We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite.”

Gingerbread Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Not to be missed, highlight your Costa Rican adventures with the best food in the country and a unique fine dining experience with the one and only Chef Eyal. Enjoy family style "international-fusion" cuisine made fresh from only the best local ingredients. And for the full Gingerbread experience, let Chef Eyal pick your menu for the night.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped in on the recommendation of the owners of our B&B and we're extremely glad we did! We had a blackened tuna salad, sautéed mushrooms, dorado, sea bass and shrimp stir fry and a cherry brownie with ice cream. The mushrooms and salad were some of the best dishes I've ever had. It was expensive (around $15 per salad and appetizer and $25-30 per entree) but my girlfriend and I split everything and we're very full. It was just over $100 with drinks for the 2 of us. The owner and chef was a great dude, we didn't realize they only accepted cash and left to hit the ATM and when we returned he said we could have just paid the next morning. It was a great meal overall!

Helpful?
Thank Elnino32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    25
    5
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss a meal here!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

One would probably never expect to have such a selection of gourmet meals in such a remote area, but this restaurant far exceeded our expectations. Chef Eyal is unique - passionate about food - and it shows. We have visited many times and never been disappointed. The portions are very generous. It is a good idea for 2 people to order one appetizer and one entree, thereby saving room for dessert! The atmosphere is warm and cozy, and the food divine.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“extremely disappointing”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The chef/owner was rude and obnoxious. He was insulting almost the minute we walked in as he welcomed us in...he was drinking at the bar and using language that was loud, offensive and insulting. The steak was definitely not a filet as described on the menu. I think he needs a reality check.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank travelcrazy1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Town, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Words Aren't good enough to describe this place”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Hands down best place to stay and dine at in the Country. You will feel right at home in the rooms and in the restaurant. Eyal (the owner), has breakfast ready for you at the exact time you request it, and then he helps you plan out each day and will even make the phone calls necessary to to reserve spots for things like zip lining, or to get you kayaks for the day. He will also plan your day out accordingly. If you want a relaxing day vs. an adventuous day, Eyal has all the answers. He also speaks perfect English, in case your worried about any language barriers. And as for the food....you will just need to find that one out for yourself. It's irrisitable ....food will never be the same for me...I miss his food so much. I do suggest that you just allow Eyal to cook for you and don't bother with picking from the menu. Trust me, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon this due to a recommendation while searching for food at dark in Arenal. My husband and I looked up the website and being from Chicago it perked our interest. We spent our 4th anniversary here and it was spectacular! Best food the entire trip and even better than most restaurants in Chicago! Eyal is fabulous, humble, personal. We even went the next day! You could tell he is loved by the community for other restaurant owners around the town came to visit. Amazing!

Helpful?
Thank Adrienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gingerbread Restaurant also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
 

Been to Gingerbread Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing