.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank horusgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Jan, and enjoyed my time here! Chilled out and relaxing time on private beach helped out by beach waiter Roshan bringing carib while chilling..
We was room only as like to get out of hotel.. Hotel drinks apart from Carib and stag are expensive compared to out and about..

Would feel like a Peach Prison if you didn't get out to experience island life during the day and night, as loads to see and do..

Snorkelling was good for even beginners in hotel beach.. Paddle boats and snorkelling sets available from beach (peach) side sports area..

Would stay again...

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at Coco Reef for 10 days over Christmas and had a fantastic time. The location is perfect and the lagoon makes swimming and snorkelling as safe as it can be for children. The trip out in the Cocomotion boat was a real highlight, so many beautiful fish and coral not to mention a turtle. We also had a day trip in a taxi around the island visiting the rainforest, Argyll waterfall, Jemma's treehouse and many beauty spots and places of interest. But most of all we loved our time at Coco Reef, being very well looked after by the friendly staff and enjoying the buffets and cocktails. We found the hotel to be charming and would not have wanted it renovated and supermodern, it's perfect the way it is. Christmas Day was a real highlight, with a supercool Santa arriving by jetski! We loved it.

Room Tip: As a family of 6 we had two adjacent garden rooms. No need to pay extra for a sea view as all you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 179Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Stunning location with its own lagoon and water sports centre who are fantastic!

Rooms very dated and in need of a good refurbishment but they are clean

Gym is very clean and has plenty of equipment

Staff are ok but it does depend who you get at reception on the day, some of the staff are very friendly and helpful but others seem as they don't want to be there

Cocktails however are amazing!!!!

If you want a quiet week chilling in nice grounds on a bed and breakfast basis and explore Tobago in the evening then this hotel will suit, but not for all inclusive

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Fly501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knivsta, Sverige
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed a week in this facility, and found it generally acceptable to good. It appears to be rated as a 3½ star facility, which seems fair (so, do not expect five star amenities or performance!). I find the following aspects (neutral, positive and negative) worth mentioning:

o The hotel has its own little park, a nice place.
o There is a small, but adequate, shop for simple stuff (souvenirs, post cards, sun screen etc) in the hotel.
o The room was adequate and daily cleaning good.

+ Generally a nice place and a nice location!

- The service in the bar/lobby area was slow.
- The A/C was slightly broken (the air flow louvers), which should have been noticed by someone.
- The A/C unit was also placed so it blew air directly across the head-end of the beds, so we had to turn it off when going to sleep.
- We never had dinner there, as it appeared pretty over-priced.
- The reception missed to forward a message (about a cancelled sight seeing tour) to us.

Room Tip: We had a room with the balcony facing North, which was excellent, as it did not get unbearably hot a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swesuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
7.9 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
248 reviews
4.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
4.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Property: Coco Reef Tobago
Address: Coconut Bay | Bon Accord Village, Crown Point, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite architecture and well manicured grounds warmly welcome you to the enchanting paradise that is Coco Reef Resort. Tranquil turquoise waters caress the white sands of our private beach with magnificent snorkeling just outside the breakwater. Enjoy kayaking, pedalos, diving, tennis, gym, in-house shopping, massages, manicures, pedicures and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing