We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coco Reef Tobago
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
northamptonshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Just returned from a 3 week stay at Coco Reef. As soon as we walked into the foyer, it felt like coming home. We had the same room as last year, Room 243. Magnificent views of the gardens, beach and sea. We were a little disappointed not to have robes and slippers, but after a word with Kirton, this was soon rectified. I can't name all the staff, but several spring to mind, Kirton, Preston, Alicia, Gary, Amanda, Angela, Tricia, Beverley and Lawson were all very attentive and helpful, that's not to say the other staff weren't, but I can't mention everyone. Any little issue we had, Kirton sorted it out for us.
If I had any issues, it would be the state of the beach towels. They were very thin and in poor condition. The décor is dated and shabby in places. The bathrooms all need up grading and maybe some new sunbeds. Would this stop us going again - not on your life, we have booked for next year already

Room Tip: Room 243 offers fantastic views of the beach and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tobagons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    456
    250
    113
    61
See reviews for
342
743
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at Coco Reef at the start of May this year to celebrate my sister in laws 50th birthday and we had the most relaxing, enjoyable stay. Everything we hoped for. The hotel itself is comfortable and charming and the staff there made us feel so welcome. Food and beverage manager Kurtain made sure all our needs were met and along with so many of the staff we were made to feel special and comfortable. The beach bar staff knew our daily routine and piña coladas were served even without us having to leave our sunbeds! A special place, with superb, friendly staff. I would definitely recommend and plan on returning next year

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

5 star by Tobago standards. Beautiful surroundings and views that are breath taking. Definately worth upgrading to a sea view. Woken up in the mornings by the gentle tweeting of birds on one side and the waves breaking on the other....bliss. The relaxed attitude of some of the staff is typical of the locals but not of all. Some of the waiting staff and the porters had excellent manners and attitude. AlI beautifully turned out in their uniforms. I had to phone reception and housekeeping and both issues were dealt with quickly.
I opted for the breakfast only board and the breakfasts were fantastic. The standard of food is exceptional and there is no need to worry about salads or ice in drinks...anywhere. If you get an upset stomach, it will be due to over indulging!
Each room has A/C, a small wall mounted hairdryer, a good fridge, a safe, an iron and a decent bathroom. Do take your own bath/toiletry products though. The beautiful lagoon beach is ideal. Many areas are only hip height and it's full of little fish. Loads of sunbeds...the beach towels are in desperate need to be replaced. Whilst on the beach, around midday the staff come around with complimentary fruit juice and fruit pieces...a nice touch. It was very safe to leave your bag and things by your lounger whilst you went into the sea/pool and that is a HUGE plus point in my eyes.
There is a small well air conditioned gym there too. I visited the masseuse in the beauty room there. I recommend having a massage. The entertainment in the evenings was of an excellent standard too. Lovely to listen to live singers whilst having a drink under the stars.
The hotel is ideally located right next to the lovely and lively Stor Bay Beach, which is definately worth a visit. You may feel a little intimidated by the local ticket sellers trying to sell boat trips, but they are all friendly too. A bike hire shop is just opposite the hotel entrance and I pre booked bikes but canceled when I got there as it was too hot. The hotel is set back on private lands from the 'main' strip. Mainly lovely restaurants which are really good value.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough...I have told everyone I know and hope to return there soon. PS. It is well worth trying to ensure that you book during the 'dry ' seasons. (jan-may)

Room Tip: If you can , upgrade to a sea view...stunning. They come with balconies which allow for beautiful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taz9123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kircaldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Where do i start? The Coco Reef lived up to all my expectations...and i do have high expecations, having been well travelled. The staff, and the service we recieved was second to none. All the stops were pulled to make our stay memorable. I'm home now and planning my next hols to Coco Reef. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Delux sea view facing....to open your curtains in the morning....wooooh!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week in mid April with my wife and daughters. By American standards, probably not 4 star, but by Tobago standards 5 star. We really loved the place. The bedroom was large with a view of the sea, the bed was very comfortable, and the lobby area is airy. Breakfast was huge and kept us going til the evening. Staff were friendly and helpful. As others have noted Internet has to be paid for, or else use the painfully slow computers just off the lobby. On the other hand it forces you to put those toys away and relax.
There will be for some people, downsides. The public beach next to the hotel is where the glass bottomed boats leave from, and some of them play loud music, in fact loud music, to the extent that the speakers are distorted seems to be a feature of Tobago, but you get used to the way of life.
We enjoyed our stay there and would definitely go back. When we toured the island we checked out several of the other establishments, and Coco Reef was certainly the right choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackfriars1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walderslade, Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Having read some bad reviews of Coco Reef we were wondering what to expect but it was fabulous. The hotel needs some TLC in places but it adds to the charm of Coco Reef. By the end of our two weeks we felt we were leaving an old friend behind as the hotel manages to envelop you in a giant bear hug!
If you want lots to do and loads of entertainment this is not the hotel for you but if you want to relax, eat great food and be looked after by wonderful staff Coco Reef is perfect.
The lagoon is amazing and full of different fish so snorkellers are in their element. The food in the restaurant is superb and we have never had such lovely house wine in a hotel before.
The staff are brilliant - special thanks to Brian in Bobster's Bar and Gary in the restaurant who looked after us well.
Tobago is a beautiful island and it is well worth getting out and about. We'd recommend hiring a taxi for either half or full day - we booked a taxi from Royal Taxis across the road from the Coco Reef entrance and ask for Lester as he was not only a good driver he was incredibly knowledgeable about his island. It is a much cheaper way of seeing the island than booking a tour.
Looking forward to returning sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChathamMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We made the right choice staying at the Coco Reef which has a lovely old world plantation feeling. Our ocean view room was clean, spacious with a balcony offering a fantastic view of the beach and ocean. Service was excellent and any problem was rectified quickly. Good Breakfast buffet and Dining in the evening was also a high standard, except the baby octopus was tough. There are restaurants in Crown Point just outside the hotel and within fifteen minutes walk. Location is very convenient, airport is close by and some one actually walked to the hotel. No free wi fi but guests can use the complimentary internet room. We enjoyed swimming in the beautiful, calm lagoon with no jet skis and other distractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
7.9 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
249 reviews
4.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
444 reviews
4.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Property: Coco Reef Tobago
Address: Coconut Bay | Bon Accord Village, Crown Point, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite architecture and well manicured grounds warmly welcome you to the enchanting paradise that is Coco Reef Resort. Tranquil turquoise waters caress the white sands of our private beach with magnificent snorkeling just outside the breakwater. Enjoy kayaking, pedalos, diving, tennis, gym, in-house shopping, massages, manicures, pedicures and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing