We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Almost Impossible NOT to Stop Here.....”

Toad Hall Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Nuevo Arenal
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: International, American, Bar, Pub, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Great Food, Friends, Fun and a Fabulous View. IMPORTANT DETAIL: The hotel and restaurant is under new ownership as of March 2016. We're happy to have a fully remodeled place for you to enjoy! The Heart of the Toad Hall Hotel! If you are looking for a place to sit back and enjoy the Arenal jungle, make sure to take a trip to the Arenal Lake Restaurant & Bar. It's the perfect place to bring the family and friends to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. If you are looking for unique Arenal Lake restaurant, you've found your spot! We offer you a delightful fusion of Costa Rica and Texas cuisine at affordable prices. As soon as you walk through the door you'll feel like home. The experience is one of a kind!
Sarchi, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's Almost Impossible NOT to Stop Here.....”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

.....thanks to all of the signage on the road enticing you, begging you, tantalizing you. So we did. And we're happy we did. Toad's has a bit of everything and it appears to do it all quite well. The restaurant (which permitted us to bring in our small dog) has good food, including some of the best guacamole I've ever had (as advertised!!!). The store is arranged nicely and has an eclectic bunch of merchandise which is interesting to browse through. The hotel looks inviting. There are lots of old photographs, saddles, and miscellaneous items making the setting interesting, nice seating areas, a small but lovely pool, and the rooms looked comfy based on what I could see through the windows. Finally, I was captivated by the two rescued baby toucans that were in the restaurant. Amazing creatures and their rescue speaks to the big heart of the owner, who was extremely pleasant. Altogether, a really nice experience. (P.S. Great reggae background music!!!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    8
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“What a marketing plan!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

After seeing so many signs along the route and seeing the one that said Free Coffee...I had to stop and check it out. We did get our free coffee. It seemed like a strange place and someone trying to make a go of things. They had food, they had an hotel and they had a gift shop. The people were nice enough, too. There were people eating, people shopping and people having drinks at the bar so I guess it is working for them. Nice view and a nice stop if you need one.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachpeach75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cool place, relaxing vibe”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We drove by tons of advertisements in both directions of the highway before and after toad hall which lead us to eventually deciding to check the place out. The restaurant has a panoramic view of lake arena with a bar, restaurant and gift shop you can check out. We just came to eat (didn't stay at the hotel). The service was good, menu is average but the food is well prepared. The staff is friendly and we also met the owner who was a great host and gave us some tips on attractions to see in the area. Toad Hall is worth a stop even just for lunch, make sure you check out the talking parrot! Charismatic and romantic atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MilenaMarkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eclectic place!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We visited this restaurant/hotel/bar/store, accidentally. We were just driving around the Lake Arenal area and started seeing homemade signs along the road which were quite comical so of course we had to stop. We found a great place, with great staff, service and a small artifacts "museum". We had a drink and snack at the bar overlooking Lake Arenal. The view was great and the food looked wonderful but we were not too hungry so just had nachos, very tasty! After drink and snacks I shopped in the store and got some cool clothing and souvenirs. We really enjoyed our few hours so much at this place I had to write about it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bdaytrip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute little restaurant with rescue birds & frogs”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great marketing efforts (all done by the employees themselves) led us to stop here. Wasn't expecting much so we were pleasantly surprised. Employees were very nice and told us the story behind the rescue birds they house (parrots and macaws). Be sure to order one of the specials on the board and order the guacamole! Not cheap but we thought it we'll worth the stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lv2travelkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toad Hall Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Toad Hall Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing