We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical bliss”
Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco Reef Tobago
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tropical bliss”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were much impressed by this hotel, perfect for our annual laze in the sun. We travelled with Virgin on an all-inclusive basis and were treated royally. Our accommodation, a garden suite, was spacious, clean and well appointed. Admittedly the taps were rather eccentrically fitted, the hot tap in the basin turning the "wrong way" but that is the quirky Caribbean! Shower pressure was good and water always hot. The architecture and décor were traditional but that is the style of the place ("Government House Pink " being very much to the fore).

The beach was superb. There were plenty of loungers and lots of shade. The staff patrolled the beach, offering non-alcoholic drinks and fresh fruit and taking orders if one wanted something stronger. We were there for spring tides but there was still more than adequate space on teh beach for all the guests, even at high tide. The lagoon was gently shelving and, protected by the artificial reef, totally free of current or undertow. The depth at high tide was probably only about 7 ft. and, at low tide, a maximum of 5ft.

The food, in our opinion, was better than one usually gets in the Caribbean. It was too easy to pig it out at breakfast, the range on offer covering both UK, American, Caribbean and Scandinavian ideas of what was appropriate. Lunches at the beach bar offered "pans" of food as well as the barbeque offerings done to order with salads and desserts to follow. Evening meals were sometimes buffet but generally a la carte. The selection was excellent, we always found something tempting. Our main problem was our own greed, after a week it became, "what is the lightest meal on offer"

The staff at the hotel are drawn from far afield, not only Tobago. They are friendly, helpful and efficient. There are so many, obviously spreading the income from the hotel over as wide a net as possible, there is nothing other than tourism to help Tobago pay its way in the world. Consequently, as a tourist, one is welcomed, not treated with the arrogance and indifference found in some countries. But, that said, a surly complaining growl is no way to make contact, even if you do have a problem
.
The evening entertainment was very good, the traditional steel pans being well represented. We had three superb soloists while we were there. It was the perfect way to relax after a day in the sun. It is a pity that one has the disconcerting "zombie" portraits staring down at you from the walls.

Outside the hotel, Tobago offers very little in the way of entertainment. This was our second visit and, once one has done the official "day tour of the Island" there is very little else. We used the local bus to get in to Scarborough, 2TTs each way, tickets bought from Jimmy's supermarket but this is a government service so very different from the riotous mayhem of the Barbadian local buses. We wanted to visit the Botanical Garden but were extremely disappointed as it was merely a well maintained green area, perfect for picnic lunches. It probably dates from 1920 but has been left in botanical limbo for years. It no longer aims to inform or educate.

We had planned our stay to encompass two Sundays, in order to attend Sunday School at Buccoo Reef twice. However, we were somewhat disappointed as the venue has been sanitized since our last visit five years ago. Now it is very clean and organised and consequently has lost its aura of spontaneity. However, it is still an experience not to be missed.

We met quite a few people who return here year after year, having found nothing to outdo it in the Caribbean. As there are only 135 rooms, one develops a pleasant nodding acquaintance with other guests. It is a friendly and happy place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    449
    246
    109
    60
See reviews for
336
730
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

If you like warm, friendly service, staff with personalities, lovely beach, great snorkelling and a good breakfast surrounded by gardens, go for it.
I agree that the bathrooms are tired, but for us who actually hate hotels, everything else including the building itself, more than made up for it. In terms of food... well The problem is, the food at Coco reef actually isn't good but then the choices in the immediate area, aren't either.
On a 2 week holiday you will run out of choices, we ate more pizza in 2 weeks than I have eaten in 2 years.

Room Tip: We had a superior garden room ( BA Holiday package ) although there was no sea view, we had a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was our second visit to The Coco Reef, The location is superb, lagoon swimming area great and wonderful beach under the shade of palm trees. However the hotel is getting tired and the pace need refurbishment, especially the bathrooms which whilst clean are old and worn. Towel service was erratic and we only received hand towels on our first night. The air conditioning was as per our last visit, and it was poor then.The food ranged from quite good to pretty poor with the Sunday buffet awful. We are going to go to Antigua next time as it represents far better value for money. And, if you were considering Virgin Upper Class, save your money!

Room Tip: Always choose ocean view, the views are spectacular, wonderful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My daughter and I reluctantly left Coco Reef on the 1st February after spending another wonderful two weeks. I could go on to talk about how great it was to be so warmly welcomed by everyone - the great choices of food in both restaurants but instead I will only say that I completely agree with everything Nick and Anne from Hereford said! I would like to add that although this year I was accompanied by my daughter I am usually on my own since I lost my husband and the Coco Reef is truly the only place I have felt so "not alone" with so many friendly people - one of the many reasons this was my 11th visit! The Resort is beautifully cared for with comfortable rooms and a peaceful beach from which to look out over the lagoon! My grateful thanks to Eric, Janelle and everyone and I am now counting down to January 2015!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I returned to Coco Reef for the 6th year running, arrived 18th January to an extremely warm welcome and a delicious cocktail from Janelle, before being shown to our suite. Again as I have mentioned before some reviewers say the rooms are a little faded, but they are clean and thats what matters to us, to be honest, we don't spend too much time in there.

There are so many plus points to this hotel that it is difficult to know where to start. Eric Feniet the General Manager is very visible and can be seen in the hotel day and night. He chats with guests, nothing is too much trouble and he genuinely seems to remember each guest. We stayed "all inclusive" and the food, as ever, was excellent, buffet style breakfast, with eggs cooked to order each morning, Bachanals Beach Bar at lunchtimes with fish, ribs, lamb, chicken, burgers all cooked fresh on the bbq along with salads, vegetables, rice and potatoes. Tamara's a la carte Restaurant in the evening is more formal and the food was always superb, staff are very polite and attentive, it is always piping hot and we have never had a bad meal.

We can both honestly say that all the staff are friendly, approachable and helpful, from the garden and maintenance staff to the managers. We would like to thank ALL the staff for making our holiday special and would particularly like to thank Melissa and Angela for looking after us at breakfast and lunchtimes, Gary, Amanda and Lawson in the evenings.

We sometimes read the reviews of disappointed holiday makers and wonder if they were in the same hotel as us, we can only say again, that if they had a problem with staff, it must be them with the problem - not the staff. Tobagans are lovely warm friendly people and if you treat them with respect and friendship they respond accordingly.

We will hopefully be returning again next January for our 7th visit - can't wait :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nick&AnneHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had a great time at Coco Reef , its easy to chill out from the moment you arrive and see the view through the atrium .

It has a small sandy beach and a nice walled calm sea pool (a lot of the other beaches are windy and have some rough waves ) it has sufficient beach chairs and shade ,an OK pool with more sun beds.

Good food and lots of it if you choose all inclusive like we did , we stayed for a week so did not see a repeat of the same menu and there was a good selection of choices at dinner , cocktails were included too, so great to watch the sun go down late afternoon and drinks are served to you on the beach if you wanted , all wine and all drinks are included over dinner as well .

But what really makes this hotel special are the staff , overall , Eric the manager has developed a great team of smiling , happy ,eager to please staff , Its something you really do not come across in many hotels these days , we loved that , I think the Tobagans are naturally "nice "people , but these guys are well trained too !

This is traditional hotel which offers a great service and is we thought offered good value, the rooms are older in style , but are clean and tidy. For us the whole atmosphere around this place was great and reflected the best of Tobago , they made us feel very welcome , we would certainly go back again , it was no surprise to us that we met lots of couples that come back every year !

Its situated 5 mins from the airport , but you are never troubled by plane noise ,as there are so few flights in and out , its a good location for Tobago ,the hotel will organise anything from car hire to road trips around the island or boat trips .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cally109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

You arrive to the hotel you have to fall I love with the view of the ocean straight from the reception desk, the reception staff are nice and attentive, the bedrooms are nice and if you get a sea view even better.

But there is where the good part stops and the bad beginnings, let's start by the 2 restaurants :
Super expensive quality of the food is horrible and if you feel tempted for a buffet at $300 TT per person beware that is full of the remaining food of the other days tht the all inclusive didn't eat or that if you are not there for 7pm then you won't have food.
Now the bar and restaurant staff, if you don't tip them every 5m they are rude and only pay attention to the people that tip. Waiting for 1 hour for a raw burger was of that an example.
The lagoon is awesome but constant in and out of both means you have oil on the shore.
So if you want to stay in a hotel by the beach were you don't get chased by people selling tours it's a nice place but max get the breakfast package as anything belong that is going to result in disapointment.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank horusgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
7.9 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Property: Coco Reef Tobago
Address: Coconut Bay | Bon Accord Village, Crown Point, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite architecture and well manicured grounds warmly welcome you to the enchanting paradise that is Coco Reef Resort. Tranquil turquoise waters caress the white sands of our private beach with magnificent snorkeling just outside the breakwater. Enjoy kayaking, pedalos, diving, tennis, gym, in-house shopping, massages, manicures, pedicures and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing