We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot -- beautiful setting, lovely accomodations, awesome innkeeper”
Review of Agua Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agua Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot -- beautiful setting, lovely accomodations, awesome innkeeper”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My girlfriend and I were visiting the Arenal Volcano as part of a recent trip to Cost Rica. A friend told us about Agua Inn and it ended up being the perfect start to our 10-day vacation -- in fact we were scheduled to stay 2 nights but added an additional night cause we just couldn't leave.

Our room was big, nicely appointed (in fact there was a beautiful custom wardrobe with shelves and a hanging space), huge shower with waterfall shower head. Upon arrival, we laid down for a quick rest and woke up 2 hours later -- ahhhhhh.

Trent, innkeeper and concierge extraordinaire, helped us with recommendations for day trips, the best zip line and delicious eating locations (one in La Fortuna and one right in Nuevo Arenal) -- delish! Just ask for assistance.

Each morning we awoke to the smell of coffee with steamed milk and found fresh fruit, pastries and eggs if we wanted for breakfast. I will be back on my next trip to CR, hopefully next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
49
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

If you're looking for a retreat to relax and unwind, Agua Inn is perfect! From the peaceful blue and white sign at the driveway entrance to the calming sounds of the flowing river, Agua Inn is a perfect example of Costa Rican, "Pura Vida!" This is truly living and one of the reasons we came to the country and the stunningly beautiful Arenal area. Surrounded by lush foliage and beautiful plant life, my husband and I couldn't help but enjoy the sounds and sights of nature. We especially appreciated the wonderfully hot shower with ample water pressure. Breakfast was cooked fresh and served with an array of local fruits. Trent and his staff helped us to feel totally comfortable and at home and we will visit again and tell our friends.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ib2qtpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We loved staying in Agua Inn, we felt welcomed by the owner and staff, the location is amazing - you can walk down the stairs into the river! the rooms are modest and clean, and the whole air of the place is truly magical. Don't expect luxury, but a true feeling of Costa Ric + a great rooster & chicken esperience as a morning meditation.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms with the screens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yotvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little egg harbor, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

My family and I had a wonderful, relaxing time. The apartment was spacious and inviting and the shower was hot and had great water pressure(rare in CR).We loved the pool and the sitting areas, the breakfast was good and the owner and staff were great.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredthecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The staff here was absolutely wonderful and helpful. They evidently love where they are, and what they do. The Agua Inn was certainly "Off the beaten path" but I am so glad we stumbled upon that path. It was a perfect start to our entire Costa Rican experience and we would certainly return. We were fortunate to have met such great people both staff and other guests alike. Our only regret is that we slept through the gathering that saturday night and missed a great night out on the town! Thanks Agua Inn and a special thanks to Trent and family.

Rachael and Jay from Myrtle Beach, SC

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael_and_Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2011

This was our favorite B&B. The place is so lovely and homey with friendly staff and excellent service. It was a magical experience. We plan to return with our entire family.

Laura and Neil Mitchell
Waco Texas

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauramitchell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2010

First and foremost, I want to say that the owner of this place is an awesome person! Very welcoming and genuine guy. Met my friend and I white water rafting and offered his place out to us. Beautiful property, great rooms, and the serenity there is amazing! very much another home away from your own. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. If getting away from the turist scene is what you're looking; this is the place to do so! Definitley going to make another trip back to see all of the friends we made there again. Thanks Trent!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metalex85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
12.6 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
802 reviews
6.0 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
260 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,281 reviews
15.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,888 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#2 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Inn

Property: Agua Inn
Address: 20 Meters West of the Road to Guatuso, Route 142, Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Agua Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Inn caters to discerning travelers who come to our quiet, verdant setting to feed their soul and nourish their spirit. Set on the boulder-laced bend of where the River Cote meets Lake Arenal, Agua Inn Spa offers guests a perfect retreat where guests are wrapped in the sustaining energy of nature. Here guests can soak in the splendor of Costa Rica's tropical wonder, and then, when they are ready, resume their journeys. While you rest, we provide breakfast, as well as help in organizing non-stressful day-trips. Walk our private lake trail, sip cool drinks next to our refreshing pool, take a boat trip, watch as Volcano Arenal erupts clouds of steam from her majestic crown, eat at the nearby Gingerbread Restaurant, and browse among local art galleries. The cozy Agua Inn purposely is intimately sized with only four guest rooms. All available for group use and all rooms have private bath rooms with hot water. For a taste of the real Costa Rica, come savor authentic Costa Rica where river and lake meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Agua Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Inn Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing