We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully secluded, but not out of touch”
Review of Villa Decary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuevo Arenal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Decary
Ranked #1 of 14 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Pros: Suzy and the other help were incredibly hospitable, and helpful in booking reservations for local attractions/food. The location is about 40 min from the touristy Fortuna area, close enough to the local culture, but far enough away to have the beautiful Lake Arenal and Volcano to ourselves. Also, the delightful fare of clean, well lit, and safe feeling was present at Villa Decary.

Breakfast was made for us as we arrived downstairs in the common area everyday, and was terrific. Local flavors, and home made breads, and fresh fruits, with a custom blend of local Costa Rican Coffee to boot. Delish, and a great start to the day.

Cons: Sadly the volcano is not in view most of the year, the clouds block its view most of the time, but i can hardly fault Villa Decary for this! Also there not too much of a Volcano view available at the Hotel (but there are nice views of the lake, birds and surrounding forest landscape)

Other: I would highly recommend renting a car if you stay here, although there is local transport and chauffers available in the area as well.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rioderbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2008

We stayed here for three nights. It was peaceful and quiet. Bring binoculars -- we saw many toucans in the grounds!

The breakfast was great.

This is a small place set in beautiful grounds. Arenal volcano is about 1/2 hour drive away. Villa Decary is away from the clutter of La Fortuna. The owner was extremely helpful. A pleasant place to stay for a few days.

Note there is free wifi at the German bakery in Nuevo Arenal ( 2 kilometers away)

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HappyTravels68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicolas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Alsprecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Luna4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lushan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Heimo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
4.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
265 reviews
13.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,034 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#2 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gingerbread Hotel
Gingerbread Hotel
#3 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
137 reviews
13.3 mi away
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
#1 of 78 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,026 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chalet Nicholas
Chalet Nicholas
#8 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Decary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Decary

Address: Mile East of Town 1 | Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Arenal's most beautiful hotel. Botanical garden and rain forest setting, spectacular views of Lake Arenal, the Tilaran Mountains and the rain forest. All accommodations have private entry, private hot water bathroom, private deck, orthopedic mattresses. Rates include scrumptious breakfasts, beautifully served. Casitas with full kitchens available. Monkeys, 140 species of birds. Peaceful, private, serene. Close to many activities: kayaking, fishing, hot springs, volcano, birding, canopy tours, windsurfing, horseback riding, nature walks and more. Great eateries nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Decary Hotel Nuevo Arenal
Villa Decary Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing