We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed it”
Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coco Reef Tobago
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have just come back from a week B&B in the Coco Reef. The hotel is located close to the airport but you cannot hear the very few planes that arrive at the island.

We had a Garden Villa (406) which was in a lovely quiet location overlooking the wonderful gardens. It was a very spacious villa, 2 bedrooms, living area, kitchen and dining area. My only comment on the villa, is that they could have sacrificed some of the living space for a bigger shower unit! The shower, whilst hot and powerful, was very small and had no place for toiletries.

Breakfast was an excellent buffet with everything imaginable on offer.

The staff are very attentive and helpful, although a query on my bill (another room had their meal charged to my room in error) did take an eternity to resolve (mainly because they provide only a total without the detailed transactions).

The highlight is the large sea pool created by the breakwater rocks. This provides an excellent place to view the fish whilst snorkelling around it. The fish life around this breakwater (which takes about 25 mins to snorkel around at a leisurely pace) was amazing.

Peter operates the speedboat "Zoe" from the lagoon. This goes up to the snorkelling sites at Arnos Vale and provides an excellent alternative site.

The beach is wide with plenty of loungers that are in sun or shade. Annoyingly some guests (generally the German and UK ones) would take a lounger pre-breakfast and not return until much later in the day. But usually there were plenty to go around.

There a number of local food places within a very short walking distance, including Store Bay, from where you can also do a Boco Reef trip for TT60pp and an excellent Pizza restaurant (you need to walk inside to the kitchen/bar area to order takeaway).

The sister restaurant Coco Cafe is next door to the hotel but without direct access. You have walk around the block to get there! But does good food in a pleasant environment.

The hotel social director (who frustratingly only works in the afternoon) can arrange trips to other areas of the island (we did the Little Tobago trip) and privately organised a morning of Mountain Biking...both giving excellent different experiences of the island.

You can exchange US$ at reception but get a better rate at the bank over the road, which also handily exchanges GBP£ - both at a better rate than you can get at home!. Also, there are number of ATM machines.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CambridgeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,522)
There are newer reviews for Coco Reef Tobago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I have just returned from 2 weeks B&B at the Coco Reef.
The hotel is imaginatively designed and stands in beautiful, well-kept
gardens with good sea views, although the view is interrupted by the
artificial breakwater enclosing the small man-made beach. Although the
hotel is large, it is well spaced out and guests don't feel on top of
each other.

Reception staff were generally alert, helpful, friendly and reliable
when passing on messages.

Our bedroom (delux seaview) was spacious and comfortable with a
good-sized balcony but the bathroom was tired. The shower water flow
was weak and often only luke-warm at peak periods. Housekeeping was
good on the whole but the bathroom was not always cleaned properly and
provision of towels, face flannels, tissues, teabags etc was unreliable.
(However a phone call to reception usually resolved any issue we had)

The man-made beach is small and sometimes crowded and the lagoon is ideal for
young children or weak swimmers. However we missed the sound of the
breakers on the shore and an uninterrupted view of the horizon. There
were always sufficient sun-loungers and plenty of shade beneath the
palms and shelters. The staff serving drinks were efficient and helpful
as was the dive shop which has a good selection of fins and snorkels for
loan.

Breakfasts were a highlight, particularly the cooked ones, but for those who prefer a continental breakfast the choice was more limited. The restaurant was expensive so we only had one dinner in
the hotel. This was good but the only lunch we had, a sandwich from the menu, was very poor, the worst and most expensive during our 2 weeks in Tobago.

As the Coco Reef is relatively expensive we were disappointed to be charged for Wi-Fi ($88 TT for an hour, available only in the lobby) and when we had to leave early one morning to visit the rain forest were expected to pay $60 TT extra for a picnic breakfast sandwich. This was the first time we had experienced these types of charges during many hotel stays around the world in the last 2 years.

Tobago is a beautiful, mostly unspoilt, island which we explored thoroughly while we rented a car for a week. The roads are windy but easy to drive on. The pristine beaches, snorkeling, views, rainforest and birds are fantastic and the people charming. We found many good and inexpensive restaurants within 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The Coco Reef provided a convenient and comfortable base and it was always a pleasure to return after a long day out.

Room Tip: Worth an upgrade to have a sea view on the first floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aldman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Reading some of the other reviews here it seems difficult to understand that we have been at the same hotel. Our experience was totally positive, the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and our room was very comfortable although we were upgraded to an ocean view suite which probably helped. While it is true to say some areas of the building could benefit from a little more TLC it somehow added to the appeal of the place rather than make it unwelcoming. We loved it and shall definitely return as soon as we can.
The private hotel beach and lagoon are a big plus, the beach inside the lagoon is very safe for children and there are enough fish around the outer artificial reef for the amateur snorkeler to wonder at. Try and drag yourself away from the facilities here and spend a little time and money to see the island, many of the small bays and towns are well worth the effort and you will be rewarded by the experience of a more local environment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P_South
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Dear Mr John Jeffries , owner of the hotel , as pictured in the fading black and white photos of some past pop stars, politicians and sportsmen, of the sixty, seventies and eighties , in the downstairs internet café(!!) , you really do need to get your cheque book out. I doubt it has any serious money spent on it for 30 years. It could be so good and I am sure it was in the past, but isn't any longer. I feel I am able to comment having been to many islands in the Caribbean and am involved with commercial property at home .You need to spend at least $15M. Can we start with the White Roll Royce Silver Shadow (1970?) parked right outside the front door with two rear tyres almost flat , I doubt this hasn't done a trip to the airport for a while , Princess Margaret isn't coming any day soon. If you were unlucky enough to draw a Garden view room ,incidentally as dark as night looking out onto a security fence and no view whatsoever , with a cockerel (they call it Roaster) starting up at 4.45 am each morning ,I tried on the first morning to buy the thing for $50 and have it transported to the other end of the island, the owner refused me. The bedrooms need a complete make over , with some lights that actually give off some light and a television ,the size of a fork truck that varies from a snow storm to black and white. Good job in the France v England game , one side had white shorts on!! Finally if you , as I am, a bad sleeper, the Bongo Bongo drums from the local night club ,half a mile away, Illusions I think , can keep you awake with their dreadful racket , till 6 in the morning on a Friday or Saturday night . I understand that they are getting ready for Carnival next month!! Beware!! The loo did overflow on a couple of occasions , but I did manage to find the stopcock before the flood started in the bedroom ,to be fair a young man complete with bucket did come to the rescue , within a few minutes .Shall we move on the the food and restaurants. Breakfast was really the best meal of the day , with the overworked Wendy the delightful egg lady , trying to cook for loads of people with a smile and a long queue, The rest was quite good and definitely a new experience having an magnificent Eagle owl sitting on a post next to your shoulder , or indeed a Black Hawk staring into your corn flakes. Outstanding staff here were Angela and Clinton. Lunch was really very good served on the jagged floor boards of the decking near the beach, (wear flip fops here , or get something horrible in your foot) The fresh barbequed fish is a delight , together with the shrimp sandwich , all served by the superb Nicola , who is worth her weight in Pinna Colada !! Kurton the boss is also very charming and helpful. The Beach area and Lagoon is very good especially for children and the snorkelling excellent. All very safe and clean and of course waited on by the lovely Nichola and the efficient Roshan . on the beach as you unwind(maybe not in half term week) . If you want a 3 hour boat and snorkelling trip ,which is excellent but quite dear, get hold of the Charming and witty Peter who runs the speed boat Zoe , which is moored in the lagoon. The other boat Cocomotion is also good. Lastly the evening food menu , is pretty mediocre , the buffet probably being the worst, and having said that all of a sudden they surprise you with an excellent lobster linguine . My advice is to pick up a voucher and eat in their sister restaurant in town . I suggest you hire a car and drive to the end of the island and have lunch in Jemmas tree house , which is quite good but has no booze licence and is closed on Saturdays. The roads are pretty hairy and you need to concentrate on the endless hairpin bends and the crazy drivers. Don't go in a mini bus in the back, you get thrown about all day ,and see very little, added he was half a hour late (surprise surprise) and failed to book us into Jemmas 2 days before, and then had to wait ages.What made it worse is that we had to give up the table to a group of Germans from the same hotel. I suppose I can sum up our 2 weeks by quoting the lady I talked to on the beach , who has been coming for the past 10 years . She said the hotel was terrible but she didn't care and she loved it!!For me , did I have a good time --Yes , would I come back --definitely not!! I do feel that, at nearly at the end of the winter in England and the shooting season of course, that the same people descend on Coco Beach Hotel , all the people we met were very pleasant , had been mostly many times before and frankly had not travelled to many other quality hotels and resorts in the Caribbean to make a comparison.

Room Tip: Don't get put in room 501-504 and anywhere in the Garden view(!) area
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We just came back from 5 days at this hotel and have to say that we would never go back. The staff was so unfriendly and at every opportunity they would say no to any request. The room was in need of major help ie: bugs in the bathroom, shower not working, no tissues to be had, the shades were ripped and stained and the bed was horrible. Service was wait and see if you get what you ask for and god forbid you order something from the menu during lunch you best be prepared to wait a good 45 minutes for it. If something was empty at the buffet good luck getting it refilled. The beach is really a cove so no waves and no activities at your fingertips. If you want beach towels you have to go to the lobby to get them and they were always "in the dryer" so come back later for them? BTW please get a street taxi as the hotel "hires" them and gets a kick back from the drivers.so they are over priced compared to "regular" cabbies

Unfortunately management does not care if you are happy!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at Coco Reef and were delighted with all that the hotel had to offer. Staff very friendly and obliging, keen to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We found we had been upgraded to a deluxe ocean view room and we couldn't have hoped for a better view from our balcony. The food was really excellent in both restaurants, both - A La Carte, and buffet. We particularly liked the beach restaurant but both were equally good regarding menu and service. No noise from airport despite only 5 mins away. Amenities on beach good and snorkelling around the bay brilliant! Often better than on the sea trips. No shortage of things to do on island - bird watching, Cocoa Plantation, wonderfully deserted bays, RainForest, easy driving, lots of local life to embrace. A wonderful first Caribbean experience. And thanks for chocs left in our room!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jacki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

By far the best choice for a stay in Tobago. Caring staff, excellent facilities and good service make this a super hotel. Food is very good and restaurants allow one to choose ones preferred dining ambience and cuisine. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank P7163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
7.9 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
249 reviews
4.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
4.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Address: Coconut Bay | Bon Accord Village, Crown Point, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range: £194 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite architecture and well manicured grounds warmly welcome you to the enchanting paradise that is Coco Reef Resort. Tranquil turquoise waters caress the white sands of our private beach with magnificent snorkeling just outside the breakwater. Enjoy kayaking, pedalos, diving, tennis, gym, in-house shopping, massages, manicures, pedicures and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing