We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast”

Restaurante Caballo Negro
Ranked #7 of 22 Restaurants in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: American, German, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant is a favorite for locals and travelers alike. We have great breakfasts, which include Huevos Rancheros, and homemade Corned Beef Hash with corned beef made from scratch by the owner and chef, Monika. Because of Monika's German heritage, she also makes delicious schintzels also, from a family recipe. And if you save room for dessert, Apple Strudel is usually always available. There is inside seating and also patio seating overlooking the rest of the property, with views of Monika's private lake, her residence, and the Lucky Bug Bed and Breakfast. Plenty of birds to see, and has been called a birder's paradise.
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The combination of German and California-style cooking creates a wonderful array of choice for breakfast. Many of the breakfasts are accompanied by a fried potato/onion cooked in a fragrant spice with a hint of curry. Everyday there is a different array of fresh fruit as well. Coffee is strong and tasty. If you sit outside, you can glimpse many birds coming to feeders.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VBS4118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Restaurante Caballo Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thanks so much for your nice review. Yes, we are know for the breakfasts, but also for the schnitzels also. I hope you come and see us again, and when you do, maybe you would also like to stay at our B&B.
Thanks again,

Pura Vida,

Monika and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We found this great place while in Costa Rica and could not stay away. Along with a great breakfast and evening meals they have several beautiful rooms for rent with many extras. The Caballo Negro Restaurant also offers a Gallery with local crafts. This paradise sits around a wonderful lake and if you love birds you can sit for hours and enjoy the color of so many different species. The owner will join you and describe the many wonders flying about along with offering binoculars if you have forgotten your own. They were nice enough to book a fabulous place for us at the beach on the west coast and are able to assist you with most reservations thought out Costa Rica. This place is the best!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sandraKay702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Restaurante Caballo Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks so much for your nice review. Our Huevos Rancheros and Corned Beef Hash and Eggs are our most popular breakfast favorites. And we were told by one person that after having the French Toast, she will never be able to have it anyplace else.
Thanks and come back and see us again.

Pura Vida,

Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Restaurante Caballo Negro is associated with the Lucky Bug guesthouse and art gallery. What a nice place!

In visits to the Lake Arenal area over the years, we've had many meals at Caballo Negro, always excellent. The setting is lovely; partly inside and partly on a veranda overlooking a small lake and forest teeming with wildlife. Monika (the owner) and her daughter are charming, and the atmosphere is delightful.

I must say that I never would have thought of corned beef hash as a dish to get excited about, but it's a special item here. Monika makes it from scratch, and it shows. She's always scouting out sources of the freshest ingredients. We've also had the Reuben sandwich, sea bass filet, jaeger schnitzel, stuffed potato (huge), eggplant parmesan, and others. We can highly recommend anything on the menu, and that goes for the business itself!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HRG903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Restaurante Caballo Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thanks so much for your nice review. My corned beef hash, as well as the Reuben are both very popular, as is the Huevos Rancheros.
I hope you come back again and have other things on the menu. We are modifying the menu periodically to keep things new and fresh.

Pura Vida,

Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Was part of a Backroads bike trip through Costa Rica and the guides were raving about this special place. So after about 30 miles on the road we biked in for lunch and it was well worth it. All 12 of us had the same tropical chicken with pineapple and it could not have been better. To finish off the meal most of us had the fresh made streudel which was light and fluffy and my son says was the best he has had. It is a family run operation with the Dad and Mom running the kitchen and the operations, with their lovely daughter (my teenage sons were instantly in love !) being our hostess. We also met a couple who had just gotten married across the small lake in the Lucky Bug Bed and Breakfast and they too gushed about the location and the friendliness of everyone. If you love hummingbirds, this is your place!
FrenchPope

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frenchpope101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Restaurante Caballo Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thanks so much for the nice review. We always enjoy the Backroads people. They are so professional and the people on the bike trips are all so friendly and fun-loving. We are glad we could help make your trip nice with a good lunch.

Pura Vida

Monika and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We spent the day driving from Tamarindo, so by the time we arrived in Nuevo Arenal, we were ravenous. My fiance and I both ordered the snitzel, and it was fantastic! The portions were large, and everything was cooked to perfection. The owner's daughter was very nice to chat with, and she told us about several of the local artists featured in their souvenir shop. If you are craving good German food, then be sure to make a stop here! In addition, the patio was great for watching hummingbirds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WildlifeGirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Restaurante Caballo Negro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thanks so much for your review. So glad you enjoyed stopping and having some food at the restaurant. Next time you should also stay at our B&B. Lucky Bug Bed and Breakfast.

Thanks again,

Monika Krauskopf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Caballo Negro also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Restaurante Caballo Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing