We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family atmosphere”

Los Platillos Voladores
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you want to try some real home made food like it was made in your grandmothers kitchen stop here. The place is small but it is run by "big hearted" people. The pizza was amazing (my son ate one by himself and it wasn't a small size!), tortellini where freshly made in front of us, the same with the fettuccine. Everything was just delicious. The owners are extremely nice and make you feel like home right away. I hope we can go back and visit again.Thank you for the wonderful culinary experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank edistef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ummo66, Propietario at Los Platillos Voladores, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016
Google Translation

Grazie =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 160 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

The food is wonderful, fresh, and delicious! We ate there several times, and they also delivered to our house--delivery is rare in Arenal. They don't have a delivery car, so they arranged for a local taxi to pick-up and deliver the food!

Emi and David are amazing, loving people, and I miss the hugs I'd get whenever we visited, or saw them around town.

Pura Vida! Pamela

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelinCpl_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ummo66, Propietario at Los Platillos Voladores, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Thank you =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My Husband and I are staying in Nuevo Costa Rica for 3 months and I heard about this restaurant and how great it is. We decided to try it and we were so thrilled. We both agree we have never had such authentic yummy Italian ever. The owners were so kind and gave us a lot of information about Arenal. I had pasta Bolognese and my husband had pasta with the red sauce and we also had to try the pizza-it looked so good. Well we said we can always take it with us and guess what it was to incredible that we only took a few pieces of pizza home. We are very excited to return so yummy. Thank you for a wonderful meal and company
Ron and Sharon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ummo66, Propietario at Los Platillos Voladores, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016
Google Translation

Grazieeeee!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you want a piece of True Italian Food.... look no further!!!!
The restaurant is small, welcoming and clean! The owners make you feel like family! The food was true Italian flavors and rich in homemade sauces. The portions were large in size, enough to share between my husband and I and still leave FULL! My Daughter ordered the Tortellini!!!! it was Really good and would be recommended highly by her! We also ordered the Pizza!!! I would order it again and again......it really was THAT good! The prices were affordable for the quality of food!
I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family ever in Nuevo Arenal! And my family and I will be visiting that restaurant again!!! you will leave with a smile on your face and a full belly! Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sigrid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ummo66, Propietario at Los Platillos Voladores, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We are so lucky to such good take out in this small town. Please support them if you live here or if you are traveling through. You will not be disappointed. Their main courses are tasty and often can serve two. The panna cotta are such a rare treat here that I buy lots, when they have the.
How many restaurants in a rural setting use Parmesan from Italy?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SSBKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ummo66, Propietario at Los Platillos Voladores, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016
Google Translation

Grazie mille =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Platillos Voladores also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Los Platillos Voladores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing