We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little place with so much beauty”
Review of Villa Decary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuevo Arenal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Decary
Ranked #2 of 14 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We found this place by recommendation of another hotel we were at that was full (Gingerbread) and so glad we did.
The owners are great, very accommodating and helpful.
The most amazing was the birds - since we were there in early March, much of the fruit was in season and this brought in the birds. They let us snap some great shots.
The hotel is very nice - ours had 2 double beds and ceiling to floor windows that over look Lake Arenal. A screen door allow access to the (very private) deck area.
A great find!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed for one night at this lovely hotel in Nuevo Arenal. The visit was delightful right from the welcome when we arrived (early), the staff were so helpful and friendly, and the room was gorgeous. The hotel consists of a main wing and some smaller properties, scattered over a seven acre site, with its own short trail through the rain forest. Our room, in the main wing, was delightful, decorated with Central and South America arts and crafts; it had a beautiful private balcony, overlooking the garden, the forest (with colourful tropical birds everywhere) and the lake beyond. Our beds were comfortable, and the recommended restaurant "Gingerbread" (a short walk down the road), gave us a delicious evening meal. Breakfast was gorgeous - fruit (of course) and local tortilla and torta. The owner Dan and his friendly staff couldn't have been more helpful. Highly recommended alternative to the bigger more commercial hotels in the area. You couldn't have better bird watching anywhere in the area. Sit still for long enough, and they all fly past you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggyS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Outstanding! We (5 of us) stayed in this delightful, quiet, beautiful Villa for 6 nights, and I was patting myself on the back the whole time for having found it. A definite must for everyone who is visiting that part of Costa Rica: a great view of Lake Arenal, very close to Nuevo Arenal, and close enough to the other area draws (volcanoes, hot springs, zip lines, Rio Celeste, Cerro Chato, Hanging Bridges) that we were able to take half-day or full-day journeys from our "home base." We reveled in the quiet early mornings, sitting on the porch, drinking coffee, looking at all the beautiful trees and flowers, and watching the many, many birds. The plentiful breakfast was beautifully presented and quite yummy, and we looked forward to it every morning. The staff was amazing - so kind and friendly and helpful. By the end of our stay, we felt like old friends! The farm visit with Elkin and his Mom's homemade lunch were definitely a special treat - the perfect way to experience Costa Rica. It was a wonderful trip, and we would not have enjoyed ourselves as much as we did if we had stayed in a busy, "touristy" place. Villa Decary was perfect for us, and I will recommend it to everyone who is contemplating a trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaSAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The above coordinates are accurate to within 6m and were taken on the balcony of the office; they'll take you right up the driveway.

There’s not much to add to the many glowing reviews already posted…they’re accurate.

It’s delightful to be away from the tourist bustle around La Fortuna and Arenal. The volcano is now dormant so there’s nothing to see there other than a tall pointy mountain.

Villa Decary is close enough and the road’s good enough to easily drive to Arenal or to a hot springs if you want to. Villa Decary is the perfect place to stay.

The farm visit is a must. Elkin’s mom, Duvi, is genuinely charming and one of the happiest people we’ve ever met. Make sure you understand her life story…you’ll never complain again.

The food at Gingerbread House restaurant just down the road is very good. Only order one item for every two or three people as the portions are enormous. You’ll want to sit outside; the indoors atmosphere is that of a noisy US sports bar…the place caters to US expats living in the area and they behave just like they do at home.

We stayed in Latania, a 2-room bungalow with a full kitchen and a balcony/deck overlooking the grounds and the lake. We watched monkeys and birds from the deck.

We loved it here.

Room Tip: All the bungalows have decks with views of the lake and the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LH314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The beauty and tranquility of Villa Decary is extraordinary! From the spacious rooms to the luxurious grounds to the warm, hospitable staff members, every aspect of this retreat is intended to soothe and welcome its guests. We arrived quite late on a very rainy night and were met by two wonderful hosts, Miguel and Elkin, who not only escorted us to our room immediately, but also unloaded and delivered our luggage to the room with a smile. Our room was spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated with a balcony and seating area that offered an amazing view of flowers, tropical plants and wildlife. Miguel and Elkin were gracious, knowledgeable and attentive. They served a wonderful breakfast made special by Elkin's loving touch and were kind enough to give a personal tour of the beautiful grounds while answering our many questions. We look forward to returning to Villa Decary very soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This breathtakingly beautiful villa has such an amazinfg view. The staff is warm and helpful, the food is healthy and delicious and beautifully presented, and the birds and stars just left me totally exhilarated. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This small, beautiful villa is located on a hill overlooking Arenal Lake and the mountains beyond. The rooms are colorful, large, and spotlessly clean. The staff is welcoming, warm, and friendly. The breakfasts are healthy and huge! Besides a large individual plate of fresh fruit, a different "entre" was freshly prepared each morning. The staff was very helpful in directing us towards a variety of activities in the area that suited our interests. If you want a close look at a rural working farm in a remote area of the country, arrange for a tour of Elkin's family farm. Our group had an adventurous and fun day on Elkin's farm which was capped with a delicious mid-day meal prepared by his mom. I highly recommend Villa Decary!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Arenal hotels
4.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
271 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#1 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gingerbread Hotel
Gingerbread Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Agua Inn
Agua Inn
#5 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
85 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chalet Nicholas
Chalet Nicholas
#7 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
106 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ceiba Tree Lodge
Ceiba Tree Lodge
#1 of 7 in Nuevo Arenal
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Decary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Decary

Address: 1 Mile East of Town | Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Arenal's most beautiful hotel. Botanical garden and rain forest setting, spectacular views of Lake Arenal, the Tilaran Mountains and the rain forest. All accommodations have private entry, private hot water bathroom, private deck, orthopedic mattresses. Rates include scrumptious breakfasts, beautifully served. Casitas with full kitchens available. Monkeys, 140 species of birds. Peaceful, private, serene. Close to many activities: kayaking, fishing, hot springs, volcano, birding, canopy tours, windsurfing, horseback riding, nature walks and more. Great eateries nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Decary Hotel Nuevo Arenal
Villa Decary Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing