We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Back for a third time - a friendly, relaxing, fun...”
other traveller has booked this property
Exclusively for families with young children
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exclusively for families with young children
six cottages sleeping from 4 to 8 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Exclusively for families with young children
six cottages sleeping from 4 to 8 people
The pool area is enclosed. The pools are heated
New for 2016 - Hot Tub
Pottery painting activities each week
Teddy bear picnics each week
scuba diving for kids and adults
Balloons at the teddy bear picnic
Star watch from the hot tub
pirate ship
enclosed play garden
comfortable rooms
Peche gite sleeps 8 and Fleurie cottage sleeps 4
Play garden is enclosed and filled with toys
Heated, enclosed and alarmed swimming pool
Spacious grounds
Ruche gite and Horloge gite both sleep 6
play garden in front of the cottages
Big pool for jumping, toddler pool for the little ones
Papillon cottage sleeps 6
Relax whilst your children make new friends
Fleurie cottage
Fleurie cottage
View to the rear of the cottages
The cottages overlook the garden area
Herb garden
Fleurie cottage
Peche cottage
Grenier cottage
Fun for all the family at childfriendlygites
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Saint-Jean-d'Angely, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nick D
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back for a third time - a friendly, relaxing, fun environment for families”
Reviewed 22 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

''Home is so ordinary. La Grange is different !''
2018 saw our third visit to La Grange du Moulin and we've enjoyed it every bit as much as our previous stays. Wendy and Chris' thoughtfulness is at the heart of everything they do and makes La Grange a uniquely relaxing place for families with young children. We've already recommended it to many friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It was a pleasure to welcome you back this spring and hope that we shall see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
a1b2c3262...
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 20 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We were unsure whether to go on holiday this year as we have a 3 and a 1 year old. We were warned that holidaying with them at this age would be too stressful. I had researched Eurocamp and holiday villages and decided not to bother and then I saw a link for here. The fact that the gites are not just kid friendly but designed for children was very appealing. There are 6 gites (cottages) facing a safe and secure play area. You can sit in your private terrace area and see the children playing. There is also a good sized pool, kids pool and hot tub - all are secure and alarmed so you have peace of mind that the children cannot get in unsupervised. The whole layout allows you to have a relaxing holiday knowing the children are safe and having fun. The owners are so helpful and friendly and put on activities to keep the children entertained - teddy bear picnic, pottery painting etc. They also put on events for the adults- bbq, wine tasting etc. The unique selling point for this holiday is that the children have other kids their age to play with. It is small enough that you get to know the other families staying and once the kids are asleep, you can sit out with them and share a bottle of wine.
The gites themselves are very comfy and have everything you need for children - books, dvds, toys, stair gates, potties etc. They are very clean and despite being in a rural setting, very few insects. I cannot recommend here highly enough. We had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing holiday and the children had a great time.
Locally there is enough to do ( nearest town is 20 mins drive where there is a park, restaurants shops etc) and more to do further afield. Despite going to the zoo, aquarium, mini boats, the children were happiest playing at the gites, making new friends and lovely memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate the detail you have gone into which will help other families to make an informed decision. We are so pleased you had such a relaxing time and hope to see you all again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick A
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3rd time here coming up - it's”
Reviewed 7 May 2018 for a stay in July 2017

Fantastic place…it must be.. we’ve been twice before (with our daughter when she was 2 and 4), and have just booked our third visit now she is 7 (and we have never been to any other holiday location more than once).
There are 6 cottages in a row, looking out onto a communal area which is gated and safe. The kids easily acquire new friends (as do the adults!). What makes Grange du Moulin stand out is the effort Wendy and Chris go to, in helping everyone interact, and have a great time. Most similar accommodation has everyone sitting in splendid isolation in the confines of their own gite, here great effort is put into the social events each week (Taste du Terroir evening, weekly BBQ/Seafood evening, Vine walk, plus a wine tasting session) which really pays off. There’s every opportunity to be on your own if you want (there are private areas for all gites), but for us, one of the highlights is meeting and socialising with lots of different people.
If you do want a kid-free night out, then Wendy offers babysitting (there’s a couple of great local restaurants, so get the request in early)
It’s a beautiful region of France, with some great days out (don’t miss the lovingly-crafted miniature boats at St Sebastian, or loads to do in Cognac and, further afield, La Rochelle). Alternatively you may just want to chill out on-site with the pools, sandpit, pirate ship, trampoline, ride-ons etc. If that wasn’t enough, then there are extra activities put on for the younger guests – T-shirt and pottery painting, teddy bears’ picnic, or even a scuba-diving taster in the pool.
It is possible to get the ferry, and drive South, or there are lots of budget flights to La Rochelle and Bordeaux (a fabulous city if you want to extend your stay). In the gites, everywhere is clean, and well maintained. You wont find TVs the size of a snooker table, a spa and sauna, Sky Sports, or wall-to-wall high-speed broadband (although there is limited wi-fi coverage, it is more for occasional use), but remember, this is rural France, and you’re most definitely not paying eleventy billion euros a week, so don’t go expecting standards higher than the Ritz, and you’ll have a fantastic time – the number of repeat visitors is testament to that. Basically, I can’t recommend this location highly enough
One last thing…ask about the sparkling cognac…not a typo!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review. We shall be off to Jean Balluets to stock up on the sparkling Cognac this week ! Plus you'll be pleased to know that we do now have a hot tub - installed since your last stay with us and we even supply champagne flutes (unbreakable) so that you can enjoy some Champagne bubbles as well as the hot tub bubbles and watch the night sky once the children are tucked up in bed. Look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie A
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love, love, love this place – great for kids and adults alike!”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in June 2016

Love, love, love this place – great for kids and adults alike!
We rarely go anywhere twice, and we’ve just booked our third trip to La Grange du Moulin, which says a lot!
Our daughter had a great time when we’ve been previously, as she’s always got plenty of playmates (we have only one child, so it’s perfect) plus there’s T-shirt painting, teddy bears picnic, scuba diving and a great safe outdoor play area. Both previous times we could leave her to play safely outdoors which gave us a lovely break, as you can easily keep an eye on kids from your front window/garden.
We also loved the adult socialising side of it – wine tasting, BBQs, taste du terroir, vineyard walks. It’s nice to mix with families in the other 5 gites, as they’re all in a row facing the play area/garden.
Another fantastic facility is that Wendy can babysit for you if you’d like to go out – there are 2 great restaurants nearby in St Jean D’Angely, which is a lovely treat if you have young kids and are used to staying in every evening!
The gites are in a lovely rural area, with the back gardens looking out onto sunflower/wheat/barley fields. There is plenty to do nearby – zoo, electric boats, amphitheatre, park at Cognac and a local park which also has a restaurant overlooking the lake, there are also some nice towns nearby, e.g. Saintes, Cognac.
Chris & Wendy are readily available and very helpful in all matters, but are not intrusive. On the BBQ nights they light the fire and everyone takes along whatever they’d like to cook. If you take an empty glass along they’ll fill it with a Kir Royale! They set trestle tables out in a long row in front of the gites and everyone joins in the party. “Taste du Terroir” evenings are a great way to break the ice with your neighbours – sampling several local wines and savouries.
The pools are great, warm and securely fenced off.
I recommend this place to all our friends and we’re going back this year for our third visit – can’t wait!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our property. It's really lovely when families come back to us each year, we look forward to seeing you again - it's families like yourselves that make for such a lovely atmosphere - thank you for taking the time to review us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ETM1
2 reviews
“Best first holiday for new parents”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was our first holiday with our 6mth old and I'm so glad we chose La Grange du Moulin. Wendy and Chris are amazing hosts and have thought of
everything. From the time we arrived we felt welcome and knew we'd made the right choice. The cottages are fully equipped with everything you need for
children of all ages plus more for us adults ! Lots to do around the area and we look forward to coming back. Would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are so pleased we were able to make your first holiday as a family special and as easy as possible with a 6mth old ! We look forward to seeing you all again.
Thank you from Wendy, Chris, Benjamin and Thomas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_The...
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Can't recommend this wonderful place enough!”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We visited Grange Du Moulin with our 3-yr-old son, following the recommendation of friends that have been multiple times. They were spot on - Grange Du Moulin is perfect! Chris and Wendy are so welcoming that they felt like old friends from the outset. Our gite was delightful, and contained toys and books for our toddler, a lovely touch. There is a great play area for the kids immediately in front of the accommodations, and pools with multiple layers of security to keep the children safe. Wendy and Chris put on a number of "events" for both adults and kids - communal BBQ, t-shirt painting, even a teddy bears picnic! Their knowledge of the area is enormous (as you'd expect from a family who have lived in the area for many years with such enthusiasm) and Chris's previous incarnation as a wine guru is also very useful! :-) A special mention for their two boys - who were both friendly, welcoming and helpful beyond their years.
With a car (a requirement) there is much to do in the area - a fantastic zoo, aquarium, local markets, the lovely La Rochelle, and a nearby time with a huge park.
We had a superb holiday, it couldn't be faulted in any way. The three of us were all gutted to be leaving at the end of our week and I wish we'd booked for longer.
Wendy and Chris - thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a good time, it really does mean such a lot to us that families enjoy their time with us. There really is so much to do in the area and one of the reasons your friends who recommended us returned year after year, as many families do - it would be a pleasure to welcome you back as well, we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPtravell...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our 7th year in a row - what more do we need to say!”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our 7th year in a row - what more do we need to say ! Beautiful location, lots to do both on and off site. Chris and Wendy really do go the 'extra mile' to make it a holiday for the whole family - adults included ! Thank you for your wonderful, warm hospitality and see you again next year...

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It has been a pleasure welcoming your family and watching the children grow over the years. I have also really enjoyed childminding them each year, they are both a credit to you. We look forward to seeing you all again next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing