We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular venue...”
Review of Dalhalla

Dalhalla
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Rattvik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow! This is a once in a lifetime venue visit. The moment you turn the corner after security and turn down the hill it hits you! This place is huge, and if you're lucky enough to visit during summer when gigs don't start until late evening it's something special to be watching your favourite artistes as the sunsets, well as much as it does in Scandinavia!

Concert buses run regularly and are good value, be sure to book in advance though. I do advise you make your way back up as soon as the event has finished, as I have heard stories of people being left, that said as long as you're there waiting, they just keep coming back until they've ferried all back to Rattvik.

One other thing I would caution, depending on the event you're attending, if it's a rock gig maybe don't go right to the front of the standing area, likewise avoid the corners of the stage as you really don't get the full affect of the acoustics, mostly all I had was bass. A friend I was with went to the toilet half way through and didn't come back down. She said it was a completely different experience & sound when you're a little further back and watched the remainder of the gig from there.

Thank Bluebirdjulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"stunning place"
in 2 reviews
"limestone quarry"
in 2 reviews
"concert"
in 15 reviews
"opera"
in 3 reviews
"venue"
in 11 reviews
"acoustics"
in 7 reviews
"music"
in 4 reviews
"arena"
in 4 reviews
"rock"
in 5 reviews
"stage"
in 3 reviews
"sound"
in 8 reviews
"evening"
in 4 reviews
"security"
in 2 reviews
"jill"
in 2 reviews
"rain"
in 2 reviews
"restaurant"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went to dalhalla a week ago
Such a stunning place
Very well organised
Amazing sound, from being in a disused quarry
Take something warm to put on later in evening, as gets quite cold

Thank Shandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

This is an amazing experience IT is made à amphiteater in à Old mine where they now have concerts and operas with à LOT of famous actors and groups IF you visit Dalarna in sweden this is à must to see and experince.

Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We saw two concerts early August 2017 - Emmylou Harris and Jill Johnson, and both were quite good.

Dalhalla is an experience in itself, as it is an old limestone quarry that were converted to an amazing concert venue some 20 years ago. It is formed like an amphi theater, and the acoustics are very good.

If you have the opportunity this is something worth visiting. I would recommend to arrange this via a hotel or other agent, as it is convenient to have transports included in the package.

A key tip is that as this is basically a big hole in the rock and it is therefore outdoor, so it will get a bit cold in the evening. Best to bring warm clothes, something warm to sit on and a rain poncho just in case. Armed with that, you should be fine!

1  Thank Swedish_Blacksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Would have had a five but they're very dis organised with the bus service they provide which is not cheap.We booked the restaurant bus and was informed it only went from Rättvik so we had to make our own way from Mora to Rättvik 40 kl although we could travel with a return bus to Mora, total cost around £50. We were assured that the bus would wait for everyone to come up from the concert before leaving, we were certainly not the last people up but the bus has already left without us. Nearly midnight in the middle of nowhere and pouring rain, extreemly angry and now seeeking some recompence from the company. On the other hand the venue is great for music.

Thank sturob47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dalhalla also viewed

Rattvik, Dalarna County
Rattvik, Dalarna County
 
Rattvik, Dalarna County
Mora, Dalarna County
 

Been to Dalhalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing