We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
San Isidro del General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An absolute gift”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We didn't plan to stay in Arenal while we were looking at property. But, we changed our plans and decided to stay the night. We asked our realtor if he could help us find a place to stay. And he made a call and arranged for our stay at La Mansion.
We had no suspicion about the treat we were about to enjoy. We were given two outstanding choices of a junior suite or a private cottage. It was like being forced to choose between chocolate cake or a chocolate brownie. Either was just pure heaven. The furniture and decoration were perfect. The bed was wonderful. But, even in the dark, the property was beautiful.
But, that beauty was nothing compared to the vision of the lake and all the surroundings the next morning. This is a truly exquisite spot. I would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    52
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
83
100
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

On a recent trip to CR to visit friends on the coast, my fiance and I made time to drive up to see the Arenal area over 2 days and two nights. La Mansion attracted us as our "home at the lake" due to it's relatively secluded location yet proximity to the volcano and other attractions we wanted to take-in. We were thoughoughly impressed with our entire experience at La Mansion.

Our cottage was the perfect retreat at the end of the day and felt like a home away from home. Waking-up to the view of the lake, the gardens, and horses in the field below us had us pinching ourselves out of a dream.

Our hosts and their staff were delightful. They made time for us - personally and professionally and consistently exceeded our expectations.

The dining-room was an outstanding experience. Our dinner of Sea Bass / Filet on our first night was one of the finest meals I have had, anywhere. Period.

A soak in the spring-fed hot-tub to watch the sun-set wrapped up our days.

The ambience of the Inn is relaxed and unpretentous with an unmistakable old-world charm and exceptional quality.

We look forward to our next (and longer) visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Friends of ours who did a 3 month honeymoon through-out South and Central America advised us to come here. And they were right. We spend 10 days in a 2 bed room cottage. The Cottage had a king size bed, air conditioning, big bathroom, seating area ... and the most amazing view.
The pool is filled with fresh spring water and an incredible view.
The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the staff was extremely helpful, friendly and trustworthy. Thank you Gottfried and Peggy for taking care of us and organizing our trips.
This is the best place ever to come and relax and enjoy Costa Rica! Pura Vida!
Stephan & Lise

Room Tip: Check out the Hot Springs in the Area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay in a one bedroom cottage. The cottage had a king size bed, air conditioning, huge bathroom, refrigerator, sitting area, and patio with a beautiful view. The pool was so pleasant to cool off and watch the sunset. The grounds were gogeous. Enjoyed breakfast every morning looking at Lake Arenal. The staff was very helpful. Three restaurants within walking distance. Hanging Bridges and several hot springs were a short drive away. Could not have chosen a better place to stay. We went during "green season" and received 3 nights for the price of 2, what a great deal!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiKenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

First I want to thank LEO and his staff. Leo is the owner of the location and on hand to answer any questions you might have. The location is about 20 to 25 minutes away the other spring resorts and volcano. You get to see a really beautiful lake drive and a dam on the way there. The roads are winding, up and down but hey, thats Costa Rica and part of the adventure. We stayed here for 3 nights. We were 6 in all, wife, kids and my sons girlfriend. We used this as a place to stay and sleep. While there we went to the Springs Resort Rio club and went horseback riding, tubing and enjoyed there hot springs. Were returned every night to a great meal and a confortable quiet place to stay. Price was right for a group this large, we were all confortable and had a bed to sleep on. Place is clean, quiet and really beautiful.

Leo I wish you the worlds best sucess. Thank you for mailing me back my license I left behind. Very nice of you. Save me hours at our local division of motor vehicles...

We had a great time and had Zero complaints. Place is really beautiful

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We spent 3 nights in the arenal area at La Mansion Inn. The deal was really great; we paid $165 for two nights in a "deluxe cottage" and got the third night for free. The cottage had an extra bedroom which we didn't use, a nice sized bathroom, and plenty of space in the living area with a couch, TV and dresser. Everything was very clean; there were lots of ants but they are unavoidable as you are in the middle of the rainforest. The view of Lake Arenal from our private patio was fantastic all day and in the evening (we were in cottage 2 but it seems like everyone has a great, private view). You do need a car to stay here but it's really not a bad drive at all from La Fortuna, and we avoided extra fees on our tours by driving into town rather than getting picked up by the tour bus. Peggy, the owner, was very nice and helpful in getting us tours booked. We also did the Selva Leona rainforest tour which is organized by the hotel. It was a great day - boat ride across the lake where the driver helped point out birds, then a couple hour horseback ride, a hike down to some great waterfalls, and a (very authentic) bbq lunch cooked by our tour guides, who are a local family. Their English was not great but they were incredibly nice and accomodating. The pool at the hotel is small but I'd imagine that most people aren't staying in Arenal to hang out by the pool, and the view is gorgeous. My one qualm at this hotel is the food. The breakfast was edible but not much more than that - included for free is pretty good bread from a local bakery and jams, coffee & OJ. everything else (eggs, granola) was reasonably priced. we had dinner here two nights before exploring other options in the area, which were much better, cheaper and more interesting. The food at the hotel was just not very good and we ended up spending $50-60 excluding alcohol and left each dinner disappointed. There are plenty of fun options in the area and the road is dark but completely drivable at night so this shouldn't be a deterrent. Overall we absolutely loved our stay at La Mansion Inn - gorgeous, great room, good location and a perfect outpost for our trip to Arenal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have just returned from two weeks at La Mansion. The staff, location, views, birds, and proximity to excursions/ adventures were perfect. We couldn't recommend this beautiful hotel more highly. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to make us all feel at home. Our teenagers found lots to do and can't wait to go back. The rooms all had stunning views....I can only wonder if this is a little like what the Garden of Eden might have looked like. Looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
10.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
10.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
18.8 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
10.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
4.7 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#26 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel

Property: La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
Address: La Union de Nuevo Arenal, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive and luxurious Arenal hotel is located amidst overwhelming nature and tropical gardens on the scenic ARENAL LAKE. The inn is made up of 17 luxury boutique VILLAS of 1-3 bedrooms, all with their own private tropical gardens, terrace, AC, satellite TV, fridge and sweeping lake views. The Mansion Inn is the ideal starting point for the activities in the ARENAL and TENORIO area, like fishing, Hanging Bridges, Canopy, Selva Leona,Volcano Hike, Bird watching, Venado Caves, Rio Celeste...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing