We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well organised; Party Vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coffee Shack Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

This was the one hostel where the party was on. Really cool vibe. Free drinks on a arrival. You don't need to worry about food as they make breakfast, lunch and supper everyday. And you decide what u want and it goes on ur tab. They also organised a tour everyday but if you only staying a short time and want to do specific tour they can organise that specially. Really well run. Thanks guys:) for the unique backpacking experience

Stayed: January 2014
Thank MattAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Hello
Thank you, for the great review! It is actually surprisingly complex and hard work making the Coffee Shack, run smoothly, due to the remote location and logistics associated with this. So your compliments are much appreciated by everyone working at Coffee Shack.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Could only stay one night but wished it could have been for more! We booked a hut which was clean, secure and spacious. The bathrooms were clean with good facilities. Great place to socialise - the bar was full all night & there was a great atmosphere. Excellent location right on a beautiful huge beach, friendly and efficient staff, and good vibe - we loved it. Recommended :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Hello
Thank you very much for the fantastic review, we really appreciate it and the fact that you had a very enjoyable stay, even though you only managed to stay one night. Hopefully next time you can plan for 3 or more nights. Remember that every 5th night is free.

We generally find that if guests stay 3 nights or more, they really settle in and appreciate what makes Coffee Shack and Coffee Bay a special place.

Safe travels and hope to see you again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was our fifth day of our hike down the Wild coast. It is a popular backpackers and a busy one. We stayed in a rondaval across the Bomvu River which had just been refurbished - lovely and quiet (only one or two mosquitos). We got a free drink on arrival (after our day's hike this was nectar!). NIce sandwiches for lunch and roast chicken for dinner. Nothing special but tasty. Pudding too. The self-catering kitchen was much cleaner than any other back packer as was the ablution block. We stayed for one night to carry on our hike to Lubanzi.

Room Tip: The rondavals across the river are very comfy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0kk1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Hello
Thank you very much for the review and glad to hear that you felt very comfortable and enjoyed the welcome drink. We do usually have mosquito pads in all the rooms which do a pretty good job of keeping the mozzies at bay. Guests are usually made aware of them on check in, and the device then has to be switched on.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Best place to stay in coffee bay. Lots of activities to join in on. Friendly staff and great food. Very good atmosphere and close to beach. We stayed in a rondavel on the other side of the river to the main reception and dorms. Perfect if you want a bit of piece and quiet.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter stay opt for the other side of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Howzit Lucy
Thank you for the great review, and more importantly that you had a great stay at Coffee Shack.
Thank you for mentioning the dorms across the stream for those who need a little more space, most people don't realise that there are also dorms as well as private rooms on the beach side, across the stream.

Safe travels and we hope to see you back again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Undoubtably the best back packers I've ever stayed in. Right on the beach - pretty much in the middle of paradise - with the most awesome staff. I didn't need to worry about anything, with awesome food served everyday, a bar open from 9am - 2am, great activities arranged every day and night and just such a cool vibe. I surfed (board rental and lessons are super cheap), I hiked. I swam and swam and swam. And I met the most awesome people. I will recommend this place to everybody.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Howzit Neil
Thanks you very much for the fantastic review, although more importantly that you and your crew had memorable stay at Coffee Shack.

It sounds like you guys had a fantastic time, I am jealous, I probably need a holiday myself now!
Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew
PS. May is the perfect time to visit, when the weather starts getting a little miserable down South, it is our best time of the year here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed in Coffee Shack for 3 nights over x-mas, and it was the best x-mas of my life. The staff is incredible. The food, the hospitality, the smiles. For X-mas eve, Dave took us out for an incredible hike on the most beautiful day, followed by sundowners over a hill with free gin tonics, mussels and oysters. Then came the huge x-mas dinner and a crazy party. Suffice it to say, I have never seen this amount of people that happy in my life before. Happiness was contagious in the place.
They also contribute a lot to the kids in the community which really need a lot of help.
Never miss Coffee Shack when you're in South Africa, the most beautiful place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soor88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Hello
Thank you for the very kind review, but more importantly to us, is that you had the “best X-mas possible” at Coffee Shack and enjoyed it as much as we did. It certainly was a very memorable Christmas, with lots of fun had by everyone there, including us the staff.

Thank you also for noting that we do run a lot of education based community projects in the area. Many of our guests do not even realize that Coffee Shack is actually accredited by Fair Trade Tourism.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again next Christmas eve for even more fun.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I spent four night at Coffee Shack over New Years with 7 friends. We stayed in the Big Dorm which was perfect- four comfy bunk beds and enough space for all of our belongings to be strewn around the room within minutes of our arrival as we made ourselves at home! The communal bathrooms are beautiful and clean (well I speak for the ladies one). The staff are super helpful and friendly and make sure you are well looked after at all times! There is a daily activity organised that you can sign up for (for a nominal price with lunch included!) which is a great way to get involved and meet the other people staying at Coffee Shack. We were lucky and had an awesome group of people around while we were there. The New Years Eve party was the most fun I've had on a New Years Eve in a long time! The drinks are pretty cheap and the dinner on offer every night is delicious and great value for money. Everything is run on a tab system as well which is super convenient as you just settle your whole bill when you check out! All in all, our whole group had the best holiday in Coffee Bay thanks to the Coffee Shack and will be back as soon as we all can!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Howzit
Thanks very much for the great review, and it is great to hear that you settled in, felt at home and had a great New Years.

Thanks for highlighting the in-expensive daytrips and meals, which we encourage our guests to take advantage of, because as you mentioned it is a great way to meet other people, which we believe is the essence of traveling. Having said all that, many of our guests who need time out and their own space, go on walks by themselves, make their own space, chill out in the hammocks. The choice is yours.

Safe travels and hope to see you again soon.
Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coffee Bay
0.1 mi away
Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coffee Bay
185 reviews
6.1 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Wild Lubanzi Backpackers Lodge
Wild Lubanzi Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lubanzi Village
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
63 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffee Shack Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Shack Backpackers

Address: On the Beach | Bomvu River Mouth, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Coffee Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Coffee Bay
Price Range: £17 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore, discover and enjoy a unique taste of rural Africa! Coffee Shack is a backpackers' tropical paradise, located on the beach at the Bomvu River mouth on the Wild Coast of South Africa, where you will experience a way of life far removed from Western culture. We have a reputation of being a fun, good-value hostel with excellent facilities and the most amazing, friendly staff. We offer accommodation in traditional, thatched-roof huts, ranging from private rooms to dorms, as well as camping facilities in the garden next to the beach. Choose between self-catering options or try our delicious meals with a free 'potjie' meal every Sunday night. Weather and ocean permitting, join us for daily sundowners with magnificent views or taste freshly caught oysters and mussels at the bar before dinner. Stay for five nights and get your 5th night free! Our 'Babalaza Bar' is fully licensed and rocks in the evenings with its free pool table and range of drinks and cocktails. Join in the Killer Pool game or enjoy the chilled-out atmosphere around the firepit. Our variety of day trips include cultural walks exploring the local Xhosa culture, a traditional evening of dance and song at the home of a local family where you can try traditional Xhosa food and beers, beach days on the beautiful Coffee Bay, surf lessons, exploring Mapuzi cliffs and caves, hiking to the legendary "Hole in the Wall" or just walking in the local countryside with one of the local guides. We are accredited by Fair Trade Tourism South Africa and are committed to the improvement and upliftment of the greater community through various education and support projects. We are dedicated to making a difference to the local community and are thus 30% owned by the local Tshezi Community, who receive direct financial benefits from being involved in the business. We aim to encourage growth and empowerment opportunities for the local community through the development of meaningful partnerships. Coffee Shack runs a daily shuttle to Mthatha to meet the Baz Bus and other mainline buses at the Shell Ultra City in Mthatha (Umtata). We have free WIFI, safe parking and a laundry service. For self-drive, we are located in the Eastern Cape of South Africa, in the former Transkei area. Turn onto the Coffee Bay road approximately 20km south of Mthatha, continue 80km down to the coast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing