We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So close to the nature!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agua Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agua Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So close to the nature!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This lovely small hotel is beautifully located between the trees. You wake up in the morning and the only thing you hear are the birds singing and the quiet sound of the stream nearby. Perfect place to relax and forget about the busy city life.
Javier is a perfect host! He prepared a great breakfast for us. It even seemed he could read our thoughts when we came to him one morning asking for pancakes and they were just being prepared in the kitchen... :) We spent hours chatting with Javier and other hotel guests in the evenings and it really felt like at home.
Thank you for your hospitality Javier, for showing us the hummingbird nest and making us feel so welcome in your place! We are happy to be the first polish guests in your property and hope there will be much more of them in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poszewka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AguaInnarenal, Guest Relations Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are happy to hear you felt right at home that is our goal for all our guests. We hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

A small hotel that make you feel at home, the location is fabulous with the pool, river and garden.
Very clean and welcoming, really charming.
Breakfast was excellent, with fresh products, we enjoyed our stay.
We highly recommend it !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AguaInnarenal, Guest Relations Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay! We hope that you will stay with us again! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a beautiful place off the beaten path. The garden and pool are inviting and is surrounded by a babbling brook giving it a combination that is very relaxing and soothing. It was very clean and the common area was welcoming. The breakfast was good and the service fantastic. The location is about 1 hour by car away from Fortuna and the local village is small and quaint. Trent recommended a restaurant in the area and it was amazing. (The "Las Tinajas" was one of our most memorable meals, with fresh food and sunset on Arenal lake. Very beautiful!) I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AguaInnarenal, Guest Relations Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Trent made us feel right at home when we arrived. Kim knew everything to do in the area, she even booked some dinner reservations for us. The breakfast and coffee made each start to the day amazing thanks to the great view and sounds from the river below.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrux31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AguaInnarenal, Guest Relations Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you so much for choosing us. I am glad that we were able to provided a wonderful experience for you. We aim to do all we can for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The place is incredible located on top of a small cascading river full of wild life and a small walk to lake Arenal. Trent is great and Javier and Kim make an amazing breakfast. When it comes to advice go prepared with a plan, they are quite hands off and the place is very secluded 45-1hr taxi away from hot springs and la fortuna. If your looking to adventure make sure you book a car in advance. During peak season everything books out.

Definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a secluded oasis. It is like nothing else!!! And the rooms are very clean and smell amazing!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AguaInnarenal, Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for the kind review. It is true that we are 45 minutes from the most popular tourist sights. A car is certainly recommended while vacationing in Costa Rica. Sorry that we could not be more helpful in your trip planning. We try our best to arrange tours and transportation the best we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larue, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We began our Costa Rica vacation with a night at Agua Inn and incredible massages from Kim . After the stress of traveling you could not help but relax once you get to Agua Inn. The entire property is surrounded by a beautiful creek that will not let you forget it's there. We sat on the porch with sipping wine and listening to the rain and the sounds of the animals. They have a common living area and kitchen so we were able to use the refrigerator to store the items we bought in town. I was able to have a rare morning alone reading outside of our room, but between the pattering of the rain and the sound of rushing water, I could barely keep my eyes open!! Javier is an exceptional host and made us an incredible Costa Rica style breakfast that sent us immediately back to bed. We LOVED our time there! SO relaxing, SO soothing. We went during the off season, so the pool was not available, but we have pools at home! I will say, as a tip, you do have quite a downgrade into the actual property. To get back onto the main road, some taxies may need extra weight to give them enough traction to get back up. We will definitely be back!! PS: I don't know why all my pics are sideways- sorry!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceyNDevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AguaInnarenal, Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Stacey thank you so much for your lovely review! We enjoyed having you and hope that we will see you again. You will have to come back when it is not quite as rainy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The views and grounds of this place are absolutely amazing! During the day we spent a lot of our time in/by the river below the property and right next to the pool. So peaceful! Go to bed and wake up to the sounds of the rainforest. Exactly the experience that we wanted. There is a small town very close by with restaurants and a couple bars. There was breakfast served each morning which was delicious. Trent and the crew were all very welcoming and very helpful. Kim, who works in the spa, was especially helpful in guiding us through our transportation routes (we chose to use the bus system), suggesting places to eat, and suggesting activities. Would definitely stay here and again and for a longer period. Awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AguaInnarenal, Manager at Agua Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Lauren we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we were able to help with your trip planning! Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
6.0 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
10.0 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#26 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
15.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#4 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#2 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gingerbread Hotel
Gingerbread Hotel
#3 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Inn

Property: Agua Inn
Address: 20 Meters West of the Road to Guatuso, Route 142, Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Agua Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Inn caters to discerning travelers who come to our quiet, verdant setting to feed their soul and nourish their spirit. Set on the boulder-laced bend of where the River Cote meets Lake Arenal, Agua Inn Spa offers guests a perfect retreat where guests are wrapped in the sustaining energy of nature. Here guests can soak in the splendor of Costa Rica's tropical wonder, and then, when they are ready, resume their journeys. While you rest, we provide breakfast, as well as help in organizing non-stressful day-trips. Walk our private lake trail, sip cool drinks next to our refreshing pool, take a boat trip, watch as Volcano Arenal erupts clouds of steam from her majestic crown, eat at the nearby Gingerbread Restaurant, and browse among local art galleries. The cozy Agua Inn purposely is intimately sized with only four guest rooms. All available for group use and all rooms have private bath rooms with hot water. For a taste of the real Costa Rica, come savor authentic Costa Rica where river and lake meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Agua Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Inn Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing