We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curious and pleasantly surprised!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal
Ranked #6 of 14 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were on our way to Tabacon Hot Springs on the 17th of May and we kept seeing these signs along the way for Toad Hall. And I thought this was very interesting! So on our way back to Playa Flamingo on the 19th we just had to stop to see what was this Toad Hall was all about!!! What a nice surprise. It is a cool place. So unexpecting. We stayed to have a beer, then two, then three. Then a snack. Talking to Jeff and Lydia for the longest time and we felt as if we knew them forever. It was Jeff's birthday too. He's very funny and both he and Lydia are so talented!!! So nice :O) We met a lovely couple from Arizona, who just got engaged. Romantic!!! and we also met another lovely couple from TO, Canada. Kimberly and Jay. Such a sweet couple too. We ended up staying the night and chatting all night with the gang. There were two other ladies there too from New Jersey. So quite the interesting, spontaneous evening! Relaxing, charming, fun, great food !!!!!!! I just loved it!! Can't say enough!! We will definitely be back on our next trip to Costa Rica!!! Take care Jeff and Lydia, see you next time. And thank you so much for your warm hospitality!!!! PURA VIDA!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

I am currently sitting on the screened in porch of the Jungle Suite after spending a week at Toad Hall. What a fantastic experience! Jeff and Lydia were very gracious and kind hosts. All of the staff was very sweet and helpful. Everybody here works really hard not just to make the guests feel comfortable but to improve the facilities as well.

The fish tacos are every bit as good as the hype. I had them twice while we were here.

Perfect location for someone looking for a less touristy feel while still being able to get to all of the touristy stuff (zip lining, waterfalls, rafting etc. etc. etc).

Extremely safe! First night here, my friend forgot her purse and camera in the common area and Lydia returned them first thing the next morning. The complex is secured when it gets dark and they have a full time security guard that opens the gate if you return after dark.

Really enjoyed the trip. Will be recommending it to anyone traveling to Costa Rica. Already missing it.

Room Tip: Jungle suite is awesome! Day beds on the screened in porch make for a great two bedroom option. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We met the owners and they are really good people. The view and the setting alone are worth the stop. Bar, restaurant, gift shop and hotel all in one without the "touristy feel". Could only give 4 stars because our itineryary didn't allow us to spend the night or eat. We did get a tour of the rooms and I would recommend stying there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My husband and I got married at Toad Hall this past Tuesday night. We had stayed there before and had a great time and really enjoyed the place. Lydia and Jeff put on a great wedding and the sit down dinner was absolutely fantastic. We love the off beat character of the place and the rooms are all unique and very comfortable. If you're the Hilton type- stay at the Hilton. This place is one of those places you return to again and again.
PS: The fish tacos really ARE the best on the planet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laperla004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Service was very nice. Peaceful people that love the tourism. They kept the entire place very neat and beautiful. gift shop has a lot of native items with good literature on what's around. And like I said INCREDIBLE FISH TACOS & CEVICHE!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at Toad Hall a couple of months ago and we loved the place so much hat we are getting married there in a week. Lydia has been great and is doing all the wedding arrangements. This place has access to the lake and the on site birding is unbelievable. The road signs remind me of the old Burma Shave signs along the highway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

we drove around Lake Arenal in April heading to the Pacific. We kept seeing signs for Toad Hall. Then we started seeing signs for the best bloody mary...We we had to stop and so glad we did. This place had the best view of the lake and all the birds it was beautiful. We met Jeff who treated us like old friends and showed us every room at the hotel. He made most of the furniture in the rooms. Each one with it own character all were great. If our schedule would have allowed it we would have stayed the night. Next time we will. And now for the bloody mary soooooo gooooood !!!!!
Thanks Jeff
Iris and Jason

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Iris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Arenal hotels
0.1 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
264 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ceiba Tree Lodge
Ceiba Tree Lodge
#1 of 7 in Nuevo Arenal
226 reviews
6.6 mi away
Chalet Nicholas
Chalet Nicholas
#8 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#2 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
242 reviews
6.5 mi away
Agua Inn
Agua Inn
#4 of 14 in Nuevo Arenal
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stable Arenal (El Establo)
The Stable Arenal (El Establo)
#4 of 7 in Nuevo Arenal
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toad Hall Hotel Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toad Hall Hotel Arenal

Address: La Union | 9 km SW from Nuevo Arenal on Route 142, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range: £57 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toad Hall Hotel Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the jungle, overlooking the magnificent Lake Arenal, Toad Hall is a must while traveling in Costa Rica! The Jewel of Arenal! Looking for relaxing time, a thrilling adventure or both? We've got it all at the best boutique hotel of La Fortuna! Reserve Online Today! Toadhall Arenal Hotel is one of finest boutique hotels in Costa Rica and the best on Lake Arenal. Each villa is custom designed with a charming fusion of rustic charm, artistic flair, natural beauty and all of the comforts to make you feel right at home. Take a peak at each of our villas, each comes with it's own unique enchanting features to see which one is ideal for you. Interested in reserving more than one villa or planning a private party? Contact our Events coordinator for your next picture perfect occasion! Toad Hall Arenal Hotel in La Fortuna Costa Rica is a magical place. Once you're here, you'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Toad Hall Hotel Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing