We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved every detail”
Villa Encantada Lakefront  40 acre Eco-Nature Preserve. 'You'll think you died and went to heaven'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Encantada Lakefront  40 acre Eco-Nature Preserve. 'You'll think you died and went to heaven'
Villa Encantada ~~ A vacation DESTINATION~`~ one you won't forget Villa Encantada ~~ Tri Level Architectural Masterpiece for your enjoyment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Villa Encantada Lakefront  40 acre Eco-Nature Preserve. 'You'll think you died and went to heaven'
Villa Encantada ~~ A vacation DESTINATION~`~ one you won't forget
Villa Encantada ~~ Tri Level Architectural Masterpiece for your enjoyment
Side View ~~Huge Terrace w/ Lake Views. Perfect for your family reunion or wedding celebration
Your Hosts at Villa Encantada ~~ Family Photo of Glenn, Patricia and Gloriana
Kayaking in your Backyard.. too much fun!
Kayaks for up to 10 persons (included~~ no extra charge). Kayak on the Ponds or 5 min walk to lake
Brand New (June 2013) 100 ft Waterslide at Twilight
5 yr old enjoying the Waterslide. Fun for all ages. Little people don't go too fast. It's safe!
Priceless Moments.. what a Blast!
Spring Fed Swimming Pool (no chemicals)
Pool at Twilight ~~ Chemical Free Crystal Clear Spring Water ~~ A Dream Come True!
The Owner and your Host, Glenn.. enjoying the fruits of his labor. This is where YOU need to be!
Waterslide.. Awesome adventure! Want to go fast..lay down ~~ 100 ft in 4 seconds..WOW! Gravity Rules
Villa Encantada Magical and Mezmerizing photo by Guest Randy Gribbin taken  in Jan 2012
Another Fabulous Sunset at Villa Encantada
Meet Chalupa, our resident 2 Toed Sloth ~~ scroll down for more pics of this tame, sweet animal
Chalupa lives in the tree next to the Pool/Slide.. she's free and not a caged animal
Chalupa climbing her tree in the gardens.. right next to the Pool/Slide. She's free and happy !
Lindo ~~ our Axanthic (Blue Morph) Green Iguna is a regular visitor to our gardens. ,more pics below
Glenn w/ Lindo, our tame Blue Morph Green Iguana..Awesome colors to be found only in Nature
Howler Monkey on a daily visit ~~chillin' out on the Preserve.
Villa Guest with Bass caught in our backyard pond.. delicious dinner.. YUM!
Your kids will forget where the left their Ipods/Nintendos
Your kids will have a blast swimming in this huge pond over 120 ft X 100 ft
Refreshing outdoor shower prior to entering the swimming pool. This young man is a happy camper!
Villa Encantada Private Waterfalls in the Rainforest
Awesome beauty of Nature found on our Trails
Villa Encantada Guests enjoying a massage
Nature at its Exquisite Best
Your own Private Paradise
Tame Peacock meandering thru the gardens of Villa Encantada
Peacock in it's Mating Ritual at Villa Encantada
Master BR Suite w/ Queen Sized Bed,  Fireplace, Full Bath & Incredible Lake & Garden Views
Master BR Suite 2nd pic perspective from front view.
Swan Towel Sculpture ~~ Deatils of a fine hotel await you
Newly Remodeled Master Bath
Mini-Master 1 Suite with Queen Sized hand carved bed overlooks manicured gardens and Rainforest
Front view of Mini-Master 1, exquisite hand carved furnishing
Mini-Master 2 Suite with Queen Sized hand carved bed overlooks manicured gardens, Ponds & Rainforest
Mini-Master 2 ~~ ALL suites elegantly furnished w/  full length drapes, & private entry from Gardens
Fine Hand Carved Doors throughout Villa Encantada
Master Loft, sleeps 4 or 6 using the Sofa Bed, awesome views of the Lake and Gardens
Master Loft has a Double Bed, 2 Singles and a Double Sofa Bed.. ALL new Furniture and Ortho Beds
Dining area w/ Unique Carved Table for 8, w/ glass walls to enjoy Nature at your fingertips
Wet Bar and Kitchen overlooking the Ponds and Garden, Hand Craved Doors and Hardwood are everywhere
Dining Room with Living Room ~~ Casual Elegance at it's Best!
Sunken Living Room has Fireplace and Super Comfortable Sofa
Hand Painted Mural of Lake Arenal. Guitar and othe instruments for your enjoyment, play some music
C. Garvey's pic of Spiral Starcase at Villa Encantada
Garden view from Master Loft deck.. great spot for some R&R
Main Living Area w/ Wet Bar, Sunken Living Room/ Fireplace and Awesome Lake Arenal views
Sunken Living Room  with Fireplace & Awesome Lake Views ~~ Cable TV ~~ WiFi ~~~~ SWEET!!!
Lake View from the Master Loft has outside deck to take your coffee or read a book, or suntan
Full Kitchen w/ Granite Counter Tops, Wet Bar, New Appliances & Refi w/ Ice Maker. Everything U need
Wet Bar/ Kitchen overlooking our Gardens, Ponds and Lake Arenal. Nature at it's best!
Full wrap around kitchen with plenty of space.
Our Lovely Tame Peacocks wandering thru the Gardens
Your Host ~ Glenn showing off a 9 lb Guapote Bass caught in the pond at the villa ~ and released
We have some 10 Lb Bass to catch and release right in your back yard ~ Awesome Fishing
Fly Fishing on the Villa Encantada Preserve. You CAN catch fish on our streams... Awesome!
Lake Arenal & Rain Forest view from our 1200 sq ft deck perfect for Weddings and Family Reunions
Spacious Terraza overlooking Lake Arenal
Miles of Manicured Gardens ~~ Everywhere
Villa Encantada ~~ An Architectural Delight
Villa Encantada ~~ Front View
Villa Encantada... an architectural delight
Huge tiled deck for catching a tan. Great place for your family reunion or Wedding!
Comfy furniture for a relaxing day. Fire up the BBQ and enjoy life ~~ you deserve it!
Your own private Paradise. It's our pleasure to share this with yor group/family
Sit under this waterfall for a great massage.
Our private pool on the river for a nice swim.. concrete lined.. and so refreshing.
Your Host Glenn at the Waterfalls Pool
Pristine Waterfalls  and swimming area
Volcan Arenal~~ a safe 15 miles from Villa Encantada..Awesome & Spectacular to watch Lava Flows
Huge BBQ overlooking the Ponds and Gardens
Villa Encantada Front Terraza pic by R. Gribbin 01/12
Magical Full Moon over Villa Encantada
Pond at Villa Encantada to Kayak, swim and fish
Swimming Pool Waterfall ~~ Crystal Clear Chemical Free Water ~~ You can Drink this Water.. honest!
Swimming Pool Waterfall...details like this everywhere
Puma Woodcarving on our trails ~~  a work of Art
Arbol Encantado (Magic Tree) Old Growth Primary Forest Tree at 300+ ft tall on our Nature Preserve
Arbol Encantado only a 5 minute hike from Villa Encantada. Over 400 years old ~~ simply INCREDIBLE!
Rainforest Stream ~~ Waterfalls everywhere! Thanks Scott for some great Pics!
The Tanden Falls after a Rainshower.. the force & beauty of Nature
Let me take you on a Trail Hike..the next 10 pics of Primary Rainforest, Manicured Trails, Waterfall
After 16 Years nothing delights me more than an early morning hike.. always new critters and Nature
Monkey Trail.. along the River w/ waterfalls,lots of wildlife, including Howler & Whiteface Momkeys
Awesome scenery at every turn
Primary Old Growth Rainforest still amazes me after 15 years
Mini Falls.. a great spot to relax and enjoy Nature
Miles of Manicured Trails... well marked ~~ you can't get lost
Easy access trails ~~ for explorers of all ages
LadyBug Trail.. well manicured with lots of Orchids and  photo opportunities
Bridge to the Island
Rare... Poison Dart Frog found on a trail hike
Surprises like this tiny Tree Frog around every corner
White Tail Deer on a frequent visit to Villa Encantada
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debbie M
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Loved every detail”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Villa Encantada is a nature lovers paradise. The grounds are immaculately manicured and beautiful (two thumbs up to the gardener - wow!) We enjoyed waking up to the birds and the howler monkey and every night we searched for geckos and frogs. The pool was awesome and we loved the slide - but BRRRRRR it was cold. The house is large, comfortable, gorgeous and well equipped with everything we could possibly need. The house is about 45 minutes from the busy and touristy La Fortuna but still close enough for day trips. I have stayed in La Fortuna and would definitely choose Villa Encantada again over a busy resort. The little town of Arenal is only a few minutes away and there are many great restaurants there. Our 5 days at Villa Encantada were spent driving back and forth from the Villa to La Fortuna every day to do activities (we had two teenagers with us) so we didnt get to enjoy the house like we wanted to. A day of relaxing or walking the trails will be in our future when we return. 5 days is not enough time to enjoy everything that Villa Encantada has to offer but we are so thankful that we chose the gem. Thank you Glenn for sharing this house with us. And thank you for your hospitality and help with our trip.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
Dear Deb,
Thanks for your detailed 5 Star Guest Review. I very much enjoyed hosting your family and am so glad that you enjoyed the amenities that we offer. Plenty to do right on the property... but I do understand that families also like to do various tour excursions and I am at our guests service in arranging those excursions that need a reservation, or simply point you in the right direction for those activities that can be done on a "walk up basis".
I couldn't agree more that the Nuevo Arenal area is so accommodating and near everything ... and with plenty of great restaurants, and that it is so nice to be in an area that isn't so touristy as La Fortuna.
I'm gal;d to hear that on your next visit, you intend to spend most of your time on site at Villa Encantada..
We look forward to seeing your smiling faces again amiga,
Your Host
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronbelmc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our 5 days spent at Villa Encantada were unforgettable. All 13 of us thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful rainforest gardens, the waterslide and pool, fishing in our personal lake pond, discovering new fruit, watching the abundant wildlife, and kayaking in Lake Arenal. The house is beautiful, and comfortably accommodated us all. Glenn was extremely helpful, personable, and he checked in with us frequently to see if we needed anything. He is knowledgeable about the best restaurants around the area, and he never once let our family down. One recommendation is to have the authentic Costa Rican dinner the Glenn's personal chefs cook and serve at the house. It was delicious and well worth it! We ate a lot of delicious food during our stay. If you want a relaxing stay with options of activities for everyone, Villa Encantada is a great place to come. If you are looking to do a good amount of fishing however, I would recommend bringing your own fishing rods if possible. This house has some but they aren't in great shape. This is truly a great way to see the unique Costa Rican rainforests while being immersed in the culture of Costa Rica.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
Dear Ron and Belva,

Thanks for taking your valuable time to write such a GREAT (detailed) 5 Star Review of your time at Villa Encantada. Your extended family of 13 persons was truly a joy to be around and to help make your vacation, (as you say), "The Trip of a Lifetime". That's my mission here at Villa Encantada ~~ to help create the best hassle free and memorable vacation of your lives, and thanks for allowing me the opportunity to be of service.
That your family stayed 10 nights was great as it allowed to to get the real feel of the villa, grounds, trails, area and even catching fish on Lake Arenal.. sorry about the fishing rods >> but I did bring you my better fishing rods after you asked, so you could get in some serious fishing with our kayaks on Lake Arenal.. and you all did well and caught lots of Bass.. nice going!

I very much appreciate your vote of confidence amigos and look forward to hosting your awesome family again at Villa Encantada.

Your Host and Friend,
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike I
Duxbury, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great time at Villa Encantada”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My wife and 8 year-old daughter stayed here for a too-short two days and had a great time. Although far larger than we needed, the location was perfect for us - on the lake and close enough to La Fortuna to do day trips. The plan, anyway, was to do a day trip to the volcano, but instead we stayed at the house the entire time, leaving only to go to the grocery store or restaurants. We hiked all of the trails and saw many animals; howler monkeys, poison dart frogs, toucans and dozens of other birds. We kayaked on Lake Arenal. And of course the waterslide saw its share of use. The crystal clear non-chlorinated water (refilled for each new arrival) was terrific. Glenn is a great host, and made sure we had everything we needed, including an abundance of information. If you're looking to do day trips in the area, Glenn is an essential resource. Josue was always around if we needed anything (like help portaging kayaks), and he does an amazing job on the grounds. The house has all that you'll need: linens, towels, TV/stereo, great patios, even a few musical instruments and a good spotting scope for checking out the wildlife. The kitchen is very well stocked with pots and pans, utensils, paper towels, as well as a reasonable stock of spices. It really had everything you'd need to cook regularly for a good sized crew - much better than average for a rental home. There are some cool restaurants nearby when you don't want to cook, too. The only negative I have is that we didn't stay longer, but I have a feeling we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2017
Thanks Mike... for your awesome and well thought out 5 Star Guest Review. It's true ~~ you got so much out of a short 2 day visit, and that is quite remarkable. Thanks for working around our availability calendar ~~ we only had those 2 nights open and I'm so glad that we had a chance to host your family and helped create lasting memories for all of you. I'm looking forward to seeing all of your smiling faces again, as soon as time allows. Hasta Proximo Amigo!
Your host and friend,
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue T
Higganum, Connecticut
1 review
“Best way to experience the Rainforest!!”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

There is no place quite like Villa Encantada! There were 8 of us in our group- 4 adults and 4 children, and we had plenty of space. The house itself was well appointed, comfortable, and architecturally beautiful! It even had a working fireplace which we used on chilly nights. Lovely patio and balcony areas that overlook the stunning grounds and Arenal Lake in the distance. The kids (and adults) LOVED the pool area! The waterslide was incredible! It zips you down through the gorgeous gardens, under the rainforest canopy. The property was simply amazing. We hiked all around by the waterfalls and down to Lake Arenal. The trail leading to the lake was ideal for howler monkey sightings. We also saw 2 white faced monkeys there as well! Amazing!! Be sure to get bananas to put on the bird feeder- it attracted many types of birds. The pond was lovely. The kids caught some fish (thank you Glenn for the use of your fishing poles!) and kayaked around a bit. We all went zip-lining at Sky Adventures in Arenal- that was awesome, even if you fear heights as I do. The staff was wonderful there. We also went on a ATV tour with Powerwheels which was thoroughly enjoyable! The tour took you back through the farms, up and over hills, and to a lovely river where we took a swim. We stopped to view howler monkeys on the trip that our guide spotted. Baldi Springs is a must do! Driving home from La Fortuna we saw toucans, coati, howler monkeys and a sloth. Glenn was extremely helpful and was readily available if you have any questions. Although we ALWAYS felt very safe in Costa Rica, we appreciated the fact that the gardener lived on the property. You barely saw him, except at our arrival. He stayed to himself or worked on the property while we were out and about making sure it was always pristine. We appreciated the privacy Villa Encantada offered and the magical grounds. You will not be sorry you stayed at Villa Encantada! It is the best way to experience the rainforest- 40 acres of land surrounding the home- WOW! When it was time to leave to head for the coast, the kids did not want to leave. It truly is a piece of paradise. Thanks for the memories, Glenn!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property, trails, pool, patio, view to lake, monkeys
Liked least: Rain… but after all it is the rainforest!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2016
Dear Sue and Family/Friends,

Your Spectacular (and very detailed) 5 Star Guest Review is nothing short of one of the nicest, most through comments I've had the honor of receiving in 18 years of hosting (thousands of) guests at Villa Encantada. WOW! ... and I Thank You for taking your valuable time to elaborate on your Special Vacation and time with us.

Truth is... I'm very humbled by your comments and Thankful that I had the opportunity of helping make your vacation all it could be... and more.

Guest Reviews such as yours are what I live for and give me the impetus to help create lasting memories for you and yours to cherish forever.

Muchas Gracias Amiga,
Your Host and Friend,
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurafc11...
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at Villa Encantada last year and had the most amazing stay. The home and property were truly wonderful. We knew from the reviews and the photos it would be an amazing place but it far exceeded our expectations. The weather wasn't as great as we had hoped (lots of rain) but we made the most of it and I think the villa is superb rain or shine. We were a group of 3 families with 6 kids total. We took our own night hike throughout the property grounds and it was so fun to explore that way. The kids loved kayaking in the pond and fishing and of course the water slide was a huge hit - they were so anxious to go down the waterslide that they went in their clothes the first day we arrived!

The home itself is very well laid out and all of our kids enjoyed sleeping on the top floor. We cooked many meals in the home and enjoyed exploring the surrounding towns as well.

We had rental cars and were able to drive to go zip lining, to the hot springs and more. It was also great to have time to just be at the home as there is so much to do there - it's hard to leave! I would recommend staying at least a day longer than you are thinking as you really want time to explore the grounds of this lovely Villa.

Besides the property being so wonderful, Glenn really helped to make our stay so fantastic. From the moment I made my reservations to when we departed he was so welcoming and helpful along the way.

We hope to come back again to Costa Rica and we would be so excited to stay here again - hopefully longer next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds were phenomenal
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2016
Muchas, Muchas Gracias Laura... for your Awesome Guest Review.

What's REALLY GREAT about your review, (other than your incredible attention to detail) is that you posted your review a full year + after your visit in January 2015.... and that, in and of itself, speaks volumes of what your visit really meant to you and your family. That in your minds eye, it was as if you were just at Villa Encantada last week!! VERY cool, and a true honor that we had such a lasting and memorable impression for you and your family.

Thanks for "making my day" Laura. I hope you'll find your way back to your home away from home as soon as possible.

Very Warm Regards,
Your Friend,
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge...
Wisconsin
1 review
“Great Arenal Experience”
Reviewed 16 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Villa Encantada for 5 days with a group of friends and had a great time. You really don't need to leave the grounds if you don't want to. We swam in the pool, and the creek, hiked the paths, kayaked in Lake Arenal, saw so many birds, just great. The picture on the web site look great, but the place is even better than the pictures. Glenn could not have been a better host. He helped us with great restaurant choices and local activities and hiking trails. Just a fantastic place.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkpitts
ontario
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC PIECE OF PARADISE”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Everything you ever dreamed of in a vacation rental and so much more! We had the absolute pleasure of staying at Villa Encanta January 2015 for six very short days. The photos and advertisement for this vacation rental actually don't do it justice. With so much to do on the grounds - fish, swim, hike and then of course the crazy waterslide - we only ventured to town a couple of times. Many hours were spent sitting out back enjoying the bird feeding station - as long as there was fruit - there were various birds. Glenn is a wonderful host - he arranged a fabulous private boat cruise to the volcano for us. You certainly don't want to miss out on having Glenn arrange a chef to come in and cook dinner - boy if we knew how fabulous and reasonable this was - we would have arranged more dinners. I cant say anything negative about this property - only possible drawback is to get to main bedrooms you have to go down a spiral staircase - we had someone with us with very limited mobility - one call to Glenn and he very quickly set up a comfy sleeping area on the main floor and everything was perfect. We are definitely hoping to get back to the Villa in 2017!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing