We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique german experience in Costa Rica”

Tom's Pan German Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$18
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
San Antonio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique german experience in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Unique dining experience in Costa Rica. We randomly stopped here and were reasonably surprised. The schnitzel special of the day was ok, fairly dry piece of meat but the bratwurst was really good. I would recommend getting the plate with two brats vs. the sandwich. Also got a few cookies from the bakery which were very good. Nice view

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanAntonioTXtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    142
    78
    58
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice people , yet nothng special”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

it is a nice place to stop by for your morning coffee and rolls, but nothing special (and are a bit pricier..).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meiran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Pit Stop”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stopped while we were driving from the Arenal Volcano area to Monteverde. We loved our pastry and found cacao for sale as well. Karen was very nice and wonderful to talk with. She was very helpful answering any questions we had. We look forward to stopping another time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TroyQuimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cheesecake not so fresh ”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped at this bakery on our drive to Arenal. While it is a nice roadside spot, their food, at least the cheesecake I shared with my boyfriend, was not good at all. They also had limited coffee drink selections. My boyfriend wanted an ice latte but they don't have it.

Helpful?
Thank Shengxiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place for a bite”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stopped by on my way through. Had the Gulasch soup and strudel.Both were excellent. A great European lunch in the middle of the tropics.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joshpete123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tom's Pan German Bakery also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Tom's Pan German Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing