We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet and one-of-a-kind place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“A quiet and one-of-a-kind place to stay”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were very lucky to stumble onto this place
We had one of the best stays we've had while traveling in Costa Rica , mostly due to the owners of the hotel, Don Leo and Peggy, they made us feel so welcome. They are very knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful about information, booking tours and all the little things they did to make our travel a little easier and make us more comfortable.
the cottages or rooms are separate very private villas they are big and really cool with antique furniture and murals, ours had a second bedroom and not only did it have a hot tub, but it also had a private terrace with a great view of the lake and could we watch the best sunsets.
A complementary hearty breakfasts with delicious bread, marmalade, juice and Costa Rican coffee, are served in the dining room or you can take it in the terrace by the pool.
The lush gardens around the pool are a great place for just being with nature and a short walk to the lake and you can use the hotels kayaks.
We felt so at home that we didn't want to leave. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that want a relaxed time away from the hustle and bustle , its perfect!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarceloManuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    53
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
84
104
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at La Mansion for just 1 night. When we got there we intended to spend a weekend but we changed our minds once we met the owner of the Hotel. Cold and extremely rude. But we were too tired to look for another Hotel late at night... After paying for the first night, he took us to the room and without us seeing he took the AC remote control out of the room. I was in shock! So my boyfriend asked him for the remote control and he said :"Well ! you can have it but you will have to pay extra!" . I wanted to leave but was too late to do that . I felt robed, betrayed and I was extremely upset. Next day we woke up and went for the supposed included "complimentary breakfast" until 10 am. We get there 15 minutes before 10 am and he told us" No more Breakfast service" and that we would have to pay...It cost us $36 dollars for 2 omelets with cheese , toast and 2 coffees. So , my advise to you is if you ever pass by Lake Arenal in Costa Rica do not stop at La mansion otherwise you will regret it. By the way I always believed in this saying: "If you have nothing good to say ...dont say it at all"!! But this time I will make an exception . Patricia and George

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwestwind, Owner at La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
YOU GOT A SPECIAL RATE of $ 100 instead of the regular $ 165 rate, and I told you it was WITHOUT AC. The guide booklet in the cottages mention breakfast is served 6:30-9:30 and our rates include CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST. You ordered 2 omelets with ham, which anyway are not included in the continental breakfast, and you would have to pay for, even if you arrived in time for the breakfast. So, the only extra you had to pay for coming late were 2 servings of coffee for $ 5.38.
So in total, tax included you paid $146.68. Expensive for a 4* hotel?
I am sorry if you felt I was rude and the service bad. This is a very personal impression, as proved by the reviews of our other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

One can not beat the location of this hotel. It has the perfect setting with gorgeous views of the lake. The concept of the individual villas is great, but the house cleaning crew is very lacking in their duties. For Costa Rica, this place is fairly expensive. Not to mention that the dinner menu lacks any thinking that this would be a great place to eat. If you don't like pasta dishes prepared more ways then one can think of, this is not the place for you. If you want to get a way from it all, this is the place. Just don't eat there and keep your shoes on while in your room.

Room Tip: all rooms face the lake, so hard not to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwestwind, Owner at La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
We recently opened the BISTRO restaurant, specialised in delicious pasta, salads, quesadillos, guacamole..: fresh dishes people are asking for all the time. In addition we always offer more soficated dishes with meat, fish and chicken.
You could have tried one of these.
Starting December 15 we will re-open our gourmet Belgian restaurant.
We apoligise that the cottage was not as clean as it normally is. The housekeeping girls had to prepare 12 cottages for a wedding group coming in next days, and they admitted they did not properly do their job in your cottage. Our appologises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

20 min away from Arenal volcano and busier "resort" hotels la Mansion is a quaint, unique and villa only gem with super views over lake Arenal. Beautiful villas, grounds and good food. Nothing nearby but if you want to experience the area away from the crowds stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robnimkoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Very nice weekeend specially canoeing! We had a nice weather eventhough it rained but it made the stay more relaxing. We also enjoyed the hot water pool. Lunch was veeeery good, pomodoro pasta and parmesan mushrooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chio17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at La Mansion. Our hosts, Leo and Peggy, are welcoming and expert at advising their guests. The staff is equally accommodating, the property is both beautiful and artistically quirky. Cottages are extremely comfortable with great beds and showers. The scenery is magnificent and the views were apparently considered when the cottages were constructed.

Our experience in the restaurant was also wonderful. The included continental breakfast was delicious and enough for those of us without monstrous appetites. We also had a very good dinner there and did not find it, as described by others, as "expensive".

I would agree that the location only works if you have a car, as we did. I was not as impressed with the town of Nuevo Arenal as I have been in other similarly sized towns elsewhere in the country. The drive to La Fortuna took approximately 45 minutes and the roads, while smooth and paved, are quite winding.

If we had more time we might have preferred to merely stay at La Mansion and enjoy its amenities rather than exploring the surrounding area. There's much to do right on the property. We had originally passed it on the way from Monteverde to Arenal and would especially recommend La Mansion for a break between those two locations.

Room Tip: Each cottage seems to have a different arrangement. We stayed in two 2 BR cottages. The second bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlmdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larue, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

La Mansion is located on a beautiful piece of property overlooking Lake Arenal. The dining patio and restaurant have incredible views of the lake, the infinity pool and lovely flower gardens.

The staff, owners and chef make dining an occasion worth repeating! The rooms are perfect...large, comfortable, elegant in a charming way. We enjoyed sitting on our individual patio and watching the various birds and the distant horses grazing on a green pasture that rolled down to the lake! What a perfect setting!

We all agreed that La Mansion is a special place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
4.7 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
819 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
10.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,278 reviews
10.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel

Property: La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
Address: La Union de Nuevo Arenal, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive and luxurious Arenal hotel is located amidst overwhelming nature and tropical gardens on the scenic ARENAL LAKE. The inn is made up of 17 luxury boutique VILLAS of 1-3 bedrooms, all with their own private tropical gardens, terrace, AC, satellite TV, fridge and sweeping lake views. The Mansion Inn is the ideal starting point for the activities in the ARENAL and TENORIO area, like fishing, Hanging Bridges, Canopy, Selva Leona,Volcano Hike, Bird watching, Venado Caves, Rio Celeste...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing