We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Swiss Gem in Arenal”
Review of Hotel Los Heroes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Los Heroes
Ranked #5 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redwood City, California
2 reviews
“A Swiss Gem in Arenal”
Reviewed 21 February 2011

After a night at the beautiful and famous Tabacon Hot Springs & Spa, we drove along Lake Arenal and came across Hotel Los Heroes. We only spent one night but could have settled for a whole vacation if we had had more time. The architecture, the landscaping, the scenery are stunning. The quaint little train is a gem. The service is excellent, the food is delicious, the prices are very reasonable. Kudos to the owners Franz and Silena who built this milk farm then the small hotel and the train track and revolving restaurant, to bring an authentic piece of the Swiss culture into one of the most scenic regions of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdescoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    39
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
54
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

What an great surprise! Last November, I visited Los Heroes with a large news media group from Switzerland. Lots of nostalgia and surprises: rides on a Mini Glacier Express Train and on an Old-Time Swiss Postal Motocoach plus a delicious lunch with wine at the only Rotating Restaurant in all of Central America The industrious owner Franz Ulrich, his wife Silena, son Stefan and their helpers provided excellent service with a smile. I am looking forward to my next visit to Los Heroes. Hopefully, I will be able to spend more than just one day there. - Henri Gautschi, Greenville RI, USA

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgautschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

We stayed at this great little Swiss themed hotel for the second time this January. We were a party of 6 and booked the second floor apartment and ajoining room. The price was great, the hotel staff is very helpful and the restaurant has great food. As if that wasn't enough, they have a small train that takes you up into the mountain top revolving restaurant that they own and you have a spectacular view of the Arenal Volcano.

They also have more bird life than you could hope to see. We marked down 24 different birds in our book, including a Macaw. They have a large pool surrounded by trees that the birds come and eat from every afternoon. This place is really a must do if you are travelling around Costa Rica.

email: info@pequenahelvecia.com

  • Liked — The property and view
  • Disliked — it rained one afternoon
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Endlesstraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2007

A charming hotel with enjoyable food and decor! The people who own is have made the creation of this "park" their life's ambition and the are very proud of it. For sure don't miss the fantastic train ride, if you like seeing fabulous scenery and rare birds that abound in the trees overhead. The train arrives at the rotunda restaurant up top for a wonderful experience. A must for all! We'll be back.

  • Liked — The Train
  • Disliked — the weather
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2006

My husband and I stumbled upon Los Heroes on a drive around Lake Arenal. We planned to stay 1 night, but ended up staying 2 because it was so charming, and 100% authentic. The owner imported everything from Switzerland (he is from Luzern) including a train. There is a 3 km train that runs from the hotel up a hill to a *rotating* restaurant. You have to see it to believe it! The food, also, was wonderful. For dinner, I was able to enjoy an Apenzeller Bitter before my Roesti! (I could have opted for cheese Fondue, a Bundnerteller or any other authentic Swiss dish.) The owner and his wife were nothing less than charming to all of their guests. The rooms do feel like they're out of a 1980's chalet, but that was part of the charm. The rooms even have shutters that close!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aedportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2006

My experience at Hotel Los Heroes was pleasant. Of course, I was so excited to go to Tabacon (the nearby hot springs resort) that I could have easily overlooked some flaws. The inside decor is definitely dated, but our room was clean. The grounds were clean; the pool was crystal clear. It's a nice, basic hotel. No frills, but pleasant.

  • Stayed April 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMcGann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2005

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It looks like an attractive swiss chalet from the outside but don't be fooled, the rooms, food and service is appalling. I have never come across anything like it in 25 years of travelling! We had an apartment away from the main hotel with a wonderful view across Arenal lake, but inside it looked like the decorating and furnishing had not been updated since the 70s. The room was grubby and the sheets on the bed were of poor quality - mostly polyester. The continental breakfast consisted of 1 small piece of hard bread each, a cold, tasteless cup of coffee and bottled orange juice served by a miserable waitress. I can't emphasise enough how grim the whole experience was, we couldn't wait to get away from the place even foregoing the little train ride which was the point of staying there.

Helpful?
3 Thank snoozysooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
1.1 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
4.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
10.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Arenal Volcano Lake Hotel
Arenal Volcano Lake Hotel
#2 of 7 in Nuevo Arenal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.0 mi away
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal
Toad Hall Hotel Arenal
#6 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ceiba Tree Lodge
Ceiba Tree Lodge
#1 of 7 in Nuevo Arenal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Heroes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Heroes

Property: Hotel Los Heroes
Address: Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Los Heroes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Heroes Hotel
Hotel Los Heroes Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing