We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property!! Felt like family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal
Ranked #6 of 14 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We just came back from a stay at Toad Hall. The property, food and service were amazing. Lydia and Jeff made you feel right at home. Almost like you were staying with family. The rooms were very well decorated. We stayed in Villa Arriba. It is two separate rooms that are side by side. One room has a set of bunk beds and 2 twin beds. The other room, has a king size bed and a kitchenette. Both rooms only have showers. This seems typical for Costa Rica. This suite was perfect for a family. The kitchenette didn't have a whole bunch of stuff to cook with, but if you needed something you could just ask Lydia and she would get it for you. The rooms comes with a handmade soap which we fell in love with. They also sell it in the shop if you are interested.

The maid will do your laundry for $7 a load. That is washed, dried, and folded. The property has a restaurant on site and the food is very tasty. They have their own farm right down the road where they grow all of their own stuff. The restaurant and shop closes at dusk, but they will make dinner for the guests after they close to the public if you aren't ready before.

They also have a little shop on property that has an awesome assortment of cute clothes, shoes, and souvenirs to take home to your loved ones. They had a fantastic view and pretty pool, but the pool was super cold.

Another restaurant that we ate at that was close was Gingerbread. Some AMAZING food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaCalvertHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

We were driving around the Lake to take pictures. Stopped on the way back from Lake Arenal to have coffee and beer (Imperial). Beautiful views from behind the shop. View to take lots of pictures and quietly sit to have a drink. Saw they had a small hotel which looked very cozy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Natimina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I'm almost hesitant to write a review because I selfishly want this slice of heaven to be kept a secret. Lydia and Jeff were gracious hosts making my 5 friends and I feel completely at home. We stayed in the Villa Arriba which was perfect for 6 adults offering breathtaking views of Lake Arenal. The food, drinks and staff are second to none and my only regret is that I wished we stayed longer. Travelers would be remiss to pass up Toad Hall. I can't wait to return!!!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We made many happy memories while at Toad Hall. Lydia and Jeff are the perfect hosts and go
above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Two of us stayed in the main house (which is fascinating) and two of us were in the Casa Cabina. Both were wonderful. The food is excellent,
great smoothies and drinks, and a thoughtful wine selection. We loved all the animals around.
Fernando arranged zip lining, horseback riding and a hot springs visit and was always helpful
and kind. Everyone that works there seems very proud of Toad Hall. We can't wait to return.
Try the Gingerbread restaurant down the road. Fabulous food and a colorful owner/chef.
Make reservations, he can get cranky.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stopped at Toad Hall to have some lunch and the food was amazing! It was all local home cooked and very fresh. Try the fish tacos! The guacamole was awesome and also freshly prepared. The only thing that cast a shadow on our experiece was the caged parrot that (what it sounded like) was screaming to get out and join his bretheren in the rain forest right outside. If it wasn't for this, we would have given this place a 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sergey_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I cannot say enough about how enjoyable our stay was at Toad Hall. This was our first of three stops in Costa Rica. My four girls wished it was the only stop. Jeff and Lydia, the owners were so kind-along with Fernando (caretaker), Joanna (housekeeper), and David (groundskeeper). We had the two upstairs suites which included a kitchenette for preparing our meals. Toad Hall is "off the beaten path", so there arent many restaurant options. This was fine with us as eating out is rather expensive. We saw so many species of birds, including toucans. We took a walk to the lake and found old (very old) pieces of pottery. We ate fresh fruit everyday, swam in the pool, talked to the resident parrot and well, just relaxed. I wish we would have returned to Toad Hall for a couple of days before leaving Costa Rica.

One of the highlights was a horseriding adventure with "Pollo". We packed snacks, and water and headed up into the hills to get a breathtaking view of Lake Arenal. Pollo's son is precious. Ask Fernando about this tour. It is reasonably priced and unforgettable. Speaking Spanish a plus as Pollo doesn't speak English.

Room Tip: Well, for our family of six, the two upstairs suites were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atamsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This place is incredible! Lake Arenal is breathtaking unto its self, and Toad Hall is the perfect place to relax and take it all in.

We stayed in the Casa Cabina suite off the main house which apparently is the smallest room but plenty of room for my fiance, my dog and myself. The rock shower in the room is super cool and the pillow top bed was the most comfortable bed we slept in, in all of Costa Rica. The owners were very welcoming, we even bbq'd one evening and shared stories over cocktails.

They have a cute general store and a great on site restaurant that we ate at everyday, great prices. I would highly recommend this place if you are traveling through Arenal, we will be back for sure. Next time we want to stay in the Jungle suite.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank bhemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Arenal hotels
0.1 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
273 reviews
1 mi away
Arenal Volcano Lake Hotel
Arenal Volcano Lake Hotel
#3 of 7 in Nuevo Arenal
13 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#2 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Gingerbread Hotel
Gingerbread Hotel
#3 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
139 reviews
5.7 mi away
Casa Donna Rosa B&B
Casa Donna Rosa B&B
#4 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
22 reviews
6.5 mi away
Agua Inn
Agua Inn
#5 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toad Hall Hotel Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toad Hall Hotel Arenal

Address: La Union | 9 km SW from Nuevo Arenal on Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range: £60 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toad Hall Hotel Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the jungle, overlooking the magnificent Lake Arenal, Toad Hall is a must while traveling in Costa Rica! The Jewel of Arenal! Looking for relaxing time, a thrilling adventure or both? We've got it all at the best boutique hotel of La Fortuna! Reserve Online Today! Toadhall Arenal Hotel is one of finest boutique hotels in Costa Rica and the best on Lake Arenal. Each villa is custom designed with a charming fusion of rustic charm, artistic flair, natural beauty and all of the comforts to make you feel right at home. Take a peak at each of our villas, each comes with it's own unique enchanting features to see which one is ideal for you. Interested in reserving more than one villa or planning a private party? Contact our Events coordinator for your next picture perfect occasion! Toad Hall Arenal Hotel in La Fortuna Costa Rica is a magical place. Once you're here, you'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Toad Hall Hotel Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing