We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“organic food made from scratch - yum delicious”
Review of Mystica Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mystica Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 22 Restaurants in Nuevo Arenal
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“organic food made from scratch - yum delicious”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at this place for 6 nights with sweeping views of Lake Arenal. We were absolutely delighted by the quality of the food served. All organically grown and made from scratch. The pizza's were delicious as was the homemade pasta (owner is Italian). We had a 7 course meal on Christmas Eve that still makes my mouth water. They have a spring and purification system for the water and are very environmentally aware. They will give you all the water you wish to drink (or take with you for the day) but they don't sell it - it is free because they don't serve bottled water in plastic containers. Great place to stay!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmrayski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leek
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dreadful food, bad service in lovely setting”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Went her as party of 4 adults. The setting is really nice overlooking the lake & with lovely gardens.
The restaurant was empty in early December & the dining room quite cold from the wind. The interior decor was an effort to be Italian but didn't work & looked rather spartan.
Service was poor throughout with little real enthusiasm for the task & disinterested in the diners.
The menu was fairly short & covered the basic (& now boring) Italian standbys. It is suggested that there is an Italian chef but if that is the case then being Italian doesn't mean you can cook.
The 4 different starters we had were poor & uninspiring with much use pizza base wherever possible rather than decent ingredients. The quality of the cheeses were poor & likely to have been bought in the local shop.
Main courses were also very poor. My home made ravioli was expensive-over $10- boring. The tomato sauce covering it was luke warm & had no depth. It was probably from a packet. Pizza was very average. The signature dish of chicken "Mystica" was terrible. The sauce was not fresh & tasted revolting.
The food was totally drab & expensive.
If this place wants to continue to offer food then it needs to take a look at itself-it felt like the owners had just let a few locals keep it ticking over & left them to re-heat previously completed dishes. The menu is dated. The atmosphere is uninspiring.
The hotel itself & facilities were lovely & I suggest shutting down the restaurant side or having a bit more imagination & link it to the wellness approach of the hotel-not plonk a poor Italian restaurant in the middle of it & charge top dollar.
Don't waste your money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerLeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You'll be glad you stopped by...”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were traveling from La Fortuna to Playa Samara and my girlfriend had heard about Mystica so we decided to stop in. The restaurant serves delicious, hand-made pizzas and terrific salads and has a spectacular view of Lake Arenal. In addition, we were given a tour of the grounds by the manager (sorry, I forgot her name). She was very warm and accommodating and the lodges and surrounding areas were just fantastic. It was definitely a special place to stop for lunch, so charming...highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely spot to dine”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

What a nice atmosphere this place has. The food and service are excellent. You actually feel like you are "dining out". The homemade pasta are pizza are a must. It's a nice spot to watch a beautiful sunset.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonder full experience”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We love the food, the management, the rooms, the place, the weather, and all. Been there 3 times to eat and once to stay over night.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mystica Restaurant also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Mystica Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing