We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare find”
Review of Landarte

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Landarte
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Zumaia
Certificate of Excellence
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
825 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“A rare find”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A rare find. Perfect combination of place people and property. Mark is a wonderful host, calm, relaxed and ever helpful. The house is a riot of vibrant colour artfully designed and arranged. It is impossible not to feel uplifted here. The setting of beautiful gardens and magnificent view across the valley and over to the harbour is superb. We stayed four nights which gave us time to explore the world famous Flysch, walk over to the pretty fishing village of Getaria and have a day in Bilbao and one in San Sebastian. It worked very well as a base to explore this area. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
61
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Landarte for a couple of nights in our honeymoon through Spain and France. We enjoyed the great hospitality of our host, the absolutely wonderful house filled with art and history books that showed that no detail was randomly placed. The view of ocean from the place were we would take our breakfast was great ! The breakfast itself is a wonderful story, with antique china and table decoration. Would absolutely love to return !

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Eric is splendid host. Quirky but large rooms. Whole place is full of modern art paintings - not particularly to my taste but very striking. Excellent breakfast. Slightly off the beaten path but better for that.

Room Tip: Check out in advance when the Zumaia festival is on - during my stay the music was going strong unti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Landarte B & B is a unique and rather special house. It's location, just a little way up the hill, means there are stunning views of the green hills around, and also to one of the 2 beaches in Zumaia. The rooms are individually styled to a high standard and there are beautiful lounge areas to relax in. There are many walking paths with spectacular views and both beaches have golden sands and are suitable for swimming. Restaurants and bars are within 5-10 minutes walk. I would thoroughly recommend this wonderful house for a holiday stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The Landarte has a personality all of its own, the decor is bright and very original. Our room was beautifully furnished with unusual items, was clean and peaceful. We were able to have breakfast outside on the terrace, which has views of one of the bays in Zumaia.The breakfast itself was delicious, well presented (like everything here!) and plentiful. Mark was extremely helpful providing guide books etc and checked out train times without us asking after we had mentioned this at breakfast. We were not overly impressed with Zumaia itself when we arrived, it was more of an industrial fishing port than we had expected, however it did grow on us slightly during our stay. Although we would not want to spend a lot of time in the town it was very handily placed for the beautiful coastline with it's fascinating geology and also an easy journey by train to San Sebastian and other towns. The Landarte is in a lovely position on the hillside just outside the town with lovely gardens, and a small balcony for the guests to use. Overall a great visit to this area, with friendly helpful hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed for 2 days at Landarte, and we just loved it! The view over the ocean, the quietness of the place, the personality of the house and the colourful originality of the rooms, and, last but not least, the lovely host, Isabelle, who welcomed us in a cheerful and most friendly fashion, all these points contributed to make us think we should go more often to the Basque country. We'll be back, no doubt!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My family and I have just returned from our fourth stay at this delightful hotel. The treatment is helpful and friendly; the house itself is a treasure; and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay, as always, and we will certainly return.
Norman Coe

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zumaia
1.4 mi away
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
#1 of 4 in Zumaia
401 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
195 reviews
2.2 mi away
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
#3 of 5 in Getaria
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Txanka Erreka
1.1 mi away
Hotel Iturregi
Hotel Iturregi
#5 of 5 in Getaria
179 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Rural Gaintza
Hotel Rural Gaintza
#4 of 5 in Getaria
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Landarte

Property: Landarte
Address: Calle Artadi Auzoa 1, 20750 Zumaia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Zumaia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Zumaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A reformed country house of the 15th century with a superb view over Santiago beach and surrounded by a evergreen oak forest Landarte offers you the garantee of a privileged and quiet environment, without losing the closeness to the urban centre of Zumaia and its recreative centers. It has 6 double rooms with a bathroom each, central heating, a living room with a library of art and history books, information on the Basque culture, plus a permanent exposition of paintings. With its exquisite decoration, you are offered all the conditions to have a quiet and relaxing stay. Its location allows one to get to the beach by foot in 5 minutes or have walks by the coast with extraordinary views over the sea. The rates of Landarte includes lodgement and VAT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Landarte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing