We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Villa Decary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuevo Arenal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Decary
Ranked #2 of 13 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

What a wonderful little gem! We loved the privacy and independence of our little casita which was kept spotless every day. Dan and Suzy are wonderful hosts and a great wealth of information, they were very gracious about answering our many questions.

They birds were amazing, we had a pair of toucans working on a nest behind our place that we took great joy in watching every day. Elkin took time everyday to point out birds, frogs and plants for us. What a gem they have in him!

We would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 572Margaret572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Dan and Suzy are wonderful hosts and breakfast with their local birds is a delight. Their staff are friendly and welcoming too. We also enjoyed Olivia (their dog) who is a sweetie and will walk with you sometimes as you trek along. Easy walk to Gingerbread, a restaurant renowned throughout CR for its great food, so no need to drive after dining and wining there. This B&B deserves to be #1 in (1 in = 2.54 cm) the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We've stayed in places from San Jose to Liberia and by far, this was the one that captured our hearts. We are not "birders" but were enthralled by the variety of flora & fauna available to enjoy. We saw not only birds, but monkeys as well on the grounds. Suzy, Dan & Elkin were always willing to point out the animals and tell us about them. It felt like we had a cabin in the woods. We were in the main house, which was a one-bedroom w/bath. The rooms and balcony are arranged such that we had our privacy and had fantastic views. Not having a television was great, as it forced us to focus on the sights and sounds and each other's company. We were never bored!

This B&B is centrally located. The owners, Suzy & Dan were the most gracious hosts you can imagine and an invaluable source of information. They know and can arrange for all the activities and tours and which ones are better suited for your needs and interests. They are a delightful couple who quickly feel like your family/best friends. Elkin, their assistant is the embodiment of Costa Rican culture: friendly, open, wanting to be of assistance. He treats everyone like a best friend and is always eager to be of assistance. Villa Carey is a wonderful place to stay regardless, but the warmth and friendliness of the staff there made it feel like a home away from home.

Unlike most other places we have stayed at, breakfast was always something to look forward to. It was not the same selection day-after-day. Rather, each day was a different selection of Costa Rican cuisine and provided us with an opportunity to sample a FRESH variety of breakfast meals. A variety of breads were baked fresh by Dan and all breakfasts were prepared fresh daily and not warmed up leftovers from the previous day. We stayed there a week and never repeated a meal!

We have stayed at other B&B's in this area. This is definitely the best of them all and we will be staying there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Corner suites are quieter and offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We booked this last minute on our way up to Monteverde. We were lucky that they happened to have one room available.

The room was fantastic. Very clean with a very large deck with a great view of Lake Arenal. The area surrounding Villa Decary is full of birds. If you are a bird person you need to stay here. I am not a bird person but even I was amazed!

The breakfast in the morning was fantastic! We would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A wonderful B&B in the Arenal area; close to hiking in Fortuna and visiting Arenal Observatory.
If you like hiking make sure you hike (climb!) Cerra Chato!!! The views and lake on the top is worth it!
Our hosts, especially Suzi was a great help deciding how best to spend our days and was a wealth of information about everything in the area. The rooms in the main lodge were nice but a bit noisy for us; it's so quiet outside, the cars and motorcycles on the road out front were so loud in contrast. We were bothered by this on the first night, but were able to switch to a cabin behind the lodge for the next 2 nights at no extra charge! It was much quieter. But be prepared to climb a hill to get there!
They served the best breakfasts we had in our 6 week stay in Costa Rica! Wonderful variety, and very fresh. They happily catered to my husbands gluten intolerance. There's a fabulous restaurant called Gingerbread in walking distance (be careful on the busy road)...so good we had 2 dinners there!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, stay in a cabin in the back of property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaledonEastLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We planned to stay at Villa DeCary for 2 nights, but stayed for 6. The breakfasts were fabulous,and Dan and Suzy, the owners, are very gracious and helpful. They had hints for where not to eat as well as where to find the best meals in the region, advised us on a shortcut for our drive to the airport in Liberia, and allowed us to join a garden club tour of their renown palm plantings.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook Lake Arenal, and the casitas have kitchenettes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pneimark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed in one of the casita for 4 nights. The casita is well equiped and is very comfortable.
the breakfast is great and different every day.
The place is located about 30-45 min from Arenal volcano and La Fortuna.
Hosts were very helpful and recommended a great safari in Corobici where we saw a lot of animals. Also this place is great for bird watching.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms, they have a better view on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
4.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
262 reviews
8.1 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
829 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#1 of 13 in Nuevo Arenal
241 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ceiba Tree Lodge
Ceiba Tree Lodge
#1 of 7 in Nuevo Arenal
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Decary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Decary

Address: Mile East of Town 1 | Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Arenal's most beautiful hotel. Botanical garden and rain forest setting, spectacular views of Lake Arenal, the Tilaran Mountains and the rain forest. All accommodations have private entry, private hot water bathroom, private deck, orthopedic mattresses. Rates include scrumptious breakfasts, beautifully served. Casitas with full kitchens available. Monkeys, 140 species of birds. Peaceful, private, serene. Close to many activities: kayaking, fishing, hot springs, volcano, birding, canopy tours, windsurfing, horseback riding, nature walks and more. Great eateries nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Decary Hotel Nuevo Arenal
Villa Decary Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing