We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of heaven for both adults and...”
other traveller has booked this property
Exclusively for families with young children
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exclusively for families with young children
six cottages sleeping from 4 to 8 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Exclusively for families with young children
six cottages sleeping from 4 to 8 people
The pool area is enclosed. The pools are heated
New for 2016 - Hot Tub
Pottery painting activities each week
Teddy bear picnics each week
scuba diving for kids and adults
Balloons at the teddy bear picnic
Star watch from the hot tub
pirate ship
enclosed play garden
comfortable rooms
Peche gite sleeps 8 and Fleurie cottage sleeps 4
Play garden is enclosed and filled with toys
Heated, enclosed and alarmed swimming pool
Spacious grounds
Ruche gite and Horloge gite both sleep 6
play garden in front of the cottages
Big pool for jumping, toddler pool for the little ones
Papillon cottage sleeps 6
Relax whilst your children make new friends
Fleurie cottage
Fleurie cottage
View to the rear of the cottages
The cottages overlook the garden area
Herb garden
Fleurie cottage
Peche cottage
Grenier cottage
Fun for all the family at childfriendlygites
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Saint-Jean-d'Angely, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
93Janew
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven for both adults and children”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have had 4 amazing holidays here (from when our child was 3 through to 6) and we are only not returning as we left it too late to rebook! Thank you Chris, Wendy, Benjamin and Thomas for giving us such wonderful holiday memories. Grange Moulin just ticks all the boxes. Beautiful scenery, lots of friends for our daughter to make, a safe environment for them to have a real sense of freedom and exploration, exciting activities for them to do and a wonderful slow pace of life for us to enjoy. With the option of course of some great day trips to roman ruins, the beach, zoos, boat trips and more. Our daughter has had the most amazing 4 summers here as have we. It is just the perfect place for children to really be children and make amazing memories for a lifetime - just one of them being a torch-lit mini-beast hunt around the garden. One of our favourite things is sitting out in the evening relaxing with a glass of wine chatting to other parents and we have been lucky enough to make some wonderful friends for life. An added bonus is that there is so little light pollution it is like a planetarium on your door step in the evenings. Simply wonderful thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family Holiday Perfection!”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have been here for 6 consecutive years and always had an exceptional holiday. We first came when our daughter was 2 and have returned every year since due to the ease of this holiday with young children and it does what very few "family friendly" places succeed in doing...being great for both children and adults alike! Chris and Wendy are vibrant, generous, interesting and charming hosts and their children are also lovely. They go the extra mile with activities and socialising to make sure everyone feels welcome and included. The tips on places to go and things to do are invaluable and mean you're never bored, even after 6 years we were still discovering new and interesting attractions in the region.

It's a bit of a trek to the beach if you want to go every day but that's not really for us anyway, there's enough in land to keep everyone entertained. It's a very special and unique spot and we will always hold very fond memories of grange du moulin Chris, Wendy, Benjamin and Thomas in our hearts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambiance
Liked least: Bedding
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicky s
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Your kids can make friends and play, then you can relax ”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from our 6th stay at the gites. Wendy & Chris are amazing hosts and ensure you have a wonderful stay. You and your kids will make friends. The activities for kids laid on are great, such as T'shirt painting, pottery painting, teddy bears picnic and scuba diving. For the grown ups the BBQ nights are legendary as social and fun evenings. Definitely recommend for families with young kids, ours have loved it since they were babies! We are going back again next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camfam21
West Bridgford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat for parents and kids alike!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have spent the past 5 years summer's holidays at La Grange du Moulin with our 2 children and it is just brilliant! Chris and Wendy are the perfect hosts, they help make your holiday so relaxing. They are on hand to help/advise if you need them, but never that you feel they are intruding on your holiday. Their barbeque evenings are legendary! :) Chris' knowledge of wine is amazing, so much so, that after flying to France for the first year, we have driven each subsequent year, so as to bring home lots of wine!!!
Their property contains everything you need for young children, the set up is fantastic as the grounds are so safe, with tonnes of play equipment (not to mention 2 heated pools, one specifically for toddlers!). Furthermore, as the children play as one big happy family, the adults are also then able to relax and truly enjoy their holiday. We are so happy that our children's holidays during their formative years have been spent here, it is somewhere we will never forget!! We would whole-heartedly recommend La Grange du Moulin to families looking for a relaxing holiday. They also have other properties more geared towards older children e.g. 10+.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Safe place for kids to play so we could all relax
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
covjt
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Holy Grail for Family Holidays!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We loved it ! The holiday lived up to every expectation we had - fantastic pools for our daughter to gain confidence in, lovely play area to explore, A truly lovely family holiday we never thought possible with a 3 year old ! Great for socialising but also having your own personal space, every thing you could think of has been catered for, great entertainment for kids and adults, if you wish to join in, without any pressure or great cost.
Worth noting that they are in a rural location, so a bit rugged and come with expected countryside guests - ants, bugs spiders etc. didn't bother us though and didn't seem to faze anyone else there!
The gites are perfect, the views astounding and Chris and Wendy truly make the holiday. We're signed up for next year ....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: family friendly experience/outstanding customer service
Liked least: mattress in our bedroom!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caoimhin...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing place for both kids and adults”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We just spent another lovely week at La grange du Moulin . We have three boys aged 5 , 3 and 15 months and they all absolutely love this place! The garden is so safe that they can be given the freedom to run, play and explore with the other kids without us having to follow them around. From the seats outside our gite they were rarely out of sight and never out of earshot. The pool is gated and alarmed so we didn't have to worry about them wandering too close to it . As far as I'm concerned,happy kids equates to happy and relaxed parents!

The gites are well equipped with everything you need with small kids. Wendy will gladly provide anything extra you might need. There are shutters on the windows and as a result the kids always sleep in a bit later in the morning here. Probably also due to exhaustion from all the running and playing outside all day long!

There's lots to see and do in the area and there are fun activities for adults and children alike onsite during the week put on by the lovely hosts Wendy and Chris. The local food , wine and Pineau must be sampled while here. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend La Grange to anyone with small kids. I'm just sorry we didn't discover this little gem sooner!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GronzV
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Think your kids are too young for a family holiday? Think again!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

If you have young children and you're anything like my family, you'll know that from cock-crow to sun down it can be relentless. A family holiday in the sun is years away in the distance and moving away from your well established routine at home seems like sheer fantasy, yes? Well no, it seems not! For a toddler friendly family holiday, look no further than La Grange du Moulin.

We are a family of four with two young children aged 25 months and 9 months. La Grange du Moulin was recommended to us by family who returned with us this year and we all shared the 4 bedroomed gite "Peche"

The gite was well appointed with stair gates, cots, guards for the bed, and there are buggies, baby baths, potties etc. and plenty of toys to borrow - all the stuff that you don't want to waste valuable boot space on. Added bonus: more space for wine :)

Outside the gite is a fabulous garden with grass lawn, swings, slides, trampoline, sandpit, plenty of garden toys and a wooden pirate ship. The perimeter of the property is toddler proof, so we could let our daughter out to play all day and watch over her from the comfort of the terrace, without the usual fear that she'll somehow escape onto a road.

Our children had never been swimming before so the heated baby pool was perfect for the first outing, and we ended up in there for hours every day. There's also a big pool and loungers for the adults, and, to enable you to unwind fully, there's an alarm in the pool should any child wander off or be able to scale the 6 foot perimeter wall & fence.

We had lovely weather and the kids enjoyed it with plenty of sun cream, hats etc and there were plenty of shaded areas around the garden where you could sit on a bench and put the baby on a blanket to play. We had no heat / sun related problems for nap time as the rooms had fans and shutters to keep out the light.

We didn't go on many excursions as the weather was great and the kids' nap time would have made it tricky, but we were happy to hang around the garden and pool most days. Very relaxing.

As wine lovers, we really appreciated the chilled bottle of local wine in the fridge to welcome us on arrival. Chris, our host, was a fountain of knowledge on the locality and on wine in general and shared his knowledge and contents of his wine cellar freely.

We'd definitely come back again, and I'd recommend anyone with kids under 10 to check the place out.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing