We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little taste of Italy!”

Los Platillos Voladores
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little taste of Italy!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you want a piece of True Italian Food.... look no further!!!!
The restaurant is small, welcoming and clean! The owners make you feel like family! The food was true Italian flavors and rich in homemade sauces. The portions were large in size, enough to share between my husband and I and still leave FULL! My Daughter ordered the Tortellini!!!! it was Really good and would be recommended highly by her! We also ordered the Pizza!!! I would order it again and again......it really was THAT good! The prices were affordable for the quality of food!
I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family ever in Nuevo Arenal! And my family and I will be visiting that restaurant again!!! you will leave with a smile on your face and a full belly! Thank you!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sigrid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ummo66, Propietario at Los Platillos Voladores, responded to this review, 7 January 2016
Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    21
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuevo Arenal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The real thing”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We are so lucky to such good take out in this small town. Please support them if you live here or if you are traveling through. You will not be disappointed. Their main courses are tasty and often can serve two. The panna cotta are such a rare treat here that I buy lots, when they have the.
How many restaurants in a rural setting use Parmesan from Italy?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SSBKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ummo66, Propietario at Los Platillos Voladores, responded to this review, 7 January 2016
Google Translation
Grazie mille =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fresh authentic italian”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I am so happy that we were told to try this wonderful little restaurant. The pizza is outstanding and that is saying a lot from a New Yorker. Everything is always fresh here or they won't serve it so menu changes each day. My daughter and I ate their pizza 2 nights in a row! Besides the food the owners are some of the most friendly and delightful people I have met. I will be a regular here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ophelia711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ummo66, Propietario at Los Platillos Voladores, responded to this review, 7 January 2016
Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
“Delicious food cooked by the sweetest people!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend were staying in Nuevo Arenal for a few days and tried out many of the local restaurants. Los Platillos Voladores is a tiny, very sweet little restaurant with a great view of the mountains and lake, and it's in a great area - right in the town. We stopped in later in the evening and the owners were both there and very friendly. They made us special pizzas that were pretty much custom-ordered by us as we are vegetarian. They also made us delicious pasta. The banana bread from the cooler is outstanding!! We spent much of our time talking with the owners, which was delightful. They are very sweet and generous, and we ended up leaving with hugs goodbye! I highly recommend this place - what more can you ask for than for your food to be cooked with love?! :-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ummo66, Propietario at Los Platillos Voladores, responded to this review, 7 January 2016
Thanks =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hi Amy. Hi "Lucifer"”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We had such a nice surprise when our Italian friends realized that the owners of Los Platillos Voladores were really Italian. They prepared a super dinner for us , meeting the very high standards of our Italian friends!
This is a must stop while you are visiting Nuevo Arenal. The manager of the house we rented said that he and his wife eat there or take out at least once a week. It is a great addition to the good food found in Nuevo Arenal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ava Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ummo66, Propietario at Los Platillos Voladores, responded to this review, 7 January 2016
Google Translation
Grazie mille =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Platillos Voladores also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Los Platillos Voladores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing