We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candles is awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candles in the Wind
Ranked #2 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Candles is awesome”
Reviewed 8 March 2007

Wow what a find! Candles is probably the nicest guesthouse ive ever stayed in. We stayed there three seperate times during our trip in Trinidad & Tobago in February and March 2007, and would strongly recommend it if you are spending any time in Tobago at all.

Candles is spacious, very clean, comfortable, affordable, has a very nice atmosphere and is in a good location. I couldnt possibly think of anything negative to say about it. In fact, the only thing better than the guesthouse was the owner, Andrew Leekit. He went out of his way to help my girlfriend and me at all times. He gave us lifts to places around the island, took us to and from the airport, gave us advice for our trip and cooked a barbeque for all his guests the evening we first arrived. He even rang ahead to the hotel we had booked in Trinidad, whilst we were on the ferry over, to check that our booking was confirmed and he also tried to arrange a taxi to pick us up at the port in Trinidad. He is a great guy and will make your stay in Tobago a very plesant one.

I cant speak highly enough of Candles, and intend to go back one day. Highly recommended.


Tom Kennedy - England

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
27 Thank T0mK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alkit, Owner at Candles in the Wind, responded to this review, 10 March 2007
Hello Tom and Natalie,
Thank you for your kind words.
More than anything, I am pleased to know that you had a very good time on both sided of the islands..
Cheers,
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    55
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
42
81
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2007

It is difficult to express how fantastic it was my stay there, Candles is friendly, clean, quite, funny, perfectly located and the owner Andrew is an amazing host who really cares about the guests and their needs. I never find such a lovely home away from home. Your stay will be unforgettable (I'm sure) and It will be difficult to leave!! I won't never ever forget my stay there. Marusca

  • Liked — The incredible kindness of the owner
  • Disliked — can't think to anything
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
25 Thank Diamarchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2007

Something about two weeks ago we came back from Tobago. We stayed at Candles and it was a perfect choice for us. We met great people there including the host...:) who was always helpful and kind to us. We just felt there like we were at home, we miss that place and certainly are going to visit Tobago again. And we couldn't stay elsewhere than at Candles.

  • Liked — Friendly people and host
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank niusia5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2007

Thank you, Andrew, for making our stay such a pleasurable one!

You provide the personal touch and your #1 priority seems to be the needs of your guests.

You went out of your way to provide transportation, arrange trips, describe places to visit and introduce us to the other guests; we were able to build friendships and learn about Australia, Austria, Scotland, England , Africa and other places that we've not yet visited.

I would strongly recommend Candles to those who want great value & service at a budget price!

Anne

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
24 Thank trichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2007

I would recommend Candles..in the wind to anyone who wants to visit Tobago..The place is so welcoming and the host, Andrew made my stay so nice...Their hospitality is remarkable!!! The rooms are cosy, and you feel at home from the moment you walk in....actually I made myself at home by taking a nap as soon as I got there...

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
18 Thank Jaydell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2007

Was lucky enough to stay at Candles for one week in January.

We were very glad we chose the guest house. Our budget would have let us stay at one of the higher-end resorts, but from our research we realised that Tobago was a fantastic place to explore, we did not want to stay put, therefore spending loads on accommodation was a pointless exercise.

Also staying in a friendly place such as this lets you meet like -minded adventurous types and share ideas about the best places to visit and tours to join.

As a base to explore Candles was perfect, 15 min walk from pigeon point, 7 mins from Store bay, 2 mins from restaurants/bars/car hire in crown point. the quality of the accommodation was good for the money. As you wood expect for the cost the rooms are basically furnished, but are clean, comfortable and functional. Air con, cable TV and ceiling fan included. The kitchen was fully stocked with cooking implements.

The only negative for me was lack of mosquito nets and the fridge could have been cleaner.

Andrew, the owner was ever helpfull and really helped us make the most of our limited time. Nothing was too much trouble, and when he had free time, was taking us out on fantastic trips in his mini van, reducing the hastle and time of arranging taxi pick ups or bus travel. A thoroughly fun man to be around, we enjoyed his company very much and was sad to leave him at the airport.

In summary, if you are happy with clean, fuctional, friendly accomodation and plan to get the most out of your time in Tobago stay at Candles, you wont be disappointed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — lack of mosquito nets
  • Tips/Secrets — bring mosquito nets and ear plugs
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank roundtheworldneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
0.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,509 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fish Tobago Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Miller's Guest House
Miller's Guest House
#9 of 92 in Tobago
143 reviews
5.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.6 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candles in the Wind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candles in the Wind

Property: Candles in the Wind
Address: 145 Anthony Charles Crescent | Bon Accord Development, Crown Point, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candles in the Wind 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide cosy comfortable air conditioned accommodation on the enchanting island of Tobago. We are just a stroll away from the pristine beaches of Store Bay and Pigeon Point Beach. We await your arrival to our magical island. Due to the increasing demands from past guests we have recently created affordable mixed Dormitory accommodation in the Attic of Candles in the wind in addition to the already eight rooms that exist. We have installed an initial twelve (12) single beds and there is ample room for a whole classroom, if required.General Facilities....We have two (2) fully equipped Kitchens (one on each floor of the building) which comprise of the following:- Two extra large side/side Refrigerators/ freezers with filtered ice and water dispensers. Two large capacity cooking ranges. B B Que Grill (gas). Microwaves. Toasters. Electric kettles. Coffee percolator....and a generous assortment of cutlery and utensils. We have also provided a large capacity washer and dryer in the Laundry area that is available for your free usage. OUR OBJECTIVE AT "CANDLES" IS TO ENSURE THAT YOU HAVE A COMFORTABLE AND MEMORABLE STAY ON OUR BEAUTIFUL AND ENCHANTING ISLAND OF TOBAGO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Candles in the Wind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candles In The Wind Hotel Crown Point
Candles In The Wind Tobago/Crown Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing