We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agua Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$252
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$127
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa(Arenal Volcano National Park)
US$208
US$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$499
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel(Tenorio Volcano National Park)
US$138
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Castillo del Arenal(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$273
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linda Vista Hotel(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
US$72
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
81
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrushing riverpancakesstream runningsqueezed orange juicebeautiful settingb bthe ownercomfortable bedcosta ricafresh fruitbalcony overlookingone nightarenal areaevery morninghidden gemswimming poolla fortuna
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The views and grounds of this place are absolutely amazing! During the day we spent a lot of our time in/by the river below the property and right next to the pool. So peaceful! Go to bed and wake up to the sounds of the rainforest. Exactly the experience that we wanted. There is a small town very close by with restaurants and a couple bars. There was breakfast served each morning which was delicious. Trent and the crew were all very welcoming and very helpful. Kim, who works in the spa, was especially helpful in guiding us through our transportation routes (we chose to use the bus system), suggesting places to eat, and suggesting activities. Would definitely stay here and again and for a longer period. Awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AguaInnarenal, Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Lauren we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we were able to help with your trip planning! Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in April for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay.

Kim, the onsite manager was extremely helpful and planned all of our activities each day. She went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed and were comfortable.

The property was absolutely beautiful, immaculate and tranquil. Set further up the hill from town,this is a fantastic location for those who enjoy taking part in all the outdoor activities Arenal has to offer, but looking for a more peaceful place to stay away from the noise and crowds. We saw so many beautiful birds while walking around on the property and loved the sound of the creek running next to the Inn - a true Costa Rican experience

We rented a car while we were here, as we knew we wanted to go all over during our stay - however, we think using public transportation is also quite manageable. On our last night here we took a bus back from town after a full day of activities & a lovely dinner .

I must recommend dining at The Gingerbread House - the food was incredible, and the staff very passionate about the restaurant. We let the chef pick our appetizers and entrees for us - all perfectly done and in very generous portions, we had to take some to go! The chef can come off somewhat conceited...but for GOOD reason. He was actually very friendly once we talked with him more.

We hope to return to Arenal one day with friends and family, and will definitely be staying at Agua Inn when we do!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMS51687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AguaInnarenal, Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are glad that you had a lovely time with us! Gingerbread is certainly a highlight of many peoples stay with us. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

What a special place! It was like staying with a friend of a friend in their house. The staff and ambiance made our 1 night stay very relaxing and comfortable. Great beds, too! The owner, Trent, was super friendly and interesting to talk to. The creek and trees and plants made you feel like you were staying in the middle of nowhere! Very romantic for couples.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AguaInnarenal, Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and felt like friends of the family! We hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This place is beautiful, the pictures just don't do it justice. A quaint 4 room inn secluded on a gorgeously maintained property, close enough to town to take a $2 taxi and on the bus route to Tileron and La Fortuna. The rooms are small and simple but clean and comfortable and the rest of the communal area such as kitchen, porches and sitting room are cozy and inviting. The pool area is great and all you hear is the sound of the river and the sounds of nature. You can sleep with the windows wide open and no mosquitos!

The owners are friendly and welcoming as is the rest of the staff. Adela doesn't speak much English but she makes a great breakfast. Kim is helpful with sightseeing information and a great massage therapist!

This is a great place if you need peace and quiet to unwind and rejuvenate or if you are looking for a clean, inexpensive spot for a home base as you make day trips to other areas and attractions such as the hot springs, hanging bridges, zip line, observatory, volcano, Monteverde or other towns.

I loved my stay here and returned home feeling rested and peaceful.

Room Tip: I know some people want frills and amenities like room service, hair dryers, AC, robes, toiletries, etc. I didn't need any of these so I thought it was excellent but if that's what you are looking for, you may want to look at larger resorts in La Fortuna. This was a perfectly simple experience.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We ended up at the Auga Inn because it's location and affordability. Our plan was to stay there as a base for visiting near-by attractions. However, we ended up spending half our time on the lovely property.

I generally prefer a rude motel clerk to the intimacy of a B&B, but the owner, Trent, made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed chatting, at length, with him and small crew.

Our room was clean and simple. We only slept there as we spent all our time in the common areas.

Enjoy the bird watching, lush jungle, and the bordering stream.

The driveway for entry is not easy to find - be prepared with a detailed map. The Costa Rica GPS we rented did not list this property and we needed help from the locals to get there.

There is a small town near by with a modern grocery and liquor stores. No exciting dining to report.

A great value!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hankz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews