We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little B&B!”
Review of Lucky Bug B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lucky Bug B & B
Ranked #2 of 12 Nuevo Arenal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
“Wonderful little B&B!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our stay at the Lucky Bug for two nights the end of February was fantastic. The rooms were tropical, inviting and just as described/pictured. Breakfast was wonderful and Monika and Rob were great hosts!

The bottle of wine on arrival was a welcome surprise; after driving from the Liberia airport, we arrived later than anticipated and Rob was there to greet us.

My couple of little suggestions would be to have hair dryers in the rooms (we travel often, and the Lucky Bug was one of the few places that did not have them); and, also, a mini-refrigerator in the room would have been nice. It is very relaxing at the Lucky Bug and the availability to keep beverages cold would have been welcomed.

If we stay again in the north Arenal area, it will be at the Lucky Bug; thanks, Monika & Rob!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hola,
Thanks for your review. Although in the text you said you enjoyed your stay, you gave us 3 our of 5 for sleep quality. That concerns me because we always ask how everyone sleeps here, and to the person everyone says they sleep extremely well. We purchase top of the line mattresses, and other than howler monkeys and birds, it is very quiet here. However, the sound of the animals is part of the experience of Costa Rica that you do not get in other parts of the world.
We keep blow dryers here for people to use if they ask for them, but most people would rather just have it quiet in their rooms and not have the sound of a hair dryer, so that was the reason for that. Also, we have a mini fridge in the Sun Suite, so people choose that room when staying for a longer duration so they can put cold drinks or leftovers from dinners in ther fridge for later. I have considered adding a fridge to the rooms, but as you probably remember, I am a stickler for things looking nice and matching. So, I would have some sort of cabinet built or possibly a desk and take my artsy tables out of there that I made. That is what I am wrestling with.
Thanks for the input and it has given me some things to think about.
Listening to our clients is how we received the 2014 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice award, which less than 1% of accomodations throughout the world have received. Only two places in our area got into the top 20 for ALL of Costa Rica, and we are very proud of that and thank our customers for putting us there.
Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
131
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We loved staying at the Lucky Bug. The rooms were comfortable, tastefully decorated, and extremely clean. The beds were super comfortable. A very quiet, beautiful and calming atmosphere. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The Lucky Bug is very close & convenient to town. The on-site restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and the food was great. All in all, a most pleasant stay, and we would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms facing the lake get good ventilation and have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks so much for your great review. It is people like you that have helped us get the 2014 Traveler's Choice award from Tripadvisor. And you guys did the area right. You stayed for a longer time, which really lets you experience the area. Thanks so much, and we hope you come back to see us in Costa Rica.

Pura Vida,

Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

In April we spent 2 nights at the Lucky Bug for the second time. I see no reason to ever change this growing tradition. The rooms are spacious and comfy, the hospitality is exceptional. After a few minutes chat you feel as though you've known Monika and Rob for years and are merely paying a visit to some old friends. The grounds are lush and unique. I look forward to our return visit next spring. Perhaps we can eak out a few extra days this time.

Room Tip: Frog or Butterfly rooms are excellent. Nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie88312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review. We are looking forward to seeing you again next year. We love repeat customers, and we love making those staying with us to feel like family. We will continue to provide the same level of service to all in the future.

Pura Vida,

Monika and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a great time in Monika & Rob's lovely B&B. Flowers, birds, trees: a marvellous and peaceful nature. Breakfasts are delicious. A bottle of wine was offered at our arrival. And we were invited by Monika & Rob to join them to watch the superball with their friends. Very well located in the middle of the lake. Definitely a fine place to stay in this area!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We remember you from Super Bowl sunday. We are glad you had a good time, even though it was probably not that interesting for you. We hope that next time you stay longer and can really enjoy the area.

Pura Vida,

Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent our first night in Costa Rica here. We arrived late but the property was illuminated with these cute giant mushrooms along the driveway. The young lady greeted us with big smiles and a lot of welcome. Since it was our honeymoon she gave us a bottle of wine on the house! We arrived late in the evening so we were blown away at the view of the property the next morning! I can't explain how beautiful it is there. The rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast tasted great and had a cute presentation on the plate! Awesome little gift shop and amazing coffee! I was sad we only made plans for one night. We're already planning our next vacation there for a longer stay. A must visit!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for the nice review. Our daughter is very good at what she does and she will appreciate the nice review as well. We always tell people if asked that they should always stay at least two nights wherever you go in CR. There is always one day of travel, then if you travel to the next spot the next day, you only have one night and really cannot enjoy all that the area has to offer. Please come see us again and stay longer.

Pura Vida,

Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

With each trip to Costa Rica we always plan to spend a couple of nights at the Lucky Bug. Monika, Rob and the family are always very hospitable fun and full of local information. Their setting on the lake with surrounding rainforest is sublime and a great way to slow down before enjoying the country. The rooms are very nice and always very clean. The location is good for exploring the countryside and seeing both Arenal volcano and its attractions in La Fortuna and also close to Monteverde Cloudforest.
Thanks Monika, We will see you soon,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thanks so much for your nice review. We are also looking forward to having you here again. It is guests like you that helped us get the 2014 TripAdvisorTraveler's Choice award. We love our area and our property, and we treat every room like it is our own. We liove meeting everyone, and by the time people leave, we want them to feel part of our family. Hurry back soon.

Monika and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Lucky Bug was a delightful place to stay. The decor was very unique and interesting. It was clean and Monika & Rob were super friendly. Not only was the food good, it was a very lovely walk we got to take between our room and the restaurant for breakfast, as the grounds are lovely. The restaurant is attached to their gallery, which carried very unique items, many, if not all, made in Costa Rica … bring money :-) We highly recommend the Lucky Bug Bed & Breakfast!

Room Tip: We stayed there in the off season, so were the only guests at that time, and Monika let us see all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyBugCostaRica, Owner at Lucky Bug B & B, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We appreciate it. And yes, the gallery has nothing but items made in Costa Rica. Nothing from other countries. In fact, some are made right here in Nuevo Arenal. We take pride in our B&B and the grounds because we love living here and it is our home and like making it your home while your are here also. And we are know in the area for our great breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
6.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
257 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,491 reviews
11.9 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,855 reviews
1.0 mi away
Agua Inn
Agua Inn
#4 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
82 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ceiba Tree Lodge
Ceiba Tree Lodge
#1 of 8 in Nuevo Arenal
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Bug B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Bug B & B

Property: Lucky Bug B & B
Address: W of Rio dos Bocas 2 km, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lucky Bug B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucky Bug B&B, art gallery and restaurant Caballo Negro is located 2 km from the town of Nuevo Arenal. The b&b has 5 great rooms with decorations with art from Costa Rica.The area around the B&B is all rain forest with a private lake, excellent for fishing. The restaurant, owned by a German chef, has an international menu. The art gallery is well known for fine Costa Rican art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lucky Bug B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky Bug B & B Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing