We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gotta see it to believe it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Decary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuevo Arenal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Decary
Ranked #2 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“gotta see it to believe it!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was our second stay at the Villa Decary - both were wonderful! Suzi and Dan are great hosts with a wealth of local knowledge - they were very helpful, even making reservations for dinner and booking activities for us. We've stayed at a lot of bed and breakfasts the world over and the breakfast at Villa Decary is the very best! Breakfast starts with a lovely presentation of fresh fruits and a rotating menu featuring local meals like tamales and gallo pinto and also classics like pancakes and waffles means something new every day. Add in Elkin’s gracious service and it truly is the best!
Highly recommended is a tour of Elkin's family's farm - (on our first trip) we had a phenomenal day that included hiking through the woods, bathing in waterfalls, and was capped off by a great meal cooked by Elkin's mother.
This is one of those rare places where the website doesn't do it justice - upon our first arrival here we were stunned by the three dimensional nature of the property as a whole and the stunning views of the lake from the hillside. Yoga is offer two days a week - on a balcony high on the hillside and in the rainforest! The rooms are great with comfortable balconies overlooking the lake and beer and soda available from the fridge in the outdoor hall. This is a place worth staying every trip to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan_and_Thom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
169
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Great location with gorgeous views. The Elkin farm tour was very special and we would highly recommend it. One of the best things we did in CR. Elkin is extremely knowledgeable of the area and he has a wonderful family. His mother Duvi is a delightful person and prepared a wonderful lunch for us after the tour. Also getting to meet his father Vin, brother Giovanni and Noilyn who helped prepare the meal was special. Thanks to Elkin we ended our trip in CR on a special note. Dan and Suzy were also very friendly and helpful with information.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We went on several forest hikes on our trip and saw more birds here at VDecary. The breakfasts were very good and varied...good use of local ingredients. The inn is close to the road and you need to have the windows open for ventilation....the trucks are a bit loud and run early morning.
The two highlights: First, Suzy is by the far the best correspondent I have ever had prior to a visit. She seemed to be waiting at her computer for my endless stream of questions. She made us a dinner reservation for our first night and recommended a rental car person...above and beyond in my view. Second, the local farm visit with Elkin is incredibly unique. He is an enthusiatic guide to show off where he grew up and then have lunch at the family home amongst the flowers and pepper plants. If he could bottle his Mother, he would be rich! He is full of stories about growing up and very knowledgable about the land and birds and animals (and yes, about the trout stream that runs through the farm)....you are missing the most unique guided hike I have ever been on if you don't do this. Kenneth is a good cook, also

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckydog12341378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cottage grove, oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This is truly a very beautiful place to stay. The grounds are incredible and we had a wonderful time sitting on our deck watching and listening to the birds with Lake Arenal as the backdrop. The only challenge was the rather steep driveway with tight turns. Breakfast the next morning was both visually pleasing and delicious. The staff did a really nice job of helping us and we noticed several people also visiting had stayed here before. We wished we'd been able to stay for more than just one night. Would highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cstclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at Villa Decary and it was very pleasant all around. The rooms are clean, breakfast delicious and plentiful and the bird watching is amazing. Dan and Suzy are friendly and welcoming and a valuable source of information about the region. A variety of good local restaurants to choose from, including the Gingerbread which was fabulous and right next door. Would highly recommend this B&B without hesitation.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just returned home from a week visit to CR----what an amazing family holiday we experienced. We spent 5 days in Nosara visiting with a friend who recommended that we visit Arenal and stay at Villa Decary and we are sooooo happy we did! Suzy and Dan (as mentioned in previous reviews) spend a lot of time (emails and in person) helping their guests plan activities and make arrangements from transportation to restaurant reservations, etc. The Villa is wonderful--- very friendly staff, great food, incredible views (property & lake). Our car rental arrangement (made in Liberia) didn't work out but we didn't have a problem (probably worked out better for us) Suzy & Dan helped arrange taxi's with locals who gave us many tips on things to see and places to stop and eat at that we probably would have missed. All the people we encountered were amazing --- very happy and helpful!! Our family of 5---with 3 young adults had one of our best family holidays. While in Arenal we did the white water rafting excursion one day and zip-lining the next---which were great adventures that Suzy helped arrange. All the food was awesome --- we ate both nights at The Gingerbread Restaurant as we didn't have a car and it was a 5 min walk and were thrilled with the food and experience. Our family found the food was probably the best we have ever had and the cost was similar to what you would pay at home but better quality and quantity---the owner is a character!! We have been home 2 days and I am looking out my window at 3 feet of snow with -25 degree temps wishing I was back in paradise. Thank you to everyone who made our trip so memorable -- Suzy, Dan, Elkin, Emilce (Balo), etc, and Jocelyn (for recommending we go). A must stop in CR!!
Pam, Garth & family (Saskatoon, Canada)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schomberg, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Villa Decary is easy to find directly off the main highway south of Nuevo Arenal. The location is terrific with views of Lake Arenal and the Villa gardens. Colourful birds including Montezuma Oropendola and Toucan were in the trees and on the deck at breakfast. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the hosts Dan and Suzy were great. Local Restaurants including Moyas Place and La Delicias are terrific. Gingerbread House is closed on Mondays when we were visiting. We loved the town of Nuevo Arenal.

Room Tip: Our Lake View room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
4.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
254 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,797 reviews
13.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#25 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
780 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#1 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agua Inn
Agua Inn
#4 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Decary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Decary

Property: Villa Decary
Address: Mile East of Town 1 | Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Arenal's most beautiful hotel. Botanical garden and rain forest setting, spectacular views of Lake Arenal, the Tilaran Mountains and the rain forest. All accommodations have private entry, private hot water bathroom, private deck, orthopedic mattresses. Rates include scrumptious breakfasts, beautifully served. Casitas with full kitchens available. Monkeys, 140 species of birds. Peaceful, private, serene. Close to many activities: kayaking, fishing, hot springs, volcano, birding, canopy tours, windsurfing, horseback riding, nature walks and more. Great eateries nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Decary Hotel Nuevo Arenal
Villa Decary Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing