We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$127
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa(Arenal Volcano National Park)
US$255
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$509
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel(Tenorio Volcano National Park)
US$192
US$185
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Castillo del Arenal(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$326
US$282
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linda Vista Hotel(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lavas Tacotal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$94
US$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
206
58
12
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
58
12
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageshorses grazingview of the lakeselva leonainfinity poolthe ownersecond bedroomcosta ricale bistrocovered hot tubrolling hillssitting arealate at nightpasta dishesvaried menuhorseback tourday trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2013

wow. this place is paradise. the pictures truly do not do it justice. Rustic and charming, with lots to do in the area. the roads have improved locally and the locals are working hard to cater to travelers.

The rooms are stunning. Not manicured and artificial; rather they are truly authentic to the area and great for an escape from the "west".

Terrific staff and owners make this place a 10/10. We will return again and again. Thank you La Mansion. We miss you already!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, speak with the birds!! Close the windows and put on the air. The birds in the area are exotic and up at day break! The rooms are very comfortable but not "western". they are authentic - lots of murals on the walls and tiles everywhere. Clean and great fun.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonHardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We enjoyed 6 fabulous nights at La Mansion! After our long drive in the first night from San Jose - we were greeted by Peggy who quickly showed us to our cabin to unload. We went into the restaurant for a quick bite and a drink and met Cindy and quickly knew we made the right choice for our stay! Leo & Peggy were fabulous...recommending places to eat, making reservations and even scheduling massages for us. Cindy was wonderful...trying to teach us Spanish and making recommendations on things to do. We had planned day excursions in the area and La Mansion was conveniently located between everything we wanted to see, and so relaxing to come back to every evening to sit on our porch and listen to the birds. Beautiful Place & Beautiful People – we love La Mansion!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We were happy to quickly escape the tourist bustle in La Fortuna and make the scenic drive to Neuvo Arenal with gorgeous views of Lake Arenal and the grassy hillsides. You cannot see the volcano from this place, but it is a short drive away. Having a car rental provides you with the freedom and flexibility to explore the Arenal area to its fullest, and you will need one if you're staying at La Mansion. We rented a Cabin Deluxe which provided comfortable space for a couple and 2 friends in separate rooms. There were 2 showers (but only 1 toilet) and a sitting area and fridge and a safe for keeping valuables...the views were so lovely from our porch that we didn't ever bother to turn on the satellite TV! We enjoyed our morning breakfast in the restaurant, but didn't eat a proper meal there...The staff was always helpful, and the decor of both the rooms and the main area feels very upscale. The pool has lovely views, but the hot tub area needs a bit of maintenance. Overall - we very much enjoyed "treating ourselves" to what felt like a luxurious stay, but was actually quite affordable. Definitely recommended if you are in the area.

Room Tip: All of the cabins have 'private' views overlooking Lake Arenal and the fields with grazing horses...I really don't think you can go wrong!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife and I second all the wonderful things that have been said about this wonderful hotel, it's owners and the staff. We have one small story to add. On our last night there we ordered the salad and the entree. It all proved too much food for my wife and she hardly touched the meat in her entree. We asked the waitress to wrap it and we would keep it in the fridge in our unit overnight. She kindly obliged. The following morning I asked Leo, the owner, if the girl in the kitchen could use that meat to make up some sandwiches to go. Without any hesitation he said " of course". That makes us feel valued as customers. We would certainly return to La Mansion.
Fran and Denis Berube, Vancouver, Canada

Room Tip: It seems that all units have a wonderful view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemtoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Our stay last week in La mansion was really great !
The environment is fantastic, room spacious and creatively furnished .
Peggy gives all necessary information, and we were really enchated by the day trip on the other side of thne lake . A must do for those whi want to feel what Costa Rica really is . Your guide Nixon, will help you on your horses ( even if you can't drive, it is easy, no problem and fun ) , show you great scneries and cook you a "mountain-bbq".
Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patlambein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews