We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Authentic Italian, Beautiful Owners”

Los Platillos Voladores
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 September 2018

My boyfriend and I spent about a week in Nuevo Arenal and ate at this restaurant twice. We had pizza both times and it was absolutely fabulous. If someone is looking for authentic Italian pizza, this is definitely the place to be as the owners are both originally from Italy.

Even more than the delicious food, what makes this restaurant really special are the owners, David and Emi. We totally fell in love with Emi, she was instant family. She is a bright light with a contagious laugh. She is sensitive, paying attention, and takes care of the people in her restaurant. If you are in Nuevo Arenal, this restaurant is a must.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amymlovestory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ummo66, Propietario at Los Platillos Voladores, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow!!!! Thank you :)
Grazie mille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2018

Everytime I have eaten at Platillos Voladores, the food has been delicious! Emmi and David are great hosts serving authentic Italian cooking and daily specials. The tables are outside with a nice of the lake. Mange! Mange!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ummo66, Propietario at Los Platillos Voladores, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We live in Nuevo Arenal, we visit Los Platillos on a regular basis, food is fresh, the restaurant is clean, Emmy and her husband are so nice and always welcoming. I have never had a bad meal, they only cook with fresh ingredients. Everything from pasta to pizza is very tasty.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JacksonMiller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ummo66, Propietario at Los Platillos Voladores, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Grazie!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

If you are anywhere on Lake Arenal you have to come here!!! You will get the most genuine and amazing Italian experience right in the heart of Costa Rica! Emy is so sweet and a joy to talk to! They make an authentic pizza and everything else we tried was fabulous! You can’t go wrong here with pasta or pizza, we went for both! We have gone here everyday since we have been in the area and would drive around the lake just to eat here again and talk with Emy! A true delight and an amazing experience!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank acplatt16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ummo66, Propietario at Los Platillos Voladores, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your commentary!!!
Grazie mille :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We've eaten dozens of great meals in Italy, and sitting on the porch of this cute little restaurant we could have imagined we're back in Italy -- authentic, delicious, lovingly-made food. Emanualla (forgive misspelling) was fun to chat with and made the meal even better with her warm hospitality and sense of humor.
Highly recommended!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelerFr0mPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ummo66, Propietario at Los Platillos Voladores, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Grazie mille :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Platillos Voladores also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Los Platillos Voladores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing