We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loveliest Place to stay in Laguna Arenal”
Review of Lucky Bug B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lucky Bug B & B
Ranked #1 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Loveliest Place to stay in Laguna Arenal”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed there for 4 days in Jan 2014 with a baby. This is just a great place to stay! Calm, in a tropical forest with a little lagoon. Nicely designed rooms with lots of space and view, some with own terrace. Owners are lovely, very helpful and prepare the best breakfast we had during a 5 weeks stay in Costa Rica!!! Love their French toast :-).
Great common area where breakfast is served but free to stay all day long if you wish, seems to be a local known place for bird watching.
Nice art gallery and place to shop some local art or souvenirs you find no where else in the surroundings.
The guest were all very friendly too

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelAnie20130913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thanks so much for your nice review. We remember you with your beautiful baby. Next time when you come you can reserve earlier and get one of our large rooms, but I remember you said the Flower room was perfect. Thanks again for coming to us and for the nice review. We hope the rest of your vacation was good.

Pura Vida,

Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
129
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quitman, Texas
Level Contributor
214 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The basic needs that one expects in a B&B are far surpassed by the loving attention to detail that has been bestowed on Lucky Bug by owners Monika and Rob - especially the beautifully appointed rooms in which art is evident everywhere - hanging on the walls, hand-painted bathroom tiles, bedside lamps, headboard, hand-painted bathroom sink, light fixtures, custom-made soap, etc., etc. Linens in the rooms are very nice also. The meticulously-groomed grounds also have subtle works of art interspersed with the flora - large hand-cast "mushrooms" that glow in gorgeous colors at night guide the way from the restaurant to the B&B and create a fairyland with their whimsy. The restaurant area overlooks a private lake where guests can watch birds, kayak, fish or just enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Colorful mosaic tile table tops complement the relaxing setting. Besides providing good food and tour guidance, Monika and Rob spend a lot of time chatting with their guests and making them feel at home. In addition to the B&B, there is an excellent store/gallery for purchasing Costa Rican jewelry, art, ceramics, etc. Bird watching is excellent.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms facing the lake have balconies and a nice view.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TexasStarshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hola,
We are so glad you had such a great experience at our B&B. We really enjoyed having you and glad to "order the toucan" so you could get a good picture...:)
I hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable also, and we loved meeting you guys. Come back and see us the next time you are in Costa Rica

Pura Vida,

Monika and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We did not stay at the Lucky Bug but rented a villa that was close by. The villa owner, Ian, recommended the Lucky Bug restaurant. We were in Costa Rica with friends and the 4 of us ate breakfast at the Lucky Bug twice and dinner once. Monika normally served just breakfast and lunch but invited us for a special German dinner which was wonderful! Monika was full of information about where to go and what to see in the area. We enjoyed her food, her gift shop and her company, a delighful lady!

Mike & Sherry

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 880SherryO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thanks so much for the nice review. We enjoyed preparing the meal for you, and so glad you enjoyed it as well. I was nice talking with you guys also. Please come again soon.

Pura Vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosslake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the Lucky Bug and had a very nice time. The gardens are beautiful, and everything in the rooms has the artistic touch of the owners. They were very friendly hosts. The breakfast was delicious- especially the coffee. Fabulous. I'd recommend this place to friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms were beautiful (from what we could see); turtle room doesn't have a balcony. Other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiePonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thanks so much for your nice review and we really enjoyed meeting both of you. Glad you came for one night and actually stayed for two. Better to see the country that way. Hope the rest of your trip was good. Thanks again for the nice review.

Pura Vida,

Monika and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

My fiance Anna and I went down to Costa to get married last month. It was just us with out two best friends. We didn't know exactly where we wanted to get married but that changed when we arrived at the Lucky Bug! It's beautiful gardens and lake provided the perfect backdrop for our our fairytale wedding. Monika and Rob were beyond a accommodating with all our needs and even put together a last minute bouquet for Anna. With their help the wedding went off without a hitch and was far more wonderful than either Anna or I had dreamed.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lance A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hi guys,
Thanks for such a great review and so glad we could do our part with the wedding. We knew you didn't want anyone else around, and that is exactly what you got. (I peeked a couple times from the house however...:) ) But when you asked one hour before the wedding if there was a florist close to here was really funny. "No, we have flowers all over our property." It was really fun and you guys are so nice. We wish you all the best with your home in Nicaragua and the orphanage.
Please send a couple pics of the wedding to our email so we can post on FB for everyone to see.

Pura Vida,

Monika and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Highly recommended. Located on both sides of a very pretty pond, the Lucky Bug offers an ideal jump-off spot for visiting the many delightful sights and activities in the Arenal area, as well as others farther afield. The hosts of this B&B, Monica and Rob, offer a well appointed accommodation, an excellent and healthy breakfast menu, lunch (if required) and considerable help in making reservations at a substantial discount when visiting local attractions. Additionally, Monica operates one of the better handicraft and gift shops we've seen during a five week visit to Costa Rica, offering quite appealing works from known established potters and sculptors.

For birders, both twitchers and amateurs, the plethora of hummingbirds, tucans and other very beautiful birds at Lucky Bug is wonderful. In the morning, guests awake to the grumblings of howler monkeys and a nearby rooster.

The only downside from this well managed property is spotty WiFi service for iPhones and Smartphones, though as we were on holiday during our visit, this never really proved a problem.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for the "butterfly" or "frog" rooms. Both have king-sized beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your nice review. It is because of you and the others who stay with us that we received the 2014 Traveler's Choice Award from TrIpAdvisor. And as for the rooster...it is our neighbors, and he seems to like our yard better than his own. :) Last year at this time the B&B did not have internet at all. People had to come and sit outside our home and get their internet. So, we listened to our clients and put WiFi up at the B&B.
We enjoyed having you guys here and we are glad you enjoyed yourselves.

Pura Vida,

Monika and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were so happy to get a chance to meet proprietors Monika and Bob at the Lucky Bug. Each morning they warmly greeted our party of three and prepared a simple but delicious breakfast. Lively conversation always ensued.

The rooms at the Bug are absolutely delightful and gorgeous. Monika has overlooked no detail in
outfitting each room true to its theme. The bathrooms are impeccable and beautiful with roomy glassed in showers and inlaid tile.

You would be lucky to land at the Lucky Bug!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thanks so much for the nice review. We enjoyed having you guys here and loved our conversations. We hope you get back soon and stay again. Thanks for helping us win the 2014 Traveler's Choice Award from Trip Advisor.

Pura Vida,

Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
6.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
256 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
1.0 mi away
Agua Inn
Agua Inn
#4 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
82 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ceiba Tree Lodge
Ceiba Tree Lodge
#1 of 8 in Nuevo Arenal
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Bug B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Bug B & B

Property: Lucky Bug B & B
Address: W of Rio dos Bocas 2 km, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lucky Bug B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucky Bug B&B, art gallery and restaurant Caballo Negro is located 2 km from the town of Nuevo Arenal. The b&b has 5 great rooms with decorations with art from Costa Rica.The area around the B&B is all rain forest with a private lake, excellent for fishing. The restaurant, owned by a German chef, has an international menu. The art gallery is well known for fine Costa Rican art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lucky Bug B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky Bug B & B Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing